VIDEOS: New 2016 Honda Civic shows off its features

While we eagerly await the arrival of the new 2016 Honda Civic here in Malaysia, Honda Thailand has gone ahead and uploaded several videos promoting the many aspects (design and technology wise) of the C-segment sedan, which is already on sale in the Kingdom.

Obviously, the star here is the range-topping is the Turbo RS variant (Thai-market), which comes with Honda’s new 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo four-pot that develops 173 hp and 220 Nm from 1,700 to 5,500 rpm, mated to a CVT gearbox.

While speed and acceleration (along with ‘VTEC’ and ‘Turbo’) might be enough to draw the crowd in, the various features available on the Thai-market Civic will help keep them there. For starters, while you’re admiring the car’s design, you can start the engine with just a push of a button on the key fob.

Stepping into the car, the driver is greeted by a TFT LCD instrument display (touted as Driver Information Interface) that displays not just the tachometer, but also includes a numerical speedometer and various information pertaining to the car’s infotainment and trip computer systems.

On the mention of the car’s infotainment system, the Civic’s dash is dominated by a seven-inch touchscreen unit featuring Apple CarPlay and Siri Eyes Free (Advanced Display Audio). The system allows you to use the touchscreen as an extension of the phone’s functionality, which is pretty nifty when it comes to music playback and hands-free operation.

We are also introduced to the Honda LaneWatch function, which is exclusive to the Turbo RS. LaneWatch assists the driver when it comes to blind spots, sparing him or her from having to turn their necks. At a push of a button on the indicator stalk, the touchscreen displays a live feed from a camera mounted on the car’s left side mirror.

Of course, these are just some of the highlights of the Thai-market Civic. It is yet unknown when the 2016 Civic will make its Malaysian debut. After Thailand, Indonesia and the Philippines look set to receive the tenth-generation Civic real soon. For now, which feature(s) are you looking forward to the most?

GALLERY: 2016 Honda Civic Turbo RS at the Bangkok Motor Show

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• janji najix tidak ditunaikan,Penipu Rakyat on Apr 05, 2016 at 6:53 pm

Trust me,RM138k for a 1.5 turbo won’t sell as target,1.8 could magically sell better than turbo. This is Malaysia, not US

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
    • I rather buy new Perdana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 39
      • RM10k difference only and without Thai P1 supporting their lower income pipu to own car. Ini juga mesti semua salah P1/ BN/ UNMO/ Na….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
        • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:01 am

Tokok John, apa benda you talking? What rubbish you talking? Cannot even understand your sentences.

• james on Apr 06, 2016 at 12:02 pm

As a father, potong steam terus, After seeing the video of daughter’s calling. Value your life, don’t speed, no need for turbo.

• Only rubbish like poor samy don’t understand

• Albert on Apr 05, 2016 at 11:11 pm

Tokok John,
        Proton has so many problems now.
        The other day ,you said it would be suicidal to buy Proton.Now u say ,buy Perdana.
        Go and bathe yourself in cowdung shit.
        You are a piece of spineless jelly,blown here and there by every wind of doctrine.
        Be a man.Talk facts and not tokok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • Dude. Thats ur RBA komrade that posted the comment as my clone.

Or was it just u, Albert Yong…..

• Proton better.
        Use Tubro Cumpro enjin.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:03 am

This car will be higher in price than Honda Accord, Toyota Camry and even Nissan Teana. Real D segments. In Malaysia, size sells. No fool will buy a small C segment at the price of a D segment. I mean volume sales

• OMG…r u fortune teller? I strongly believe the Civic 1.8 will not more than 120K and the 1.5Turbo might be in 130K – 140K.

• uggio on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:14 pm

Better value for money with 205Nm CFE at half price

• OMG…what so excited & special on this new Perdana? Spend more 100K to buy Proton, not worth it. I will ready money for the new Civic even more expensive than Perdana.

