VIDEO: New E3 trailer for Gran Turismo Sport on PS4

If you’re a fan of the Gran Turismo video game franchise and you’ve been following the trailer videos for the PlayStation platform racing simulator, you’ll have noticed the latest gameplay trailer for the upcoming Gran Turismo Sport for the PlayStation 4, bound for the Electronic Entertainment Expo (E3), has adopted a new game intro music.

This one should spark a trip down (random access) memory lane, with a musical return to Masahiro Andoh’s orchestral Moon Over The Castle soundtrack which has been used on the Japanese release of each iteration of Gran Turismo.

GT Sport is the latest title in Polyphony Digital’s Gran Turismo franchise, and the first of which to debut on the PlayStation 4 platform. Touted as the figurative “rebirth” of motorsports, Gran Turismo Sport includes FIA-sanctioned championships where virtual racers stand to win real, physical prizes.

Like the trailers that came before it, this one shows what to expect from Polyphony Digital’s upcoming racing simulator, with improved graphics, sound and physics engines coming together for what should be the most realistic driving simulator to date.

In total, there will be 140 cars – that’s a big drop from the 1,000+ vehicle lineups that we’ve seen in GT5 and GT6, but unlike previous titles which included PS2-era car models, every single car in GT Sport will be rebuilt from the ground up with full interior views to take advantage of the PS4’s additional processing muscle. The same is true for the 19 tracks (with 27 layouts) that will be included as well.

There will also be a much-awaited livery editor (finally bringing the game to the Forza Motorsport series in this regard), as well as a new Scapes feature that takes virtual photo-taking to the next level with over 1,000 locations to place your car and shoot. The eagle-eyed among you will notice that the images on both videos above look really familiar – yes, the rooftop of the car park along Jalan Binjai, overlooking the Petronas Twin Towers, will be included as a Scapes location!

The racing simulator’s release date is set for November 15, 2016.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Well I guess I finally have a reason to buy the PS4

• abg gagah on Jun 13, 2016 at 1:26 pm

ooo cant wait

• I like how they put Malaysia in the the thumbnail of the first video

• Perrrrrghdana Blanket on Jun 13, 2016 at 3:41 pm

Poor Proton, tak laku even in PlayStation Gran Turismo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Hmm... Much Hmm... on Jun 14, 2016 at 8:40 am

I don’t understand why they never seem to port it to PC. The graphics and AI would be far better than on a PS.