Volkswagen Malaysia ‘Drop Everything’ Sale – Polo Hatch RM70k, Jetta RM89k, Passat RM116k

VW-Drop-Everything-Sale

Volkswagen Malaysia is currently having a ‘Drop Everything’ sale. The deals offered are so hot that you’ll want to drop everything for them – that’s the message. This is a stock clearance sale for cars manufactured in 2014 and 2015, and it involves the Polo Hatch, Jetta and Passat models, which are all locally assembled.

As you can see, the prices being offered in this stock clearance are at a steep discount from the retail prices. The Passat D-segment sedan, which has a sticker price of RM173,888, is now being offered at RM115,888, which is RM53,000 off the RRP. The C-segment Jetta sedan, a RM134,888 car, is now being offered at RM88,888. That’s a RM46,000 discount.

Further down the scale is the Polo. The five-door hatchback‘s normal price is RM89,888, and 2014/2015 cars are now going for RM69,888, which is RM20,000 off.

The Passat is powered by a 1.8 litre TSI engine with 160 PS and 250 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,200 rpm, paired to a seven-speed DSG gearbox. Same transmission for the Jetta, which comes with a 1.4 litre twincharger TSI engine with 160 PS and 240 Nm from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm.

No TSI/DSG for the Polo, which is moved by a 105 PS/153 Nm naturally aspirated 1.6 litre MPI engine, mated to a six-speed conventional automatic gearbox with Tiptronic.

As with all clearance sales, promotions are valid while stocks last. You can contact the CarBase.my Verified Sales Advisors linked below for sales and test drive enquiries:

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• xxxxxxxx on Mar 14, 2016 at 1:13 pm

Oouch. no resale value for old owners

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 9
  • timbuktu on Mar 14, 2016 at 1:29 pm

Short minded VW. In a desperate attempt to recuperate your loss, u have just shaved off a large piece of confidence from your existing owners.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 11
    • are they actually operating at a loss? from my work research the last time the scandal largely does not involve it’s asian counterpart markets.

do you have some sources you can point me towards?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Dumbo on Mar 14, 2016 at 9:09 pm

Stupid, simply say as you like.. The reason for clearance is because new model passat etc is coming.. Same goes to Peugeot, 32k plus for turbo 408 because new 408 sedan coming soon.. Also new civic middle of this year.. Unfortunately for people like you, does not know anything except spamming ridiculous comments..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 35
      • Jumbo on Mar 15, 2016 at 3:29 am

Why still have 2014 stock ah, no wonder you are dumbo..bo??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
        • Bigger Jumbo on Mar 15, 2016 at 12:07 pm

Passat is 2015 RM 115,888. so say your prayers. I’m getting one. cheap and affordable and problem? Buy first lah. they cannot serve me at service centre, I bombard lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
          • I would rather wait for Civic turbo. At least aftersales service is Much MUch MUCH better and Japanese admits mistake. German denies mistake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Fuego on Mar 15, 2016 at 10:57 pm

I just bought passat 2014 two weeks ago at the price rm128k…. Now VW slashed the price to rm109k … so upset now.. Anyone encountered same experience as me before? Felt like being cheated by VW..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
  • Henry on Mar 14, 2016 at 1:30 pm

Not only do they have to worry about low new car sales they also have to worry about getting rid of the old stock in the warehouse. Very worrisome indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
  • DonkeyKong on Mar 14, 2016 at 1:43 pm

LOL I’ve been seeing similar prices advertised on Mudah for a few months now.. old stock that has yet to be cleared. I doubt there’s “limited units” available. Even the 2nd hand Jettas and Passats on Mudah.my have been there for over 6 months, still no takers. Say goodbye to resale value and brand reputation..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 12
    • Mudah ads only for 90 or 60 days. It will be automatically delete. Lets provide facts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 43
      • Uwantfacts on Mar 14, 2016 at 2:04 pm

Using same pictures over the course of six month? Fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
      • Cannot renew the ad meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • sorry john on Mar 14, 2016 at 2:42 pm

Sorry John, your facts are not that straight.Yes for FREE ads you cant advertise more than 3 months. but you can extend beyond 90 days if you pay them ad fees. I was once Mudah Seller and my ads can be renew/readvertise/extend as long as I pay them.

CHill bro!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • Should convert these old stocks as courtesy cars for service centre

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 1
  • Painter on Mar 14, 2016 at 2:53 pm

Fire sale indeed

• kenken on Mar 14, 2016 at 3:46 pm

y passat & jetta got almost identical engine output….1 is 1.8 another is 1.4

• I guess the Passat should be all CKD version.
    VGM print wrong again. where got fatigue system?
    IMHO it’s limited to those CBU first batch

• 2014 still have?? Really??

