Next Peugeot 508 sedan to be unveiled in 2018 – report

Peugeot 508 GT 17

Fans of increasingly endangered big French sedans will be pleased to know that the Peugeot 508 will live on, with a next-generation model set to arrive on scene in 2018, according to Autocar. However, the D-segment sedan is expected to take on a slightly different form from the staid – if handsome – current model, in a bid to increase buyer appeal.

Peugeot CEO Maxime Picat apparently confirmed the news, despite the British publication reporting that the 508 is struggling in certain markets in Europe – even though it is selling well in some others, such as in France, Spain and Belgium. “The question is not, “will we replace it?”, because we know we should,” Picat said. “Across the average of European sales, it is worth doing and it is profitable.”

When the next 508 does come to market, it’s expected to be completely restyled and reengineered to shift its appeal to a different set of customers and to compete with newer rivals, as the current car’s pool of buyers is starting to shrink. Could we see a four-door coupé instead, in the mould of the Peugeot Exalt concept?

Peugeot_Exalt_Concept_001

Peugeot Exalt Concept

“The question is whether we repeat the same 4.8-metre saloon design or not,” said Picat. “We see the segment the car is in is losing customers and we also see that it isn’t a segment that customers dream of moving up to, so the opportunities for sales are going to decline step by step if we stand still.

“So it might be that we look at changing some of the car’s capabilities in order to compete. We won’t take a big risk, because we don’t have a huge car park of customers we can risk losing, but we can move the lines of where the class is and we can be a little bold. We have a solution which, we think, is a good surprise — but I will not tell you more.”

The case for the 508 has probably been strengthened by the oddly sedan-centric moves seen elsewhere in the PSA Group – Citroën’s luxury offshoot DS revealed the similarly-sized DS 5LS last year, while Citroën itself launched the C6 flagship just recently, both of which are exclusive to the Chinese market.

GALLERY: Peugeot Exalt Concept

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• why all concept need to be like 1 1/2 road wide, fierce, 30″ rims & almost 0 ground clearance.. but when comes to production it just like tin kosong – 10 years back from the concept

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • It’s better than a certain company that continue to tease its late to launch models

• Khunthai on May 11, 2016 at 9:31 am

The current Camry is already way nicer than the next 508.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
      • movingcoffin on May 11, 2016 at 1:14 pm

But a certain company that continue selling moving coffins for years without improvement is much worse

• Albert on May 10, 2016 at 11:04 pm

Mr clever IQ,
      My friend has a company owned peugeot.
      3 yr old car,compressor konk,now fuel pump konk…each month the company car is in the workshop…..worst than poor protong.
      Somemore half baked mechanics from Naza group,u want to try buying one?
      The French are good at making hydrogen bombs.
      Cars ? …omg…on par with proton only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Because in reality fact the cars are not suitable for roads of world. 2 inches ground clearance? Common!

• Didn’t they say the next gen 508 will have autonomous tech?

• Kancil Hybrid on May 10, 2016 at 8:04 pm

Love the 508 GT, especially the SW. Pretty, and very fast on highways. Golf GTI also kena tapau, let alone new Civic Turbo RS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Kenatapau on May 10, 2016 at 9:36 pm

No la…gti and civic turbo faster…can tapau the 508 GT….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • Jobless on May 10, 2016 at 8:37 pm

Me think they shoud concentrate clearing those last last year stoks first

• Lol Peugeot, a poor mans brand in Europe but a luxury brand in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • Sammy Loo on May 10, 2016 at 9:08 pm

still a junk with a death on launch price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • rchoo on May 10, 2016 at 11:24 pm

If it is a junk, then why am I thinking of buying a new 3008 for my wife and possibly buying another 508 (if it resembles the EXALT with substantially more HP and Torque) for upgrade after having bought the current 508 Premium and perfectly satisfied with it. I put my money where my mouth is. Peugeot is one of the most value for money car in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
      • ong chee boon vw con-man on May 11, 2016 at 8:31 am

Cause ppl like u can’t afford to buy the real luxury Jag, Merc, Audi even BWW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
        • At least it is better then the junk T Cam**, and what the problem when u can’t buy the “real luxury” Jag, Merc, Audi? It is known not all can buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • waters on May 11, 2016 at 10:40 am

Because your nose is stuffed. You can’t smell the junk yet.

• Sammy Loo on May 11, 2016 at 11:07 pm

Nobody stopping u from buying those junks, go ahead. There are still many ppl buying junks, else the company will close down.

• Frenchfries on May 10, 2016 at 9:47 pm

Lousy brand plus lousy distributor

• i think it should be a lot of lousy users plus lousy distributors.

• alex chan on May 11, 2016 at 9:02 am

there you go..negative comments from the same person that keep on repeating the sentence while using different nick names..haha we rakyat already knows la…
    why so much hatred?
    a frens car lah..nephew mother in law lah..step father cousin`s car lah..girfriend father`friend that live in far far away land car lah…aiyaa..hahaha

• Bernard on May 11, 2016 at 10:22 am

My suggestion is that the 508 be sold at below RM50k………..otherwise they can forget about launching it here in Bolehland…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • stasta on May 12, 2016 at 1:21 pm

2014 508 is selling for 75k in mudah before nego discount. brand new cost 160k . depreciated by more than half in 2 years.