Malaysia vehicle sales data for Nov 2015 by brand

BMW X1 vs Mercedes GLA vs Audi Q3  003

After a month-on-month sales slump, the Malaysian car market has seen a slight resurgence, continuing on an upward trend according to data collected by the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA). November 2015 saw 56,092 vehicles ending up in owners’ hands, a minuscule 338-unit (or 0.6%) climb compared to the previous month – it pales in comparison to the impressive 9.1% jump from September to October.

Total sales last month were also up on November 2014, rising a scant 778 units or 1.4%. But despite a healthy showing in both October and November this year – attributed to the market’s anticipation of potential price hikes in 2016 – the year-to-date figure of 597,273 units still trails the 601,827 vehicles sold in the same period last year by some 4,554 units, or 0.76%.

As always, we’ve compiled MAA’s sales data in the table below, sorted by the top performing brands in November 2015. As expected with the upward trend, most brands registered an increase in sales, with a number of notable exceptions.

Most surprising of the latter are the national makes – market leader Perodua sold 16,931 vehicles last month, a decrease of 374 units compared to October this year. New fourth-placer Proton suffered a much bigger setback – it registered just 7,169 units in November, a whopping 10.7% drop or 857 less vehicles than the month before.

With their closest competitor dropping well behind, Toyota and Honda found themselves with more room to breathe in November – the former sold 533 more vehicles (up 5.9%), while the latter’s sales jumped 736 units (up 8.7%). It should be noted that while Toyota is ahead this month, Honda still has the lead in the year-to-date stakes. In fifth place, Nissan sold an incredible one extra vehicle compared to October, 0.02% up.

In other news, Kia (+65.2%), Hyundai (+59.1%), Subaru (+41.5%) and Isuzu (+30%) saw big gains in November, while Ford (-24.3%) and Volkswagen (-23.8%) didn’t fare quite so well.

Click on the table below to view an enlarged version.

November-2015-Sales-Data 02

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• BMW – up
    Lexus – up
    Audi – up
    Mercedes – DOWN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
    • Sammy Loo on Dec 28, 2015 at 6:58 pm

SsangYong has a 100% sales increase, what an achievement by the kimchi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • Same L0rrrr on Dec 28, 2015 at 8:32 pm

ppl buy Proton because it is cheap, not because it is good. Simple fact.

Want cheap and ok? Ppl choose Perodua. With extra money, ppl go for sushi car, especially Toyota.

Kimchis are simply a job. Hyundai + Kia annual sales not even more than 12k unit. First hand car already ppl not interested, why second hand got RV? Simple logic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 40
        • aries on Dec 28, 2015 at 9:30 pm

proton car are cheap and affordable, the new model are good car. its fact,

perodua are cheap but not good, in terms of safety they are out, many mati katak already lor

good job honda as city the best seller

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 11
          • Something Wrong on Dec 29, 2015 at 9:45 am

Mainly 2014 old stocks, but VW still sells more than kimchi? What the…

• Currently, most of the Perodua breakdown at side highway. Here cannot post pic, if can I’ll show u.

• steven see on Dec 28, 2015 at 11:03 pm

Explain Sam Loo why your 25 years old son is using Saga? Why not buy Myvi for him ? Cant afford more?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • karam singh on Dec 29, 2015 at 7:25 am

#Correction
          Wanna cheap & safe , Proton
          Medium budget & safe, Honda
          Luxury & safe , any conti is that good in safety.

wanna RV but gonna cost u some injury & lives – go for Perodua/Toyota
          **Hey greedy SamLoo, some Kimchi already started making their name in safety.
          6 airbags + stability control Kimchi vs 2 airbags Toyota, definitely go for Kimchi.
          cerato 1.6 +/-RM90k (-rebate) vs vios TRD RM94k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
          • Sammy Loo on Dec 29, 2015 at 11:01 am

kimchi can offer 10 airbags + whatever control they want, the sales is still bad, even Mercedes Benz as the luxury segment alone got more than both the H and K brands total sales.

• karam singh on Dec 29, 2015 at 2:35 pm

don’t mind the sales figures,
            most amount of bodybags award goes to P2 & Toyota.
            congratulations.

• Malam Jumaat on Dec 30, 2015 at 6:20 pm

This comment made me Sikh.

• makko on Dec 29, 2015 at 8:22 am

If people want cheaper, better go for p2, why they still buy p1?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Dec 28, 2015 at 10:18 pm

YTD sales of 109 vehicles for Ssangyong. A very impressive no. indeed

I strongly encourage all to buy Hyundai new instead. Need more sorhai tai lan ngongs to prime kimchis that can be traded in 12 months on

• Lexus 12 mths cannot get 2000 units, very shame. Only SA bought for syiok sendiri?
          Or luckily Malaysian not too many tai lan ngongs?

• Kenapa on Dec 29, 2015 at 11:29 am

Honda got no Hilux, Innova, Hiace & hybrids. But Honda sales still higher than Toyota! :D

• Honda outwins Toyota in passenger cars by 30K???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
      • Not surprising, given that the City is a much better package, and the CRV & Jazz have no rival from Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • alldisc on Dec 29, 2015 at 8:43 am

Its the final figure that counts. A total effort, not partially.

