VIDEO: Don’t even look at your phone when driving

We know not to place phone on ear when driving, because a RM300 fine is just a hiding cop away. Texting while driving isn’t the easiest of tasks to pull off with touch screens (or is it just me?), and it’s obviously very dangerous, so we don’t do that either. But how about reading group chat updates, or glancing at Instagram and Facebook posts?

American telecommunications company AT&T has come up with a campaign called It Can Wait. No, it’s not about abstinence, but getting motorists to pledge to keep their eyes on the road, and not on the phone. They’ve even developed an app, AT&T DriveMode, which silences message alerts and auto-replies when driving to let friends and family know you can’t respond.

it-can-wait

Over seven million have pledged to not text and drive, and that can only be a good thing. But as the video above shows, something a lot less attention-sapping as texting can potentially lead to disaster. It’s a realistic slice of life that’s highly relevant in Malaysia as well – cute Instagram post, whether to tapau or eat out; we’re always being “asked” to respond in a jiffy.

Whatever it is, it can wait. Won’t be easy, just like with every other addiction, but we need to drill that line in and keep the phone out of sight. Stay safe on the roads, folks.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 27, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Yea, riding in the Iriz, think you are safe and keep whatsapp-ing on the road? Thank you to live demo how safe the Proton is voluntarily.

ASEANCAP only test the crash at 60km/h, you think your tiny car is safe? Think again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 60
    • Obviously (Member) on Jul 27, 2015 at 12:47 pm

WTH….I don’t even…

You don’t have to pull Proton out of your butt every time there’s a post, you know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
    • vivavi on Jul 27, 2015 at 12:56 pm

so kesian la u sam lor. hopefully nothing bad happen to u when driving ur 9 year loan godcar vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Sure as hell a lot safer than a VSC-less, 2 airbags Toyota with the unbeatable GOA body!

• Yaa…i think ur Vios very save fuel bcos the owner no longer go to petrol station add fuel.

• Not Same L0rrr on Jul 27, 2015 at 2:04 pm

This fella shd be banned forever.
      I’m not Proton fan but really hate his post.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Safer definitely. Iriz has steering mounted bluetooth phone call/uncall button. Handsfree connectivity, baby!

• feminist on Jul 27, 2015 at 1:26 pm

why does it have to be a woman driver and her FB post?
    at least nothing happened to the innocent kid on the bike. i was so worried for him.

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 27, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Good driving. Being aware of the other cars around you is quite important. Something that cannot be readily achieved when looking at your phone.

• Dr Dogter Heart-beat on Jul 27, 2015 at 3:55 pm

U should not talk or think so much while behind the wheel. not only hp.

• leo galante on Jul 27, 2015 at 10:54 pm

Just use the car Bluetooth phone on the stering wheel(you have to sync with your mobile phone), where you just press the call and hang up button on the steering wheel and the contact list will display on your lcd…this way is easier

If not, you can always use voice command on your phone..

• It is not about hands free or not, it is about giving your full concentration while driving.