Proton cash rebate promo – 5 models, up to RM6.2k off

Proton-Cash-Rebate-Promo

Good time to be in the hunt for a new car? After Honda’s March promo (up to RM8k savings, all models included), Volkswagen’s massive ‘Drop Everything’ clearance sale (up to RM53k off for 2014/2015 cars) and Kia’s ‘K Surprise’ campaign (up to RM16k off plus three years free service for sedans) comes Proton’s promo, which is offering discounts up to RM6,200.

Five Proton models are included, and they are the Saga, Persona, Preve, Suprima S and Iriz. In ascending order, the Saga comes with savings of up to RM2,500, Persona RM3,500, RM5,000 for the Preve and Suprima S siblings and RM6,200 for the Iriz.

Proton-Promo-Details

Proton says that the above cash rebates can be combined with the company’s Loyalty Rewards, which give additional incentives of up to RM3,000 when existing Proton owners trade in their car for a new Proton.

The national car company didn’t elaborate much other than an example of max rebates (RM6,200 for Iriz + RM3,000 Loyalty Rewards = RM9,200), but this could be a revival of the Loyalty Programme from 2015, where existing Proton owners who traded in their cars received RM100 for each year of their vehicle’s age.

Proton recently moved to increase prices of its cars, citing the forex effect as a reason. Sticker prices went up by RM312 to RM2,024, a jump of up to 4.6%, on February 15. New pricelist below.

Proton-2016-pricelist

Click to enlarge pricelist

GALLERY: Proton Iriz 1.6L Premium CVT

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Raja Celup on Mar 15, 2016 at 12:44 pm

Looking forward for new Perdana discounts half price soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
    • Albert on Mar 15, 2016 at 3:17 pm

Raja,the new Accordana will be “BUY 1,FREE1 SAGA OR PERSONA”.
      Better get some cash and reduce yard storage congestion.
      Make no difference.They are churning out cars to keep jobs intact…no layoffs.AMAZING AND shambolic.
      Anyway,they are heading for RECEIVERSHIP in a year or two when our YAB is relieved of his duties soon.
      Directionless,those senior managers will resort to sportivos,carnivals,rebates,loyalty programmes….sound familiar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
      • Sounds more like ur favourite brand toyota than P1 to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
      • Ramly on Mar 15, 2016 at 6:05 pm

P1 patut naik harga 100ribu dulu.
        Lepas tu tolak cash rebate 150ribu..

BARU la MENARIK!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Harga dah naik, rebate pulak… tak laku tulis aje dalam ad ler!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
  • Cheap cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Same L0rrr on Mar 15, 2016 at 1:17 pm

Why increase the price than give rebate? No sale huh? Because of your campro engine & punch powertrain cvt gear box.. no one to buy proton now..
    buy Perodua, Toyota, Honda & Nissan better! Never buy Kia, Hyundai, VW, Chevrolet & Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 14
    • Lethargic on Mar 15, 2016 at 8:41 pm

Japs engine no punch lor, have to push pedal to get power at higher RPM. Campro turbo dun have to, relaxing drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
      • camtakpro on Mar 15, 2016 at 10:55 pm

Yes, relaxing drive in service center.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
        • yardstock on Mar 16, 2016 at 12:44 pm

Lol since when p1 is bad as VW?
          Even japs airbags are fatal than bolehland’s

• camtakpro on Mar 16, 2016 at 2:12 pm

VW: Proton of the West
            Proton: VW of the East

Similar, but slightly better because
            – cheaper
            – we don’t have strict enforcement on emission, hence no dieselgate.

• IrizX on Mar 16, 2016 at 5:04 pm

Stupid tahap gaban.

Everyone knows Campro sarks ranciu in low RPM with no power and move like turtle.

Nak tipu also pandai sikit lah.

• Threaten to increase price some more.

Tahun bila punya kereta?

