Proton faces tough economy with careful steps – MITI

Proton_Iriz_Review_-019

The Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) has revealed that Proton is taking several careful initiatives to cope with the unpredictable economy and ever-challenging market. Bernama reports that these initiatives include “drafting a number of initiatives via its long term development plan.”

“These steps are aimed at transforming and strengthening Proton’s current and future position to ensure its competitiveness both at home and overseas,” explained MITI in a written response to Nasrudin Hassan of PAS, Temerloh, in the Dewan Rakyat.

The government authority also said that Proton is looking to develop its technical capabilities and distributor network this year in addition to launching several new models. “To ramp up sales, Proton plans to introduce several new models such as the Perdana, Persona and Saga this year,” it said.

“At the same time, through cooperation with Japanese vehicle manufacturer Suzuki, the company also plans to introduce new models for the domestic as well as regional markets,” MITI continued. It was previously reported the Proton will soon rebadge the Suzuki Ertiga MPV as part of its new collaboration.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• BS la. Everyone in the business does what

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 22, 2016 at 10:18 am

To be honest, Proton is in deep trouble. You see, all this while, because of Mahathir, sales have been good. As we all know, 90% of Proton sales actually go to the Government.

Last year Proton sold 100,000 cars. In reality, only about 10% we bought by the public. The bulk of the purchase was bought by various government departments and ministries, enforcement divisions (customs, immigresen, pdrm, UTK etc)

Now, Mahathir got problem with the Government. In spite, they even sacked him from Petronas. It is a matter of time before he is sacked from Proton too by the Government. Even if they don’t sack him, they will make sure they will cut down on Government orders.

How to survive? Proton, with Mahathir’s help can only sell 100,000 cars. Now, with orders possibly cut, there will be a big problem. How to feed the 30,000 Proton staff??

Proton has one of the largest staffing of any car manufacturer in the world. If what the CEO says is true ie Proton makes only RM500 profit per car sold, assuming this year it also sells 100,000 cars (that is RM50 million profit).

How to pay staff, vendors and also bonuses with RM50 million per year? Board of Directors alone works out to more than RM50 million in salary and bonus. Then you got machinery cost, factory water and electric bills etc.

I think electric bill alone from Protn factory should work out about RM10 million per annum.

How?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 15
      • Shahril on Mar 22, 2016 at 10:45 am

This is like MAS or even our own Government. Give people jobs for free and fun. Don’t care about business economics. Just give free jobs.

MAS also the same. Went into bankruptcy cause 100 people do 1 person’s job.

Our Government the champion in the world. Malaysia has the highest number of Civil Servants in the world 1.5 million Government Servants.

Like MAS, 100 people do 1 person’s job. So, everybody can relax most of the time.

Do you know, Australia employs only 250,000 Government Servants and we employ 1.5 million Government Servants?

The same with Proton, It probably only needs 10,000 staff.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 6
        • Low Budget on Mar 22, 2016 at 11:04 am

Need to create jobs for hundred of thousands of unemployed graduates mah.

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 22, 2016 at 12:02 pm

The very first careful step is to IMPROVE BUILT QUALITY. I had so many client bought Iriz less than 2 years and asking to trade in for Vios due to broken parts here and there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
          • loler on Mar 22, 2016 at 1:27 pm

After 1 month resell Vios, too many problems than Iriz so buy Iriz back, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
          • Same L0rrrr on Mar 22, 2016 at 8:21 pm

Proton 5S principles:
            1. Sendiri Cakap
            2. Sendiri Syok
            3. Sentiasa Rosak
            4. Selalu Discount
            5. Siapapun tak nak

• Profit = Sales – Revenue
        I’m pretty sure all the expenses already included in the revenue..so RM50 million is quite a lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • tokmoh. on Mar 22, 2016 at 12:14 pm

Sales is revenue lol.

It should be sales – expenses.

• Sorry..My bad..wrong term used…the point was the 50 mil profit is still a profit..hahaha

• old town on Mar 22, 2016 at 9:03 pm

cost is not equivalent to expenses

• Sammy Loo on Mar 22, 2016 at 12:50 pm

you are contradicting with your own statement, profit is already deduct with all the expenses, the 50mil that you mention is profit

• WT Fuchhh on Mar 22, 2016 at 6:32 pm

What do you mean by unstable economic outlook.? Malaysian economy already bankrupt….did you not notice no more housing loans and car loans?? We can thanks our gomen for it.

• ProtonGSC on Mar 22, 2016 at 10:01 am

MITI still finding ways to increase price and add taxes??? Rakyat are the real suffering on “unpredictable economy and ever-challenging market”… Proton just know how to make R&D and AP cronies ask more from Government taxes… In the end Rakyat that pay more, income tax, high car price, long loan term and unrealistic high excise duty AND worst GST !!! Rakyat need to pay Multiple taxes on a single industry !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • 4G63T DSM on Mar 22, 2016 at 11:23 am

Wont affect me much if MITI raises prices.

I won’t buy a new car anyway.

Will be constantly searching for good used cars to buy cash. Dont even want to feed the Banks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • tokmoh. on Mar 22, 2016 at 10:05 am

Finally Proton news in awhile.

Who last time complained paultan put too much proton news? Bodo, no such thing as too much proton, every proton news is good entertainment!

*pop corn*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • jibby martha focker on Mar 22, 2016 at 10:53 am

Dear proton, sell what people want, not what you want (hint:B segment suv)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Low Budget on Mar 22, 2016 at 11:08 am

What the people want is less visit to the service center to fix minor crappy problems.

• Low Budget on Mar 22, 2016 at 11:06 am

Proton need to borrow RM 2.6B to survive.

• Hairan betul on Mar 22, 2016 at 12:27 pm

Why MITI still speak on behalf of private company?

• Ong Chee Boon on Mar 22, 2016 at 3:42 pm

If any proton supporters would be so kind to lead the Proton Management to take a good look at our comments.

What proton needs to do:
    1) Remove useless and leeching cronies dealership and suppliers. From a relationship based on quality and low rejection rate of parts

2) Redefine your whole array of products. Avoid cannibalization and cover wider market segment.

3) Make use of great technology and accelerate their R&D. Prepare yourself in 2017-2020. Defend 2016 with your current accordana and suzuki rebadge first.

4) Improve your after sales service.

5) Most importantly, fire your design chief, and your Proton top management. They failed so many years and you still keep them?

• camtakpro on Mar 22, 2016 at 4:24 pm

The only challenge Proton need is to improve quality and reliability.
      – those knobs, buttons, stalks, handles felt like anytime going to break or come off
      – stop using sub-standard parts for vital parts like those hose, clips that just failed even before my 1983 Toyota Corolla failed any of those stuff.
      – rear exterior design – initial Saga BLM looks nice, then from that time onward every rear design goes down the drain.

• bibikbiru on Mar 22, 2016 at 9:18 pm

Tutup business la, Proton.

You have dragged the rakyat, their life, their hard-earned money, endangered rakyat’s life and dragged the national economy down for so many decades.

Cukuplah, Proton….

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Mar 23, 2016 at 9:55 am

Its called KARMA. You reap what you sow. You manipulated the force & now the force turns on you, simple.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 23, 2016 at 1:16 pm

last time when i was menteri….where got problem?

• Eddieks on Mar 23, 2016 at 1:23 pm

I didn’t know Proton was competitive outside Malaysia… they are not even competitive anymore within Malaysia!