Maxus G10 MPV launched in Malaysia, from RM136k – new 10-seater with 225 hp/345 Nm 2.0 litre turbo

2016 Maxus G10 1

Weststar Malaysia has officially launched the imported (CBU) Maxus G10 today, a few months after we initially previewed a pre-production unit of the large MPV back in June 2015. Prices (OTR without insurance) start at RM135,825.50 for the Luxury 16″ variant and RM138,742.85 for the Sport 18″ variant.

As reported earlier, the MPV – which made its Chinese market debut last year – will be launched as a passenger vehicle instead of a commercial one. On the mention of passengers, the Maxus G10 is capable of accommodating up to 10, which is just two shy of the 12-seater Hyundai Grand Starex.

From the outside, the Maxus G10 certainly looks like a sizeable vehicle. Breaking out the measuring tape, the MPV measures 5,168 mm long, 1,980 mm wide and 1,928 mm tall, and has a 3,210 mm-long wheelbase.

MaxusG10_Ext_18

Exterior features here include HID Xenon headlamps, LED tail lamps, front/rear fog lamps, chrome accents, 16-inch alloy wheels (with optional 18-inch ones as denoted by the variants) and two sliding rear doors for ingress and egress.

Inside the biege/black interior, you get plush leather seats, dual-zone auto climate control, rear air-conditioning, cruise control, a moon roof and a seven-inch display that is hooked up to a DVD player, six-speaker audio system, keyless entry with push-start and a reverse camera.

Motivation is provided by a 2.0 litre turbocharged GDI engine that outputs 225 hp at 5,500 rpm and 345 Nm at 4,000 rpm. The four-cylinder mill is paired to a six-speed ZF automatic transmission with manual mode.

As for safety kit, the people mover comes standard with two airbags and ABS (with EBD and brake assist). An electronic stability program (ESP), traction control and tyre pressure monitoring system are also here.

According to Weststar, 120 units of the G10 have been pre-ordered. The company’s managing director Tan Sri Syed Azman also said that plans to commence local assembly (CKD) of the G10 will start by September this year (with more kit), with exports to ASEAN countries set to take place by 2017.

The 10-seater MPV is available in three colour options – Champagne Gold, Blanc White and Obsidian Black. Each purchase comes with a three-year warranty with one-year free service. So, if you need a more affordable alternative to the Hyundai Grand Starex, the Maxus G10 could just be the people mover you have been waiting for.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Hardcase on Apr 13, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Made in China engine… No tq for now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 50
    • nabill (Member) on Apr 13, 2016 at 5:53 pm

its not made in china,im pretty sure its been taken from somehwhere….wd love to know the origins of the engine…that zf 6 speed is last gen,bt its rock solid unit…

• Just wait for next gen of Hyundai Starex if u want this size of…….. van?

• Toyota Ex Owner on Apr 14, 2016 at 2:01 pm

You start the engine, it will greet you with “NI HAO”

• George Abdul on Apr 13, 2016 at 6:35 pm

Price wise Recond Estima OR this brand new car?

• RavenAii (Member) on Apr 14, 2016 at 5:48 pm

Probably should buy this one, as the Estima Aeras/Previa wasn’t equipped with a lot of safety bundle compared to this one.

• Unknown on Apr 13, 2016 at 6:40 pm

Wow, you must be a magician! You know the engine longevity before anyone else even own the car

• Nexto on Apr 13, 2016 at 6:40 pm

345nm at 4500rpm? Why so late?
      It needs to be pushed harder to get those torque.

Next!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • MadeinCaina on Apr 13, 2016 at 7:13 pm

Just like your iphone…hewhew

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • your underwear also made in china, so dont wear it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • China-made SUV has taken VW sales crown as top sales in China last year. You be surprised! However, this model is a bit less spacious as compare with Starex. Starting price was RM120k. It doesn’t come with VIP seats as advertised in youtube.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 13, 2016 at 10:20 pm

No teaser, no spyshots, suddenly just launch like that ah? Weststar needs to learn proper marketing techniques from PROTON.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
        • camtakpro on Apr 14, 2016 at 9:34 am

Much better than teasing without selling.

Teasing too long like Proton people will just lost interest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • Because Proton so successful? China buying Proton. GTFO

• Starex rival

• More like a Ecotec derived engine.

• Raja Bocor on Apr 13, 2016 at 8:17 pm

Far better than Campro engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
    • Tong Sampah on Apr 14, 2016 at 9:10 am

you will have china made high speed train to singapore soon…LOL..

• A GDI? A Petrol! …gonna guzzle up fuel for sure, u’ll need a turbo diesel like the starex so that fuel bills wont be too high!

• Fuwaa on Apr 13, 2016 at 6:01 pm

Trading in Toyota Vellfire for this gem!

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Apr 13, 2016 at 6:01 pm

from same country my iphone was made. i support! looks surprising good the design!

