Malaysian police: no holding handphones in traffic

it-can-wait

Motorists are reminded that using a handphone while driving is against the law, and police will be clamping down hard on errant drivers. This message was put across by Federal traffic investigation and enforcement department director SAC Datuk Mahamad Akhir Darus, The Sun reports.

“Motorists caught holding a mobile phone while driving will be issued a summons. Unlike criminal cases where the onus is on us to prove one’s guilt, this is a compound summons and it is up to the offenders to prove otherwise if they wish to dispute their case,” said Mahamad. He said that using a handphone while behind the wheel is a distraction, and only a split-second distraction is enough to cause a crash.

Mahamad said this includes holding the handphone while waiting at traffic lights or in traffic jams. “There is no reason for a motorist to be holding a mobile phone when his or her hands should be on the wheel focusing on the driving. When the car is in motion, a driver should be looking through his windscreen and not his smartphone screen,” he said.

Transport minister Datuk Sri Liow Tiong Lai had earlier said that the leading cause of accidents on Malaysian is from motorists using their handphones while driving. Liow said his ministry would ask the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) to conduct a study to show that it was a serious matter that needed to be given attention by road users.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Francis Keng on Jun 28, 2016 at 9:44 am

Don’t just blardy say it, enforce for god’s sake. Majority of those using phone during driving is texting, it’s even more worse than talking on the phone which is already bad enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • Dr Vida on Jun 28, 2016 at 1:00 pm

You can’t text but you can apply my beauty products on your face while driving. I can assure you won’t get cancer because I have a PhD in Biology from Charles Molnar University. Millions of Malaysians idolise me, how can I ever tell a lie?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
      • Mathews George on Jun 28, 2016 at 2:44 pm

You are an idiot with Permanent Head Damage. Thus , a PhD.

• When i apply your beauty product on my bird, it became gatal. It means your product is fail

• Not bashers have no bolas cuz hijack other pipu nick to post rubbish, kah?

• En ayam on Jun 28, 2016 at 2:16 pm

Not just texting, I’ve seen people reading the news, holding the phone on top of the steering wheel. And reading newspaper as well! And those amoi who just cannot live without their Facebook.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Briexit on Jun 28, 2016 at 9:45 am

Summons Free duit raya….. While the car in not moving in traffic jam pun kena summon this is too much & mengarut !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 30
    • Kaubodoh on Jun 28, 2016 at 2:32 pm

Orang sial mcm u la yang cause jam kat traffic light. Lampu dah hijau tengah fikir apa nak post kat fb. Bodoh cam sial

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
  • Holofanboi on Jun 28, 2016 at 9:47 am

Excellent!

Get the dumdums who keeps forgetting to go forward because dat facebook notification is too ‘important’!

• hold pisang goreng boleh?

• applegreen on Jun 28, 2016 at 9:53 am

Datuk, i dont know what type of car u are driving but my car not in motion when waiting at traffic lights

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
  • hailthepurist on Jun 28, 2016 at 9:54 am

tell the twitter king too..

• Jalan-jalan cari makan.

• Mohd Faiz on Jun 28, 2016 at 10:04 am

the govt should take a proactive approach to require drivers as well as passengers to turn off their phones in the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
  • noname on Jun 28, 2016 at 10:08 am

Guilty until proved innocent? How to prove that? Install a driver facing camcorder in the cabin?
    Not that I agree with those who holding the phone while driving, but I’m seeing this as an excuse for more donation opportunity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • YES, Exactly! Guilty until proven innocent, just like 2.6B… oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • anonym on Jun 28, 2016 at 10:20 am

hahahahhaa. U pegang hp ka tadi aku nampak. Takde TUAN, I pegang bird bird aja TUAN. OK jalan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • paparadzi (Member) on Jun 28, 2016 at 10:23 am

Should make Bluetooth connection as a required standard item in all new vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Our bodoh PDRM sendiri tak pakai seat belt. See any patrol car, not even one polis oficer wear seat belt. Then polis also whatsapp while they driving.

Sendiri bikin macam mana? Oh Wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
      • Its in their SOP not to wear seatbelts so that they can quickly respond to emergencies. Bodo tu simpan sidikit la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 33
        • Neo4g63t on Jun 28, 2016 at 2:25 pm

Show us the SOP. haven’t heard any of the country which enforce SOP which can endanger life of their police officer. U r rite, bodo tu simpan sidikit la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 21
          • So you are saying when there is an emergency, the policeman enters his car, buckle up first then only start his car.

In that valuable 3 seconds, the criminals already got away.

