Mobile phone use is a main cause of accidents – Liow

it-can-wait

Using mobile phones while driving and riding has been identified as the main cause of road accidents in the country, according to Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai.

Liow said his ministry would ask the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) to conduct a study to show that it was a serious matter that needed to be given attention by road users, Bernama reports.

“Actually the phone has changed our lives tremendously with the creation of various applications such as WhatsApp and multimedia messages. It has also changed the question of road safety and can become very dangerous when we use it to surf the websites, take pictures or find locations while driving a car or riding a motorcycle,” he told reporters after launching the 18th Yamaha Balik Kampung Road Safety campaign.

Liow said the campaign’s ‘Focus on the road not on the hand’ theme was timely, as a study conducted by MIROS revealed that 80% of accidents were caused by human negligence, including the use of mobile phones while driving.

He added that the ministry, via relevant agencies, will set up a working committee at the district level to ensure all road safety campaigns would be implement effectively right down to the grassroots. Also on the cards is a cooperation with the Education Ministry to raise awareness on road safety regulations among students.

We give in to the temptation sometimes, but here’s a potent reminder to not reach for the phone. It can wait.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• azrai on Jun 27, 2016 at 10:41 am

Where’s the story on minor accident cause death to a woman in Kota Damansara due to her Honda City’s airbag?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • You have attention deficit disorder ka? Stay on topic la

• Same L00 on Jun 27, 2016 at 3:16 pm

1. Car already poorly maintained
        2. Car is unstable by lousy design
        3. Drivers keep on whatsapp-ing sayang
        4. Drivers day dreaming he is driving Lotus
        5. Drivers so worry others didn’t hear his noisy exhaust pipe
        6. Drivers naively believe his car is safe as promoted in advertisement.

These are the reasons why so many Proton cucuk longkang one the road everyday.

• azrai on Jun 28, 2016 at 3:30 pm

It is a matter of life and death. That’s why I highlighted it at the first place.

• Unless, you have a mount to hold the phone for GPS usage only. It should be illegal for you to even hold your phone while you are driving on the roads.

• yahya on Jun 27, 2016 at 11:11 am

Matter is being investigated so unable to discuss due to sub judice nature.
    Standing order 23.
    Same like queries in Parliament over the
    2.6b Bercukurlah !!

• Drivers these days are in extreme arrogant, hogging the mid lane just to look at their phones while sway to left lane and to third lane, vice versa.

When you honk them, they will brake test to test your utmost patience and continue looking at the phone.

I had the worst experience at SPRINT highway once, heading to Damansara, a driver got so glued to the phone on the fast lane, where he slows down to a stopping point and put up hazard light just to continue reading what he is on.

Technology is not dangerous, it is the way we use is

• Chekarooz on Jun 27, 2016 at 11:43 am

Looking forwards to read the comments because on this issue everybody is at fault. Thats include me!

• No worries. Pipu will still find reason to ini semua salah Gov & education system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Yeah i have seen too many drivers holding their smartphone while driving or when we go slow during heavy traffic. I understand the need to use phone while enduring the bad traffic but guys only do that when you fully stop at traffic light or something la. And many case its women….can tell already why the car so slow or press pedal like tak sahur/makan….no offence but this is based on my observation driving every day.

• nabill (Member) on Jun 27, 2016 at 1:27 pm

Please dont comment here while driving!

• I ride to work on weekdays and drive on weekends. It’s too dangerous to ride weekends because too many drivers swerving in the middle of the road to browse fb. Apparently checking your stupid timeline is worth more than peoples lives. If GPS, I understand. If whatsapp and fb while driving, I hope you all drive into a huge longkang and tweet/post/snapchat/selfie your accident.

• rider on Jun 27, 2016 at 2:50 pm

exactly bro. i ride to work too & encountered many drivers doing this.

• Redidiot on Jun 27, 2016 at 1:39 pm

Let natural selection take its course. Those dumb enough to use their phones while driving should be allowed crash and die, along with their ( not so) loved ones ( coz if they were loved, idiot drivers wont be idiots in the first place). Let them crash and die, fast.

• But they will usually take innocent lives with them. Selfish people. So much worse I’d they have passengers coz it shows they have zero concerns even for their loves ones.

• Redidiot on Jun 27, 2016 at 1:50 pm

That video shud be more graphic like showing how the guy got crushed in his seat and brain matter bursting out of that idiot mom’s nose and ears. That’ll drive the message to some of these idiot drivers.

• Or even road dividers turning everybody in the car into satay when the car plunges into barriers.

• Mat Janggut on Jun 27, 2016 at 7:28 pm

hello,Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai,

Is this even news??????
    Even my 10 years old kid can even tell it is dangerous…