Year to date sold volume – Honda 84k, Toyota 80k.

• Everybody waits for new persona or saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
      • Not Perdana come 1st?

• Dont syok sendiri. No one is waiting anythhing from proton. Your current hatchback is not selling while p2 is selling even with older models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
      • Augusta on Dec 29, 2015 at 9:52 am

Another sales failure by Proton again this year.

Every year sales keep on decreasing steadily.

Better let China company buy it over for 1 Euro.

• OMG…Hi joker, if u aware, Merz overall sales = Audi+BMW+Lexus overall sales….haha…ur DOWN meant nothing…

• MERC BOSS on Dec 29, 2015 at 8:24 pm

Follow salesman….Down is Dowm is Down…don’t give excuses, go and work harder.

• old dog on Dec 29, 2015 at 11:31 am

YTD sale of Merz almost double of BMW dude..

• sad fact : 1,000 honda up, 1,000 proton down on Dec 29, 2015 at 12:45 pm

just a sad fact that honda sales almost gone up by 1,000 and proton sales down almost 1,000 ! i wish those who runs proton to relaize this sad fact and do some smart action, its just not so good for our national car maker

• Sammy Loo on Dec 28, 2015 at 6:53 pm

Sales figure speaks the best, it’s proven that the kimchi is having bad sales.

Both kimchi H and K brands total up is even less than Isuzu which focus on commercial vehicles. Even Mercedes Benz is having better sales than the sum of the kimchi H and K brands.

More kimchi owners regret on their choice and suffering bad RV when upgrading to a sushi car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
    • Is proven Lexus is lousy car, sale figure said so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
      • Audi, Porsche, Jaguar and LR had lower sales. Are they even more lousy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
        • Axxx was just commenting on the uber economics theory of Sam Loo aka George Albert, that says sales figures outweighs everthing, even to the extent to compare the sales figure of their b-segment cars to rival D-segment car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Dec 28, 2015 at 10:21 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • alldisc on Dec 28, 2015 at 7:22 pm

With a difference of 4 thousand units between Toyota and Honda, I am not surprised if Toyota comes out top by the year end.

Kudos to Honda Malaysia to achieve such a high sales figure. Maintaining it though will be a harder task.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • I highly doubt Toyota will be able to overtake Honda with just 1 month of sales. If you look at the statistic throughout the year the difference between both brands at the most is 1000 units a month so perhaps Toyota can close the gap to 3000 units but Honda will still take over the crown this year as the No.1 non-national segment.

• Observer on Dec 28, 2015 at 7:24 pm

Dear Proton.. That is what you get for selling us your low quality car that frequently brake down.. we cant help you anymore as you had never appreciate our hard earn cash..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
    • #JAGAMalam on Dec 28, 2015 at 9:52 pm

Well Obs.. wake up men.
      U are day dreaming again??.. Hayyaaa..
      Start working and earn money so u can buy Perdana..or Persona or Saga.. or..mayb i font have enough money..work #2job maa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • john is otak batu on Dec 29, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Puih… trash like u only think only money in your hands r good. BTW your dirty money not worth a single cent till u doing money laundering like ‘Najis’

• Just a few years back proton far ahead of honda and toyota.
    Now proton lost ground to Honda and toyota even at home despite much cheaper and improve in quality.
    People now are more concern on the reliability and the brand image.
    A proton always show you are from lower social economy class and from no-choice-force-to-buy-proton group.
    In few more year, expect kia and hyundai overtake proton too.
    But i think proton wont closed shop even with sale 100cars per month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
    • Sammy Loo on Dec 28, 2015 at 8:48 pm

Kia and Hyundai will never overtake Proton even in the next 10 years if Proton is still operating.

Next picking up brands are Mazda and Nissan, but Mazda still far away from it. Sushi cars have the potential of overtaking Proton but not kimchi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • Wat are you talking, sushi car already over took satay car.. Toyota n Honda combine adi tapao Proton

This yr, foreign cars is still leading the locals..

• Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Dec 29, 2015 at 10:57 am

But I would love to have Hyundais annually selling 20,000 units of Elantra, 10,000 units of Sonata and 6000 units of Tucson.

That way, within a year, I will have 10,000 units of Elantra, 5000 units of Sonata & 3000 units of Tucson owners coming to me only to be shown the Hilux

• paulnut on Dec 29, 2015 at 8:38 pm

Your son use proton saga anyway. Why are you so proud of compare to kimchi?