• Broker Enlish on Mar 15, 2016 at 1:23 pm

Broken English…lately every Prodon ad came wit broken English grammar (kampung style grammar…its in the feel, drive it to believe it etc)..they cannot even get a simple ad correct how to expect top quality in their cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 25
    • Broken Not on Mar 15, 2016 at 5:38 pm

the english is correct,.. the quality of cars ‘may’ be slacking. but not the English. you must be someone who cant grasp good english i presume?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Andas on Mar 15, 2016 at 6:53 pm

Funny la this fella.. When u dislike something, one small thing will turn to big..

• kazim on Mar 15, 2016 at 8:25 pm

what are you blabbering about? which part of the english in the ad is broken?

• CEO that Lies - RM500 Untung? on Mar 15, 2016 at 1:55 pm

Why don’t you sell your cars with the discount all the time ie Iriz with Rm6000 or RM9000 less?

If you can give such discounts, means that your CEO has lied that you make RM500 profit per car. he lied to everyone that Proton makes only RM500 per car.

If you are giving such big discounts now, it really shows that you untung about RM5000 per car on normal non sale days

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Albert on Mar 15, 2016 at 3:09 pm

CEO,do you know where all liars will end up?
      The Lake Of Fire.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • More like lake of money and easy living. Just look at those US CEOs that got golden handshakes, parachutes, and company liquidation bonuses.

• Andas on Mar 16, 2016 at 7:11 am

I believe he was referring to saga sv.. not all model untung 500 ringgit.. see, read news also half way.. work hard and hari2 menabung.. who knows you can afford accord or camry one day.. kipidap!!!

• Neutral on Mar 15, 2016 at 2:00 pm

It really blows my mind away. The marketing department of Proton is in dire need of revamp. Just one month after Proton increased the prices of its fleet, it comes out with these rebates promotion. My goodness, what are those people doing out there? Proton should not raise the prices in the first place. It really needs miracle to save the company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Spec Market on Mar 15, 2016 at 5:15 pm

Mktg team zzzz not sensitive to market..coz the boss cakap iriz laku banyak laku…so no need to work and wait for customers..unfortunately no customers..suprise iriz the highest rebate!!! Apa sudah jadi dek?

• Power of daydreams on Mar 15, 2016 at 8:58 pm

Got one macai said last time Iriz got 70k bookings and production line in full swing to meet the demand.

Hehehehe jauh panggang dari api.

• The ad looks like it was designed in Microsoft Paint. That is proton marketing standard for you.

• rosdi on Mar 15, 2016 at 2:00 pm

Been seeing lots of Irizs (Irizes?) on the road lately… cute car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
  • azhar on Mar 15, 2016 at 2:37 pm

stok lama x laku..hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • Mozilla Chrome on Mar 15, 2016 at 2:39 pm

Hahahahahaha!

• Malaysian Driver on Mar 15, 2016 at 2:54 pm

I wonder whether 6,200 rabate does applied to the based 1.3MT zstandard Iriz? Factor in 6,200 discount, that will be 36k on the road!

With a good chassic and handling, coupled with a sweet Gertag 5 speed stick shifter and ESP, 36k is definitely a steal! which make the more expensive Myvi X or Axia SE purchase looks idiotic stupid!

The based manual 1.3 didn’t comes with all these push start, touch screen, LED gadget, and the stupid CVT, so less things to go wrong (if you worry about Proton’ QC) IMO, the Iriz manual is the best value for money for a European handling hatch + machanical simplicity that promises old school joy and practicality, it’s almost like driving the MK 1 Golf’s machanical honesty combine with 1989 Daihatsu Charade’s simplicity charm merge into one!

Very tempted to get one for a simple point A to B/ weekend B road touge car. I’ve recently seen one very skillfully driven at Kuala Klawang, and by the looks of it, it is very much in stock form! I hate to say it, but after rounds of dissapointment, Proton had produce a hatch that truly impresses me, and that is none other than the 1.3 manual Iriz! (but definitely not the horrendous 1.6 CVT) I finally come to concur why Hafiz named this as the car that impresses him the most back in 2014, because it’s really good, full stop. Good job Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 7
    • Moving Forward on Mar 15, 2016 at 3:34 pm

Can’t agree more. I’m seriously considering getting the base model as workhorse and fun driving while retaining my current stick shifter hatch.

