Multi-level car parks to be built for 13 PPR/PA flats

multi-level carpark

Residents at a number of People’s Housing Project (PPR) and Public Housing (PA) flats in the city are set to face less issues with parking by next year, as Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) has announced that it will be building multi-level car parks at 13 PPR/PA locations.

The project, Bernama reports, will be implemented at a cost of RM408 million, and will benefit PPR residents at Pekan Kepong, Intan Baiduri, Raya Permai, Seri Pantai, Kampung Baru Air Panas, Hiliran Ampang, Taman Mulia, Desa Tun Razak, Desa Petaling and Semarak, as well as residents at the Desa Rejang, Seri Kota and Seri Sabah PA flats.

City mayor Datuk Seri Mhd Amin Nordin Abd Aziz confirmed the project, which will see an additional 2,679 parking lots being provided. When the multi-level car parks are completed, there will be 7,644 parking lots at these 13 locations, up from the 4,965 lots available currently.

“The multi-level car park project at PPR/PA flats is the first in its series and when completed next year, we will look into suitable parking charge to be imposed on the residents to cover costs of management, cleaning service and security guard,” the mayor said.

He said that PR/PA flat residents will be given access cards and car stickers to prevent outsiders from parking their vehicles in the area. He added that DBKL was also planning to build multi-level car parks at public parks such as the Titiwangsa Lake Garden and the Kepong Metropolitan Park.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• azhar on Mar 08, 2016 at 12:18 pm

sri penara bandar permaisuri should get one..that one the most serious of them all!

• ahmed on Mar 08, 2016 at 12:56 pm

ya…at least repave and widen the existing road and build more parking spots (angle type) on both sides of the road…

the walkway (kaki lima) is too wide. what for?

• Samang on Mar 08, 2016 at 1:02 pm

Maintenance and security must be beefed up, otherwise crime rate will shoot up

• Black Dog on Mar 08, 2016 at 1:06 pm

YES! Build more multi-story car parks all over the Klang Valley! Forget about the REALLY STUPID policy of reducing car park space in the city to encourage people to use public transport. That’s the main reason ‘double/triple parking’ can’t be solved!
    The australian system is very good. If you park nearer the shops, you need to pay and can park for only 1 hour maximum. If you park further, it’s free. But our malaysian system is the complete reverse!

• hadi75 on Mar 08, 2016 at 1:15 pm

It’s about time….

• My family have 4 cars @ PPR Air Panas, we need 4 parking access cards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • shawal on Mar 08, 2016 at 2:27 pm

carparks at residential areas is very much needed as most of these city dwellers sometimes share the house with many housemates,

Of coz personal transport is for personal use and for commuting to work we shud encourage public transportation

• Jawabandar on Mar 08, 2016 at 2:42 pm

Hopefully this will solve the parking issues and also the residents will be able to care and appreciate more on the facilities.

• shaunD on Mar 08, 2016 at 3:45 pm

not on the PPR. but on the plans to build the same facility at titiwangsa lake garden n metropolitan kepong park. while i agree with the need to build such thing (stupid park goers took one whole lane of mrr2 causing massive traffic jam every weekends), but by having the new parking facility, now park goers will have to pay to go to the park. and that kinda defeats the purpose of going to a park. i mean, public parks are usually FOC to go. u know, hyde park, central park… yes2, both parks are easily accessed with public transportation. but the idea of parks generally is for people to come n chillax, at no additional costs. which is why many and many developers are including parks and greeneries into their townships. but now, if going to the park also kena bayar for parking… turned off la.

i mean, now i go kepong park there to jog, for free. now, if go there to jog, still kena bayar parking. might as well i jog at my housing area. or pay gym. not apple to apple comparison, but you get the point. of having to pay.

i dunno.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Mohd Faiz on Mar 09, 2016 at 10:46 am

in longer term, it won’t solve the fundamental issue if no restriction implemented on vehicles purchase like in sing.