Low-income pregnant women to get free 24-hour taxi service to hospitals in Selangor and KL

free taxi maternity bernama

With the cost of many items and services rising, here’s some good news for low-income pregnant women in Selangor and KL, who can now enjoy free 24-hour taxi service. The gesture is by the Makkal Communications Taxi Drivers Association (MCTDA), with some 50 drivers pledging to ferry expectant mothers to government hospitals for observation and medical attention, The Star reports.

City Hall excise licensing board chairman Datuk P. Gunaseelan said the free service was dedicated to the lower income group, especially those staying in government PPR flats, long houses or rural areas. “But in emergency situations, we will not differentiate those from high- and low-income groups. And we request the cooperation of the citizens – only those who are truly poor should call in for this service,” he said.

He added that the initiative is a corporate social responsibility project by the cab drivers, but to help bear the long-term financial cost, he hopes to find support from the government and private sector. In December, when the free cab service was first reported, Gunaseelan said that each cabbie will allocate a minimum cost of at least RM70 per patient for one trip to a public hospital.

“The service is for all, irrespective of race and religion. This is also part of the cabbies effort to weed out bad perception from the public that taxi drivers in the city are bad people. There are many kind-hearted cabbies in Kuala Lumpur as you can see for yourself,” he said at the launch of the pilot project.

Yesterday, Shiek Daood and his pregnant wife Zulmizah Yahaya were the first users of the free service when they were sent to Kuala Lumpur Hospital from their home in Jinjang.

For more info, one can contact MCTDA chairman K. Muthu (012-6957864) or K. Suriyamurthy (016-3029297). Gunaseelan said banners with the telephone number of taxi drivers involved in the effort would be placed at PPR flats.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ok malaysia on Jan 05, 2016 at 2:00 pm

Pregnant women like smaller stomach(poor), bigger stomach(rich). Taxi to judge-be-like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • Instead of doing things like this before your absurd anti uber/grabcar protests, now you are doing it?
    Lol too little, too late, everyone still doesn’t like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • kzm (Member) on Jan 05, 2016 at 2:59 pm

U know that not every taxi driver or taxi association join those anti uber.

• ben yap on Jan 05, 2016 at 2:06 pm

give free ride to expectant poor mothers but later slaughter those rich passengers.

by the way, all these poor folks has no money and still wanna raise a child? there’s such thing as condom in the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 24
    • bodoh on Jan 05, 2016 at 2:34 pm

condom is not halal in Muslim teaching

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
    • Because We are Practicing the Communism (Komunis).

Rape the Rich, help the Poor.

• kaizendesa on Jan 05, 2016 at 4:03 pm

u think ur money can raise ur child!. what a pitty arrogant ben yap!. stop dreaming and think who raise ur mother, grand mother, grand-grand mother and grand-grand-grand…. otherwise u won’t b here.!

• Calvin on Jan 05, 2016 at 2:07 pm

how are they going to identify low or high income women

• machaa on Jan 05, 2016 at 2:13 pm

Hidup MIC!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • Now macam taxi industry dominated by Indian group ka?

• waters on Jan 05, 2016 at 2:22 pm

The guy in the scarf, 2nd from the left. Hahaha!

• Nasi padang on Jan 05, 2016 at 3:51 pm

I think the pregnant women also scare to take ur service . Look at their face !

• No need, Thanks.

• Doggy on Jan 05, 2016 at 5:35 pm

My pregnant dog would run to the pet shop rather than taking ur cab la…. Like sh|t ur service…..

• karipap 1malysia on Jan 05, 2016 at 6:43 pm

Noneed to wayang kulit la, taxi drivers…
    No need your charity show.

Just improve your taxi service, for god sake….
    The taxi services sucks for so many donkey years, but never improve. So dirty your taxi. So smelly too.

I am worried the pregnant ladies will vomit and become infected after riding your taxi…