• Recycle words on Mar 15, 2016 at 4:36 pm

Good job. Good move. Let’s hope.

• camtakpro on Mar 15, 2016 at 10:58 pm

Hatch back without rear wipers… please don’t follow Perodua Axia for that. Otherwise Proton won’t surpass Perodua.

• IrizX on Mar 16, 2016 at 5:08 pm

Have to agree. Proton is only good at making manual cars.

Good for the enthuasist.

But unfortunately, probably only 0.1% of the market is interested. Which is why some brands start dropping manual offerings….because it doesn’t makes commercial sense.

• Albert on Mar 15, 2016 at 3:07 pm

Why do car distributors give REBATES?
    1.Poor market acceptance(QC)
    2.Product nearing end of its life cycle
    3.Competitors keep launching more advanced(with good QC)and newer models
    4.Stocks building up
    5.Poor after sales technical support
    6.Competitors also giving rebates at same time
    7.Poor public perception(like ‘power window’issue)
    YAB TUN,these are all the reasons why Proton is giving discounts.
    Maybe,you are busy giving ceramah from loribelakang,your managers are again coming out with the same strategy…..DISCOUNTS.It is short term measure only for survival since Protong refuse to chop thousands of deadwood.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • frossonice on Mar 15, 2016 at 3:14 pm

People logic here; Proton give rebates – because kereta tak laku.

Others give rebates – to boost sales.

And here I thought I was reading Paultan not long ago about how car sales went downhill nowadays for almost all brand except Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Basher rule 101.
      When its gud news, go into cave and sleep.
      When its bad news, come out cave and shout.

Walah! Everything they see is bad & negative.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
    • Mari lelong on Mar 15, 2016 at 9:17 pm

That’s only for early months 2016. If you notice Proton sales for past 5 years the drop rate is 10k less sales per year. Steadily decreasing downhill trend.

Now baru rushing kelam kabut panicking with new strategy, new promise, new culture etc. Sorry lah Proton we no longer believe your craps anymore.

• IrizX on Mar 21, 2016 at 10:18 am

Every year got new “Game Changer” model coming out, but with same crap Campro, Punch CVT and the same low quality service.

Their Engrand is so bad until cannot understand the meaning of “Change”.

• khairi mohamad on Mar 15, 2016 at 6:08 pm

Plan to buy Exora but no rebate. I was chasing for 2015 Exora which got 3k rebate, now all are sold out. Only above models remaining for grab. All are last year manufactured.

• Cchos on Mar 15, 2016 at 8:48 pm

Exora comes with ESC plus 4 airbags. No discount is still a steal. Go for it.

• Piupiupiu on Mar 15, 2016 at 6:13 pm

Everybody want to wait for proton’s new engine.. So proton, expect sales drop until new engine come out..

• tadulako on Mar 15, 2016 at 11:16 pm

last time increase price.
    Now, give rebate.

No wonder, Proton is syoik sendiri.

• Kautim Satu Malaysia on Mar 15, 2016 at 11:21 pm

Proton is desperate to clear away old-old stock, that has been occupying big spaces, while the cars gathering dust or rusting away….

Anyway, no matter how much rebate given by Proton, nobody gonna buy these cars…

I noticed that no one bat an eye at Proton’s show cars at shopping centers these days.

• Andas on Mar 16, 2016 at 7:04 am

Be fair la brader.. others also give rebate, for what???

• Unfair on Mar 16, 2016 at 10:10 am

Be fair? Export top-spec cars selling at loss, dirt cheap price. For own rakyat totally the opposite.

• Huh? Do you think p1 set the tax?
          Even in Thai without p1 the prices of cars are not cheap neither

• IrizX on Mar 16, 2016 at 5:08 pm

Check langkawi price.

All is revealed.

No need to potek lagi.

• all i can say is all the best to Proton.

• Ah Chong on Mar 17, 2016 at 10:13 am

What the…? Increase the price, than discount.. what the…?