• Stock clearance. Vento & Passat B8 coming soon.

• james on Mar 16, 2016 at 9:00 pm

Just wait and see la. Another disastrous garage sales for B8 in 2018 for sure. Is imprinted in their DNA

• cobra on Mar 14, 2016 at 5:52 pm

Passat for RM118k is really a steal. But the phobia of breaking down and all the negative feedbacks really puts one off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
    • alldisc on Mar 14, 2016 at 8:56 pm

U save 50k, right? Use that money to buy a 5 yrs old used myvi at abt 18k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • stasta on Mar 15, 2016 at 10:08 am

or u could get a reliable mazda3 with modern advanced features, albeit a little less space.

• Modesto.hj on Mar 14, 2016 at 9:35 pm

friend from car industry told that this will not be the only price slash happening, many grey importers will follow suit very soon, else they are closing down.. Car market is very bad now. If you want good bargain, hold little longer, patience will save you few 10 thousands..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Vicknesh on Mar 14, 2016 at 9:36 pm

It seems to be a real ‘seducing’ offer. Still, Audi is giving a good discount for A3 now. So which one is better A3 1.4 TFSI or this Passat? Confused. Not just the price but to take account of the reliability.

• Vinod on Mar 14, 2016 at 10:18 pm

It will be extremely sad if they can’t clear their stock even with such offers. Looks like it has been ‘taxed free’.

• JensenC9 on Mar 14, 2016 at 10:58 pm

Any passat owner here? How was passat? Im interested on buying it.

• david choong on Apr 01, 2016 at 2:18 pm

all those issues of gearbox or clutch problems has been rectified to at least 95% with the gearbox oil being changed. So far, the 2014/2015 models has not much of an issue. i believe all those who keep on putting negative comments on the internet may not be VW owners, all based on heresay. I think it is very irresponsible to spread unfounded lies without checking the facts properly.

• Here is my testimony. I have Cross Touran since 2012. Good performance and driving experience for 1.4 cc compare with my previous Vios and Civic 1.8. No major headache on the gearbox. Happy with the car. And now me marrying with GTI MK7. Keep 2 VW chicks in the same house. In short … Happy!!

• 2013 car so far so good (Pray!). Enjoy the car a lot.

• James on Apr 14, 2016 at 10:34 pm

I owend one. I have vry simple msg to u jus six months the car gave up on a highway. U still have many better options so think wisely

• Citizen on Mar 15, 2016 at 7:56 am

Well, this is interesting. To be honest this is the reasonable price that we all deserve to pay to own the imported cars. Being taxed excessively and also paying the interest for the paid taxes which included in HP loan, been a very saddening fate of Malaysians. We deserve more offers from the other considerate car dealers too. At least for cars below 250k.

• stasta on Mar 15, 2016 at 10:01 am

i agree with u, probably they are selling now at cost price with close to zero profit.

• Ong Chee Boon on Mar 15, 2016 at 4:20 pm

Condonlences to all those owners who are currently using VW for 2 years+ now (including myself)

I can’t bring myself to look at my 2nd hand value after 5 years. Well i kinda expected my 2nd hand value won’t be as good as a Japanese car, but this promo has made a lot of existing owners devastated.

After 2 more years, i think i just get a good JDM manual japanese car and modify my own to suit my taste. No more VW. Not even when my current golf so far no issues. The scandals and mismanagement is just too much for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • newbierookie on Mar 15, 2016 at 7:42 pm

your DSG has no issue since you bought the car?

• Ong Chee Boon on Mar 15, 2016 at 10:47 pm

Only replacement of its clutch once due to wear and tear. So far so good. No mecha failure, or any DSG issue.

• timbuktu on Mar 16, 2016 at 12:30 pm

I am an existing owner too. The fact they are so desperate until throwing prices like crazy pisses me off. I don’t have issues with my car and no frustration on it. I love the drive. It’s just the way VW M’sia handles the pricing pisses me off.

• newbierookie on Mar 16, 2016 at 7:21 pm

May I know which car/model/year of manufactured is yours?
        The mileage now and any juddering issue on low gear during traffic jam?

• DSG TT on Mar 15, 2016 at 7:33 pm

Any DSG 2014/2015 owners sharing their thoughts and experience here?
    The price of the passat is so tempting but the scandals and the DSG problems just scared me out.
    Should I buy one? or just better opt for a less problem japanese C Segment car like toyota or honda?

• Ong Chee Boon on Mar 15, 2016 at 10:52 pm

Mine was 2012 last batch, still i would advise you not to get one because

1) Few service centres
      2) Slow aftersales services
      3) Unknown issue even new car purchased

It depends what you are after though. What’s your:
      1) Budget?
      2) Style of driving
      3) Stick shift or auto?
      4) Type (sedan, Hatchback, SUV, MPV)
      5) Main priority (space? FC? Performance? Reliability?)

