2016 Lego Technic Porsche 911 GT3 RS kit instant hit worldwide – 2,704 pieces, 600-page manual

Lego Technic Porsche 911 GT3 RS - 1
If you’re a fan of Lego, especially the engineering that goes into its Technic series, you’re going to love the Porsche 911 GT3 RS kit that was recently released. Coming in five boxes and a 25 mm thick, 578-page instruction manual, the Lego Technic Porsche 911 GT3 RS is for the child in all of us.

That the kit’s build manual is not not far off the size of “War and peace” comes as no surprise, as the 2,704 parts combine into a working model of the flat-six engine, PDK gearbox, and functional steering. The build takes 856 steps, and according to Brickset, takes approximately six hours to complete.

Recommended for ages 16 and above, the reason why becomes apparent when you watch the video of the unboxing and speed-build of Technic kit #42056. While a Lego Technic set is typically not dimensionally accurate, it does duplicate the function of major components. For the Porsche 911 GT3 RS kit, this includes the PDK paddle shifters, and the gear movement of the PDK gearbox.

Coming in a lurid shade of orange, with the brakes in the correct shade of yellow, the kit also includes a sticker sheet that lets the builder put the correct Porsche graphics on the car, and even two stickers for the kit car’s GPS display – one with the unit shut-down and showing the Porsche logo, the other a representation of Porsche’s Weissach test track.

As expected, the price of the Technic Porsche GT3 isn’t cheap. Listed on the Lego website at USD 299.99 (RM1,225), this might not be the kind of ‘toy’ you give to your six-year old niece or nephew. Stock is currently unavailable, based on the Lego website listing, and orders are being taken for customer delivery in 30 days. Orders are limited to two per customer.

GALLERY: Porsche 911 GT3 RS

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 06, 2016 at 2:33 pm

Malaysian Government must sue LEGo cause they don’t have our Proton cars in their Technic Series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 18
    • nabill (Member) on Jun 06, 2016 at 2:38 pm

Dude, if u have nothing to say, u dont hv to mention proton into every damn topic… Not saying anything stimes is alot smarter than talking balls…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 33
      • Just goes to show that bashers arent that smart as they claim to be. ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
        • shark on Jun 07, 2016 at 3:33 am

I suggest just send him to bora bora island to get permabanned

• legofans on Jun 06, 2016 at 3:41 pm

Being a lego fans i’d collected many lego set including the F40 and the batman tumbler.

but this set is just too ugly to own one, it seems like the GT3 RS just got hit by the tree and overturned few times.

• Too many gaps and unevenness. It looks like a transformers frozen in mid-transformation. Very weird.

• seancorr (Member) on Jun 06, 2016 at 4:14 pm

I have a few Technic sets at home in my showcase and I must applaud the team who designs the sets as each set big or small can be very techical. Now if only I had a bigger room to store these.

• kindergarten on Jun 07, 2016 at 3:35 am

Clearly you are stll a kid, duh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • Lego and others complicated assemble type ‘toys, friend. Even adult have difficult time to complete it. It is called hobby.

• Vince on Jun 09, 2016 at 12:38 am

its called hobby, try find one better hobby rather than being a keyboard warrior

• Lego_Fan on Jun 06, 2016 at 4:17 pm

Well, it really looks like a GTR RS just met a major accident and over-turned a few round.

I won’t made a purchase even though I’m a lego fan

• Porsche guy on Jun 06, 2016 at 6:05 pm

Finally I’ve bought a Porsche. A lego Porsche. Hahaha

• Kenzo on Jun 06, 2016 at 6:18 pm

I could see that this may be an enjoyable set to build, but from what I’ve seen online, there isn’t a lot of function for this model. Even the suspensions are the simplest, I’d say the 24 Lemans has better suspension and costs 1/4 of the price. And the gears would click when the car rolls, instead of a smooth rolling gears, which kind of gives a cheap feeling to the toy.

Overall, it’ll be a great display set and a very special set to collect, but if it’s value for money and functions you’re after, you may have to look at other sets.

• Faiza on Aug 19, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Since the news of Porsche, I went to all the lego shops in KL, namely KLCC, Garden, BSC, etc..every week. I asked them can I order or when would the stocks arrive.. the answers were standard, “tak tahu”, “cannot order”, “not Sure when”, “mukim kita tak dapat”…. mid July, my hubby saw that “BIG BOX” in AmCorp mall weekend flea market. perhaps, the stock that never arrived to LEGO shops, might have gone out back doors… we bought it 2 sets, one for building and another for keeping it untouched. thanks LEGO, you faithful customer cannot buy from your official shop! has to buy it from flea market or e-bay!! of course with few hundred extra….