• Sonyman1 on Apr 13, 2016 at 6:12 pm

Next time buy a used one. Convert into 7 seater then it be super spacious at the back.

• aqeef on Apr 13, 2016 at 6:18 pm

fwah quite powerful lah the engine

• BeemerFreak on Apr 13, 2016 at 6:25 pm

Wow this car is really making a statement. Great price for such a car.

• Jimmy asmara on Apr 13, 2016 at 6:33 pm

Maxus brand is totally unreliable….

Some maxus ambulance in sarawak needed 40k worth of repairs just in its 4th year of life, and another same age caught fire….

Stay away from this brand or regret

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 16
  • Diesel Power!!! on Apr 13, 2016 at 6:38 pm

Not for me..highly priced!!

• Billy Sohan on Apr 13, 2016 at 6:53 pm

So what’s the ANCAP rating? And the warranty?Inlimited mileage,5 years?

• Reasonable price and very well spec-ed.

• Albert on Apr 13, 2016 at 7:57 pm

Alamak,Maxus or maxis?
    As usual,the bladdy mus after ploughing 1.5 Billion into potong,angkat bola for another bladdy stuck up distributor who boasts the largest helicoptor fleet in bolehland.
    The bastard is bleeding cos oil and gas business is in recession now.So,he is bringing some cheap cina apek mpv.Shambolic .Dont ever buy.Remember,even milk powder,they put banned chemicals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
  • Sabahan on Apr 13, 2016 at 8:11 pm

Is it available through official dealers in Kota Kinabalu?

• boxwagon on Apr 13, 2016 at 9:04 pm

Recommended as uber XL

• anonymous on Apr 13, 2016 at 10:12 pm

Look pretty much a value-for-money vehicles. Can fit 10 persons, turbocharged engine with 225hp and 345Nm of torque, keyless entry and push-start and xenon headlamps, good for big family.

Well, reliability on the other hand… hmmm, can’t judge haha..

• 4g63t dsm on Apr 13, 2016 at 10:29 pm

Launch? But this vehicle has been on display months now. Sitting pretty at NSK

• taboogen on Apr 14, 2016 at 8:03 am

yup that’s why they can say when launching got 200 booking already… all marketing strategy ma

• common sensor on Apr 14, 2016 at 8:19 am

RM136,000 for a China-made vehicle .. NO, THANK YOU.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Danny on Apr 14, 2016 at 8:54 am

Bangbus with white chicks? Not bad….. ;-P~~

• tamau itu macam on Apr 14, 2016 at 8:56 am

I will buy it as long as it is not a Proton….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Jimmy asmara on Apr 14, 2016 at 10:24 am

Google ‘ ambulans sri aman ‘, and see the first image

• Danny on Apr 14, 2016 at 10:56 am

Bangbus with white chicks….. not bad ;-P~~

• I think this car has its merits.
    And China car nowadays has a certain standard.
    I see lots of Great Wall / Haval M4 on the road now. Don’t be surprise 1 day it will sell more then Iriz.

Considering our currency is small, RM135K CBU is reasonable.

• Hafidz on Apr 14, 2016 at 11:29 am

Is KIA Carnival coming to us or not?

• CarmenTung on Apr 14, 2016 at 4:17 pm

Engine not really suited for its class…should come with diesel

• Anak Malaysia on Apr 14, 2016 at 5:02 pm

Brand china ni bukan nak perleceh, tp pengalaman pakai hesstar, haier – Durability out, spare part mmg nightmare . Apa lagi kereta. Murah beli, mahal ownership – pada saya tak berbaloi. Lesson to learn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Sir Zaini on Apr 14, 2016 at 10:15 pm

Have you people watched the movie ‘2012’ ? The world government(s) let the people of China built the Arcs. Guess what, they float… So far in the film, no reliability issues.

• Drive it already, all i can say just book for test drive. To me the ride is comparable to the jaos mpv with less techy such as auto rear door.

• hanep on Apr 14, 2016 at 11:38 pm

Quality china products are coming, if not this one, probably in near future.

• Bernard on Apr 14, 2016 at 11:54 pm

China product? Well er …. No thank you?

• Jane Khor (012 223 8316) on Jun 29, 2016 at 9:46 am

I book 50 cars for my company.
    Cina Boleh!!

• …and two sliding rear doors for ingress and egress.

Lol…obviously. Do they need to explain the function of the car door?

• alpha123 on Mar 24, 2017 at 8:57 pm

Maxus (LDV Maxus) is a was a British brand. The company were sold to the Chinese in 2009.The Maxus is exported to English-speaking countries under the LDV brand.

• f j el on Oct 26, 2017 at 2:23 pm

I believe 99% of spareparts shop owners in my hometown will say dont hv parts for this vec. 1% will say they have(but habis stock, if you know that I mean).