GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz C300 Coupe vs sedan

Mercedes-Benz-C-300-Coupe-vs-Sedan-14

With the launch of the C205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class Coupe, the local C-Class range is now complete – well, as complete as it can be without wagon and convertible variants. Buyers who are looking for a compact Mercedes but want to stand out against a sea of W205 sedans now have the option to do so, but is the fully-imported two-door worth the significant extra outlay over the locally-assembled four-door?

That’s why we’ve gathered a full gallery of the range-topping C 300 in both coupé and sedan versions, for you to thoroughly compare and decide for yourself. While both are comparable in terms of specifications and equipment, there are a number of differences between the two that warrant a closer look.

So, how much does a whopping RM81,000 premium (RM388,888 for the coupe, versus RM307,888 for the sedan) get you? Against the measuring tape, not much – both models are near identical, sharing the same 4,686 mm length, 1,810 mm width and 2,840 mm wheelbase. Only in terms of height can the two be separated, with the 1,405 mm coupé being some 37 mm lower than the 1,442 mm sedan.

Exterior-wise, both wear LED Intelligent Light System headlights, an AMG Line bodykit and 19-inch AMG multispoke alloy wheels. As such, they’re near-impossible to distinguish dead-on from the front – the eagle-eyed may notice the lower roof, diamond radiator grille with chrome pins (as opposed to the sedan’s simple dual-bar grille) and door-mounted wing mirrors (mounted on the A-pillar on the sedan), but that’s it.

It’s from the side that you start to see what you’re paying for. The coupé possesses a slinkier profile, with a graceful sloping glasshouse, a delicate upwards window line flick, a pert rump and longer doors; the latter now carry frameless windows, a departure from the outgoing C-Class Coupe. Next to its trim sibling, the sedan – one of the sleeker offerings in its class, no less – looks decidedly frumpy, no thanks to a rear windscreen that looks impossibly upright in comparison.

More differences can be found at the rear, where the coupé sports a design that’s similar to that of the S-Class Coupe. The full-LED tail lights are slimmer and broader, and the rear number plate recess has been moved from the bootlid to sit low down in the bumper. Looks are subjective, of course, but we prefer the sedan’s rear end over the coupé’s – the latter just doesn’t have the fuller surfacing of the S Coupe to make that design work, and it looks flat next to the beefier sedan.

Mercedes-Benz-C-300-Coupe-vs-Sedan-18

As on the outside, the interiors of both cars are very similar, sharing the same dashboard design. You can ignore the real carbon fibre centre console trim seen on this particular coupé – that’s only going to be fitted on the first few units, and the rest will get the open pore black ash wood trim also found on the sedan.

The different (front on the sedan) doors necessitate unique door cards on the coupé, with shorter decorative trim (now in a brushed metal finish as opposed to following the centre console trim) as well as leather trim that now runs the full length of the doors. The seats are also different, with the coupé gaining massive buckets compared to the sedan’s more traditional pews. The two-door is also a strict four-seater.

Kit count is fairly identical across both models – both get Keyless-GO and push-button start, adaptive high-beam assist, a three-spoke flat-bottomed steering wheel, the upgraded COMAND Online DVD infotainment system with navigation and an 8.4-inch freestanding display, a 13-speaker Burmester sound system, a hands-free boot release, cruise control and a sliding panoramic sunroof.

Interior of the Mercedes-Benz C 300 sedan (left) and Coupe (right)

Despite the higher price, the coupé omits the Air Balance fragrance package, and while it still gets Thermatic climate control, it drops from three controllable zones to two, although it still retains rear air-con vents. Also retained is the sedan’s safety kit, including Collision Prevention Assist Plus, Attention Assist and Pre-Safe.

Both cars get an M 274 2.0 litre turbo petrol engine, producing 241 hp at 5,500 rpm and 370 Nm at 1,300 to 4,000 rpm. The seven-speed 7G-Tronic Plus automatic transmission is the same as well, but the coupé is hamstrung by being heavier (1,565 kg vs 1,480 kg for the sedan), which makes it both slower to 100 km/h (six seconds flat vs 5.9 seconds) and thirstier at the pumps (6.6 litres per 100 km vs 6.3 litres per 100 km).

Want to know how the Mercedes-Benz C 300 Coupe drives? Do look out for the full review, which will be coming out this weekend. For now, you can check out full specifications and equipment of all coupé and sedan models on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz C 300 Coupe
GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz C 300 sedan

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• heybadigol (Member) on May 19, 2016 at 7:02 pm

The coupe has 2 less doors and is lower, but weighs more than the sedan? And its slower too. I’d take the sedan anytime – and use the money saved for other things. Of course, those who want a bit more style and to be different (let’s admit it, there are so many C Class sedans on the road already), the coupe should be your weapon of choice. Those who have to ferry kids or clients, better get the sedan. Those who want to ferry kids and practicality, should get the wagon. Oh wait, that’s not sold here (only Europeans are lucky enough to get wagons). But there is the GLC for that, though it is a very heavy car, and not as sharp to drive as the C Class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Good coverage Jonathan!

• AutoFrenz (the original) on May 19, 2016 at 8:10 pm

A5 looks waaaaayyyyyy better than this coupe…merz and bmw combined can never beat the beauty of A5….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
    • Thanks, Sgt. Obvious

• Sam loo the doink on May 20, 2016 at 7:31 pm

Stupid pricing. Add 200k and you can get a maserati ghibli first hand (not recond) if I can afford 300k what is the additional 200k to me.

• dodgeviper88 on May 19, 2016 at 7:21 pm

So basically you’re paying an RM81k premium over the sedan just for looks? I would had thought the coupe would at least have better features. Oh well

• i would rather go for mx5 which is almost 50% cheaper and more unique

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
  • For these kind of price, I would rather get the entry level AMG line.

• voDevil on May 19, 2016 at 7:57 pm

B.
    O.
    R.
    I.
    N.
    G… meh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • DPCraft on May 19, 2016 at 9:24 pm

Sedan, the coupe is so overprice.

• Josh Ling on May 19, 2016 at 11:22 pm

agree with you on the rear look. i just don’t understand why MB people just likes to paste s-class coupe’s rear lamps onto every single coupe variant they produce, like C-Class coupe, GLE Coupe, and none looks as good as the “donor”. GLE Coupe is the most cumbersome looking of them all.

and i bet the new E-Class coupe will share the same rear lamp design again……

• If you can afford a RM300K+ car. You are in a different league. Individual preference is the point here. Both are good machine.

• C coupe looks good, and like a mini S coupe.

• Good article to put things in perspective.
    So basically 81k is just the price for you to look apart from the crowd.

Oh Jonathon, is here a moving louver (airpanel) version for the coupe?

• the lines are much more ‘normal’ than the ugly/cute/out of proportion sloping lines of cla

• matjava on May 20, 2016 at 11:12 am

Masa muda alwasy comment mercedes is uncle car BUT I don’t know why I’m now driving a merc.

• jeffwhlim (Member) on May 20, 2016 at 11:40 am

Please bring in the C class wagon… C250 Wagon.