• Andrekua on Dec 28, 2015 at 9:47 pm

It won’t be easy to convince older generation to buy Koreans or Continental cars. Most are still bothered by the RV, rather than car itself. Even when I bought my Rio, my mom was like why a Kia? Having said that, it must be said that it sucks when the Koreans appoint those sub standard workshop as authorized sc. Yes, I’m pointing at Hyundai (using a company provided Sonata). After I bought my Kia, I realized that Kia is putting more effort to setup proper brand awareness even with authorized sc whereas Hyundai will use workshop related to other brand like Mazda reseller owned workshop as its authorized sc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Dec 29, 2015 at 12:08 am

I like people like you. Help me by convincing more to buy new Hyundais

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Lebeh lebeh on Dec 28, 2015 at 9:53 pm

Mercedes dropping again despite shedding the c class price. That says a lot. I guess they’re beginning to lose the appeal they gained with the youthful new A class back in 2013. Also the drop in c class’ price shook their customers’ confidence up – imagine if you waited for the ckd to come out, only to be surprised after taking possession of your new ckd car that they’ve further dropped the price.

• These are the sunset brands in Malaysia car industry: suzuki, peugeot, VW, Kia, Hyundai. What has killed them? Price! Except for VW which is due to bad perception.

• Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Dec 28, 2015 at 10:20 pm

5600 units of Hyundai sold to date. Rats, I will be very short of kimchis to trade this time next year when these sorhais come look for me

• Sam Pah on Dec 29, 2015 at 2:13 am

At least you still got 5600 units. I only got 1700 sorhai that bought lexus huhuhuh. Running low in supply to take those no RV lexus from tailanngongs next year.

• Aero (Member) on Dec 28, 2015 at 10:53 pm

Somehow, Proton MUST sell another 6,000 cars this December to reach the symbolic 100k sales mark. It would be catastrophic for employee morale if they fail to sell 100k units this year, it would be unjustified after all they’ve achieved. The last time Proton’s sales dropped below the 100k mark was 1998, during the Asian financial crisis. Their best year was 2002, with 214k units sold.

• fdfdfd on Dec 29, 2015 at 12:29 am

Dr M need to show his face again to achieve this…lol

• Easy la. Ask crony maintenance company to buy a few K units. Then force PDRM or other govt agency to RENT from that company.

Then overcharge maintenance for next few years like they did for the Perdana <— no one jailed for this. All under carpet already.

But they want to go after you for your RM50 unpaid parking ticket (because they planned the city badly, always not enough parking and bad public transport).

• Mercedes sucks Long live Audi VW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Dec 29, 2015 at 12:06 am

Mercs assembled in Malaysia sux.

Water leaks, a/c compressor premature failures, rattling dashboards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
      • I see….thanks for the information!

• karam singh on Dec 29, 2015 at 7:28 am

better than DSG/engine failure that gonna cost thousands~~~

• sheen on Dec 29, 2015 at 5:59 pm

Liar dsg even thou got problem…i still can use it right now

• nosushi on Dec 29, 2015 at 8:13 am

Toyota is worse with fire starter power window switch, problematic power window, zinc roof, kaput suspension etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • Fastwork on Dec 29, 2015 at 10:26 am

The problem with you is,you simply shoot off your mouth without any statistics to back up. I drive a 2012 CKD Mercedes C Class which is superb and the only fees paid, are for regular maintenance services and the fuel consumption is even better than my Honda Jazz which is also another excellent car to have.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • MAAsucks on Dec 29, 2015 at 12:22 am

Again, junk table…….pautan should ask MAA to revise the list. some brands not in it. This table represents nothing but only let us know proton is getting near to its doom day soon…

• Lanun on Dec 29, 2015 at 12:30 am

Why no data for Jeep?

• Gonggok on Dec 29, 2015 at 12:31 am

Wait for the new hilux revo launch…sure Toyota potong honda back.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 29, 2015 at 9:36 am

Naza,yutong,BAW, please work hard and hire more salesmen. u all in top three….count fr. last place.

• Why Infiniti and Great wall are missing in the list?

• With the new launching of Proton Perdana, i STRONGLY believe that P1 can sapu P2 sales easily, IF they sell it at 90k. LOL

• old dog on Dec 29, 2015 at 11:37 am

1) a big IF they sell at 90k. Protong probably sell at 130k stupidly and greedily.

2) more sedan buyers are moving to SUV now…this is a fact, and the launch of it regardless how cool it is was like 10 years too late. Camry, Accord all dropping but the SUV rise.

• Tayagha on Dec 29, 2015 at 10:31 am

Waiting for perdana R sagaR and Persona R. Or suzuki proton a segment

• brian on Dec 29, 2015 at 11:04 am

With this drop of sales, I wonder how proton can survive furthermore still want to launch three new models next year without retrenchment or restructuring.

• Buy Your Debt on Dec 29, 2015 at 11:19 am

Should call some China company to buy it.

BYD – Buy Your Debt.

• old dog on Dec 29, 2015 at 11:30 am

TOYOTA even with 24K commercial compare to Honda zero, TOYOTA is outsold by HONDA!!! What an achievement.

Bye bye UMW…hopefully there will be a Toyota Malaysia taking over soon..

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Dec 29, 2015 at 11:50 am

Kimchi cars are good but the after sales service is not up to expectations of buyers who are used to Honda, Toyota & Tan Chong standards. That’s why sales start to decline. If the kimchi manufacturers pay more attention to aftersales service & not rely too much on local dealerships, you will see better results.

• In Passenger Vehicle Categories, Honda beat Toyota sales more than 28000 units.

Well done Honda.