Malaysia is said to be an important market for luxury car brand Rolls-Royce and to add to that, the company is set to target young Malaysian buyers, Bernama reports.
According to regional director for Asia Pacific, Paul Harris, Malaysia meets the all plans and expectations set by the company despite the economic situation. He noted that there continues to be significant demand especially for its latest models in Malaysia, which are targeted at the younger generation.
“For Malaysia, the underlying fundamental is that it has a big population with a lot of wealth, so that has not really changed. For us, the Malaysian market still wins,” Harris said at the 2016 Bangkok International Motor Show. Rolls-Royce’s used car programme is seeing strong demand from local customers, according to him.
Although it only has two showrooms in Malaysia – one for new cars and the other for used cars (with warranty) – Harris said that the company has been very active in seeking out new customers. “We are really active all over the country, from Melaka to Penang, we basically go where the clients are, in Sabah and all over the place, wherever the rich are,” he said.
Harris also revealed that the Rolls-Royce Dawn will be coming into Malaysia in the months to come. The Ghost-based convertible, which made its debut late last year, is said to be a model of interest among Malaysians. According to Rolls-Royce regional sales manager of South Asia, J. Ritter, Asia has been the most important market for the brand. The region saw a 13% growth in sales last year.
GALLERY: Rolls-Royce Dawn
I wouldn’t be surprised if their used car sales is doing great since customers do get a great deal from it but I’m curious as to how many brand new units they can move in a year.
Your disease car is getting cheaper
Who are those young Malaysians? Bet you can see a lot of this at P.A.U assembly this year.
young, wealthy Princes and Princesses malaysians..
Bright prospects!
Millionaires’ club of M’sia membership doubled in 10 years
https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/333995
“We are really active…. wherever the rich are.” – Is it only me, or do I think that’s the most obnoxious line ever?
Yes great prospects in Malaysia. There must be many Jho Lows out there..
I doubt ‘young Malaysians’ are interested in Rolls Royce classic designs… they rather opt for sportier BMW and other German marques
The middle classes who ‘thinks’ they are rich will buy the merc, bmw, audi. Those filthy rich (read wealthy) will go for Bentley, RR
Filthy and corrupted rich… =) Those who start from scratch will go for middle class luxury even they can own a RR.
Rmb that those who have money coming in easily and those earned through sweat has a different mentality.
Upper middle class, to be exact; who are able to possess five brandnew luxurious vehicles at any one time. Many of the ‘rich’ malaysians belong to this group.
The really rich ones are like Gate and Bufe, who do not need to makan cakes.
Many of us are satisfied with most of our non-RR vehicles.
Half their annual orders will come from Johor, RR knows where to go close the deals. A number of obnoxious brats born and bred there, some even make media headlines from time to time.
Sometimes Considering buying a good car does not mean wanna show off. I can say they are a lot ppl buying for driving fun & safety purpose.
so who is in the running to buy these cars ? lets list out:
1. johor royalty
2. kelantan royalty
3. mahathirs sons
4. nazri aziz son
5. mahmud taib