• jinggo on Apr 05, 2016 at 7:19 pm

Honda Malaysia will spoil the joy, trust me..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:11 am

Everybody going to get a shock when this car comes in at RM160k. Then all will say, syukurlah negara masih aman dan damai

• JobLess on Apr 05, 2016 at 7:42 pm

Frum the photos it looked so ugly, Altis still the best looking car in Malaysia roads right now, wit Mazda 3 in second

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 65
    • The Altis may look good but its features are horrible for the price. VSC is not even standard for an RM120k+ car. Airbags are at a miserable 2.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 1
    • BeemerFreak on Apr 05, 2016 at 9:51 pm

Rubbish……the beauty is in the eye of the beholder…..to me nothing beats the Mazda 3 in the looks department, but that doesn’t mean I am right…it’s a personal preference

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
    • Playboy on Apr 05, 2016 at 10:19 pm

OMG, still got people choose Altis ah? Guess I’m wrong about Altis here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • Maybe those half-price stock clearance models by Sam Loo. Otherwise who in the right mind would spend RM120k for a poorly equipped 1.8 sedan when you can get a nicely equipped 1.8 HR-V with a similar amount of space?

• Hawk5 on Apr 06, 2016 at 11:00 am

That’s why you are jobless!

• Getmecar on Apr 05, 2016 at 7:54 pm

No android auto support for ASEAN version? They shouldn’t drop this feature.

• Operation Manager on Apr 05, 2016 at 8:57 pm

VW Jetta 1.4 TSI 240Nm (Twin charged: Turbo & Super charged),
    Ford 1.5 Ecoboost 240Nm 180PS, Honda Civic 1.5T 220Nm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Warren Wong Yee Ket on Apr 05, 2016 at 10:00 pm

Jetta curb weight 1380kg, Focus curb weight 1270kg, Civic curb weight 1121kg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
      • Lance on Apr 05, 2016 at 10:49 pm

Civic curb weight is 1121? You got to be kidding.

• Bob_B78 on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:44 am

Civic curb weight is around 1.3t. Gross weight jetta should be the heaviest at 1.9t. Off the line civic will faster than the other 2 but top speed i just know jetta can hit up to 230km/h in stock. Rm88k is real bargain for jetta now unfortunately u really need luck of owning an almost problem free vw car.

• Samloo on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:48 am

bodoh data

• mason on Apr 05, 2016 at 9:40 pm

I been to US last month and I saw it on the road, it surprise me as it look nicer on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • jamal on Apr 05, 2016 at 10:32 pm

thats because US weather is better than here. the sky is bluer and the grass is greener too. no haze, the road is smooth and scenery is prefect. even vios dugong looks good in US.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
  • No rear AC Vent? Hmmmm…

• theanswer on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:39 am

ya la..i just noticed. hurmm..too bad..with ample legroom, they need a rear aircond vent.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:00 am

why cant they fitted in the air vent like City did before?

• YeapyEvo on Apr 05, 2016 at 11:52 pm

Ford use RS for their top of the range Focus, but Civic use RS in mid range Civic “really slow” with boring CVT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • The lane watch assist ads can turn out be a horror one. It is a thai ads and u dont see her in the mirror but she appear on the screen. Lol.

• thepolygonal on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:39 am

Please everyone don’t by this car….

because I want to be the only one that have it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Don’t worry, no one here will buy but you will have many aunties and uncles buying this car with you.

• bodoh never read on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:09 am

come on la show off what features? there is no features!! where is HONDA SENSING SUITE???

LAUGH OUT LOUD MAN.

WHAT LANE WATCH, CAN ONLY WORK ON LEFT SIDE LOL

• Lance on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:07 am

Lol. I don’t see anything out there to show. All these features already in many cars on the road here in Malaysia. There were still many others features not available in this Civic like the autonomous braking, lane departure, blind spot monitoring, high beam control etc etc. The funniest of all is the lane watch which was way way old school. Modern cars are using blind spot monitoring now. Anyway, most Malaysians will still buy this and not knowing what they missed out.

• They will feel missed out only if they compare to Mazda/ continentals, but will feel nirvana when compare to toyota.

• Hatiku mancis jiwaku lighters on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:23 am

Ahhhh whatever..proton new 1.5 gdi turbocharge engine have more power..180hp 250nm + wonderful handling.. wowww its amazing dude! This civic rs sure tinggal tak kiralah kat jalan lurus atau kat corner :)

• Hatiku mancis jiwaku lighters on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:29 am

Ahhh whatever :P proton new 1.5 trubo gdi engine have more power :D 180hp and 250nm + wonderful handling is incredible dude! This civic rs sure tinggal nda kiralah kat jln lurus atau dkt corner..babai civic ;)whatev