Lexus LC 500, LC 500h coming to Malaysia in 2017

2016-lexus-lc-coupe-to-malaysia-1

Believe it, folks. The jaw-dropping Lexus LC looks set to arrive in Malaysia. Both variants, the LC 500 and the LC 500h have popped up on the brand’s local website, poised to arrive sometime in 2017. It’s still a long way off, but good to know, Lexus Malaysia.

The two-door four-seat LC 500 that caught everyone by surprise with its gorgeous styling was revealed to the world earlier this year at the New York International Auto Show. The sports coupe features a 5.0 litre naturally-aspirated V8 engine which produces 467 hp and 527 Nm of torque.

The engine is also found in the Lexus RC F and GS F. It enables the LC 500 to sprint from zero to 100 km/h in 4.5 seconds. It is mated to a 10-speed torque converter automatic transmission – a first for the luxury car segment, so Lexus proudly claims.

Lexus LC 500h Geneva 2

On the other hand, you have the Lexus LC 500h – the more environmentally compassionate variant of the two which made its debut at the Geneva Motor Show. Unlike the LC 500’s V8, the LC 500h is equipped with the new Lexus Multi Stage Hybrid System. The powertrain consists of a 3.5 litre V6 petrol engine, two electric motors, a 44.6 kW lithium-ion traction battery and a very unique transmission. It is said that the LC 500h will perform the century sprint in under five seconds.

The Lexus Multi Stage Hybrid System mates a CVT transmission with a four-speed torque converter automatic. We’ve detailed the unique transmission combo for you in the past, but briefly, Lexus engineers claim that it was made to eliminate the ‘rubber band’ feel of a CVT unit and better simulate a more direct shifting feel in the LC.

Lexus Malaysia hasn’t revealed any further specifications or what its new LC variants would be priced at. You can certainly count on it not being cheap, though. Stay tuned to paultan.org for more news on the Lexus LC.

GALLERY: Lexus LC 500

GALLERY: Lexus LC 500h

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Aaron on Apr 07, 2016 at 6:40 pm

And Priced At RM15,000,000 a Unit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 07, 2016 at 7:01 pm

Wah…beauuuutiful…

• Proton could only dream of designing such cars…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • car kaki on Apr 07, 2016 at 7:46 pm

Its better to dream than to have nightmares. I think they are having nightmares right now

• Warren Wong Yee Ket on Apr 07, 2016 at 8:06 pm

Meh, not that this car is very pretty anyways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Meh. If i were P1, I wud dream of designing agera R or 1:1. This biscuit can put into my dream trash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • john otak batu on Apr 08, 2016 at 12:11 am

Unfortunately, it’s just a dream. In reality, you get car like Persona with small wheels

• Meh. Even 10 year old persona still looks better than keli vios

• camtakpro on Apr 08, 2016 at 9:09 am

Stop dreaming. Can’t imagine an ugly ass sportcar.

• Kipas angin on Apr 07, 2016 at 7:56 pm

Hodoh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • applegreen on Apr 08, 2016 at 9:01 am

this car is ‘chick-magnet’. Even your face look like a tapir or sloth pretty girls will coming to you

• Semua OK on Apr 07, 2016 at 8:45 pm

Proton quality don’t talk lah. Only quality Proton has is begging billions from the gomen every year. All the money comes from our pocket!!!

• Sammy Loo on Apr 08, 2016 at 12:31 am

definitely a better car compared to S-class coupe, i8, AMG GT S and Jaguar F-type

More reliable car for daily use and better RV

• Hahahaha on Apr 08, 2016 at 10:41 am

Last time u bashed sam loo for using 4 speed transmission but now this article is so articulate? “Very unique transmission” ” cvt with 4 speed torque converter”….

Why? Got sounded by sam loo boss from umw is it?

Report.and review independently lah…dont be dragged around by the manufacturer…

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Apr 08, 2016 at 10:53 am

In this case, the four-speed auto in the LC 500h is indeed unique. More on it here: http://paultan.org/2016/03/08/lexus-lc-500h-why-a-four-speed-autocvt-combo/

• Hahahaha on Apr 08, 2016 at 2:06 pm

Thanks for clarifying. Agree that this is unique 4 speeder just the tone of writing is diffferent. Previous article was a bash while this is like a praise.

Nevertheless still very interested in understanding why 4s not other number or gear. Could u see if there is a chance to get deep into this?

• C.P. MOHAN on Apr 08, 2016 at 11:00 am

For some owning/driving one is not a dream, anyway my understanding is that PROTON was created for the masses/average bloke/family. The problem was average to OTHERS is luxury to PROTON hence the deemed “killer auto-tax structure”.