• DSG TT on Mar 16, 2016 at 1:42 am

1.Budget around 120k
        2.Comfort style of driving but would like the extra punch of power for acceleration or overtaking.
        3.Auto
        4.Sedan only
        5. Main priority is reliability and safety follow by comfort and performance. Average FC will do.

As far as i know, VW is not a reliable car since when I try to google the DSG problems, it pops out a lot of negative feedback about it. In Australia a girl was killed in highway due to DSG failure. Sudden power loss and hit by the truck behind.

Passat with mass price reduction is a good bargain in comparison to toyota Altis and Honda Civic which is around the same price.
        After searching for feedback from vw owners on internet, it seems like VW with DSG(7 speed dry clutch) is not reliable. Many of them send their cars several times into SC and yet the problem still exist. Besides there are vibrations during low gear 1 and 2 during traffic jam and so on. These factors which really turn me off to buy a VW with DSG.
        Try to think during DSG failure and have to send to SC for several days and weeks, I cant live without my car.

• Ong Chee Boon on Mar 16, 2016 at 10:40 am

I would suggest you holding the money and wait for the incoming Honda Civic. Never hurts to wait for a little while.

Since you mentioned reliability and safety first, VW is not what u are looking for, i can only say VW offers performance that exceed your expectations, and its safety features are top-notch, but its reliability is a BIG NO NO.

If you can’t wait, Mazda 3 skyactive 2.0 sedan is your best choice. Proven, reliable and its drivetrain packs quite a punch. Boot space is average but sufficient. FC is quite good. There are quite a few reviews online you can check it.

Test drive it to feel it by yourself. so far M3 skyactive feel closest to my Golf tsi 1.4 mk6. You will be surprised by its interior as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • DSG TT on Mar 16, 2016 at 6:02 pm

Thanks a lot for the thoughts sharing.Due to DSG issue and the reliability of VW. I will try to test drive the Mazda 3 and maybe wait for the new Honda Civic.

• newbierookie on Mar 15, 2016 at 7:41 pm

Is the DSG problem resolved?
    The price of the 2014/15 passat is so tempting.
    But think of all the bad comments reviews and scandal of DSG and cluth problem. I am still considering….. Should I get one or just opt for C segment japanese car like Toyota and Honda which is more reliable to me.(less complaint)

• Joseph Lee on Mar 20, 2016 at 8:43 pm

How abt jetta? Any comments on it?

• Kuan Keng Chong on Jun 18, 2016 at 8:42 pm

Just met a Jetta owner earlier in the evening. He bought it at RM115+++ about 2 years ago. No issue & problem so far. Maintenance service interval is 15000 km. He mentioned the cost of maintenance service stipulated in the service manual: 1st service RM4++, 2nd service RM8++, 3rd & 4th service RM1+++, and the 5th service back to RM4++. He is very happy with its power and the handling. Fuel consumption for town driving is 4++km for a fill up of about 50 liter of fuel.

• vw polo lover on Mar 20, 2016 at 11:25 pm

why not dismantle all old stock and sell it as spare part in malaysia? spare part price go down when supply more than demand. then all vw car second hand value goes up because maintenance cost reduce…hahaha…just kidding…dont be so serious.

• Vence Wong on Apr 03, 2016 at 10:10 pm

I have a Passat cc, sent in to Volkswagen TTDI since 1st Dec 15, until now still in workshop! I will never want to buy a Volkswagen anymore in my life. Never ever!

• Help me on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:08 am

Hye all.i need your advise.this is my first time to buy a car and i am interested to buy this clearance stock sale. What i choose is polo. Can anyone of you give me the review of this sale as I’m afraid if i take the wrong decision to buy my first car. Pls help me.

• PoloOwner on Apr 08, 2016 at 11:21 am

Got a Polo last year when they had their 0% installment promo. So far, no issue but it’s only reached 10000 km so far. If you are looking for a powerful car, this ones not for you. My first car was a Satria 1.6 and had more confidence overtaking in that than with this car. Damn i miss my satria..
      But its a good enough car if you want get from point a to point b, slow and easy…

• leejubo on Apr 16, 2016 at 3:05 am

yea…another “tiara”

• Vincent on May 13, 2016 at 12:42 pm

Hahaha… those keyboard hero who never test drive Passat before talking like world class car reviewer.

At the price of 115,888, once you tested the car performance, you will say.. since got 5 years warranty… buy first worry later…

FYI, the car sold out 1 months ago….and now a lot of people who placed their booking but cannot get car….waiting for $$$ refund. they cry.