• Use ur FOI to mintak from polis lah! Oh wait, kena apply dulu, then pay non refundable deposit, then need to sign NDA, then need to sign SD that cannot use it for public, then… oh wai

• Goldie on Jun 28, 2016 at 7:29 pm

Correct! Just watch any US cop series. Detectives , secret agents all wear seat belts when in motion. Cops’ lives matter.

• mengsk on Jun 29, 2016 at 6:40 pm

wooo~ burn~ burn~ ahahahah~

• Nearly died today on my motorcycle when a lady made a sudden stop at an empty junction. Swerved around to find her holding her phone up to take a selfie. To many people, the stupid selfie or text is more important than the life of someones child, someone’s dad. Selfish Malaysian drivers

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 3
    • someguy on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:14 am

Same, had a sedan car veering so close, without signals to my left lane when he’s on the next lane. Only when honk and get in front did i see some guy in suit talking on phone. one hand phone one hand steering. Gila. @ subang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Ridwan on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:44 am

Glad u ok bro Lee.

What is her car plate no. ??

• I didn’t get it. I’m going to get a helmet cam so I can start recording these people

• Mangali Singh on Jun 28, 2016 at 3:26 pm

the govt should take a proactive approach to require drivers as well as passengers to turn off their phones in the car.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jun 28, 2016 at 4:28 pm

So many people like it when u nearly died. Huhuhu

• BOYRACER on Jun 28, 2016 at 5:48 pm

Same with me.Many times i was riding or driving especially when I’m riding these drivers driving erratically weaving left right.slowed down and see these people texting.imagine you’re overtaking and they knock you down just because of texting or talking in the phone.for me texting is the worst.
      Now is it necessary to be reminded not to hold hand phone or wearing helmet.Only when the government apply laws and regulations and summons only then people stop doing it.
      Safety is always paramount no matter what.Someone said that speed limit exist for people without common sense.same goes here.
      Just my 2 cents

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 28, 2016 at 10:24 am

Akhir Darus can talk all he wants but as with any other law in Malaysia, there will be no enforcement. 2 or 3 days the polis will syiok sendiri and enfore it, after that, sure lupa.

Then, it will become a duit kopi issue. Just like JPJ and PDRM, any offender will be settled via duit kopi. In Malaysia, this is how it works. 90% of all saman is settled vi the duit kopi way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • Nak ini semua salah Gov, mana bukti wei? Janganlah jadi macam orang tua pelupa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jun 28, 2016 at 10:27 am

Agree, but please also make sure your police macais dont get caught by the rakyat doing the same thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Right move. When I was in Sydney, I was fined with AUD 300 just because of holding a phone when stopping at a traffic light. sigh

• someguy on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:18 am

Jokes on them..phone holder with arm, i dont even have to hold it to check my emails or messages.

But to be fair we should only do so when car stationary. seen too many near-miss due to people juggling smartphone and driving.

• love peace on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:20 am

use handphone while driving,smoking while driving,motorcyclist slot handphone to hear on phone while on the moving traffic. all these are very common today. i hope all road user can remove all these back habits.

• Careful Driver on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:34 am

How about rejecting calls? Should i be fine? I trying to be good not to answer calls but i still need to reach my mobile to reject the calls right. So what should i do? Answer cannot, reject also cannot…

• Driver trainer on Jun 29, 2016 at 8:27 am

Turn off your phone when the engine is on so that you dont have to reject the call

• an ang on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:37 am

en. polis, sila pantau juga kat persimpangan lampu isyarat. Terlalu byk yg langgar lampu merah dan berhenti dalam petak kuning.

• Ben Yap on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:40 am

i noticed all policeman in a police patrol cars don’t wear seat belts.

are they exempted from wearing seat belts?

• Its in their SOP not to wear seatbelts so that they can quickly respond to emergencies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • Goldie on Jun 28, 2016 at 7:33 pm

And risk their lives? US , UK, Aussie cops all buckle up while on duty. Do they end up catching fewer bad guys than our PDRM?

• thepolygonal on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:49 am

We should take picture of people using handphone while driving using our handphone while driving.

• rider on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:52 am

please enforce it strictly. Too many jokers in the road using phone while driving. Specially lady drivers taking selfie, sending messages. The best part is they do not realise that this wrong and felt completely ok to use phone while driving.

• My4d4u on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:56 am

They forgot to mention all the current road hogging on the highways, main reason being it’s safer to drive in the fast lane while using smartphone…
    Hope they are summoned as well…

• Macaiiii on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:56 am

may be out of topic, i saw many police car, never use signal also when turning………

• FlamingFox on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:00 pm

What if I’m caught charging my phone? Just for a split second? Because I was still holding my phone for awhile.

• please dont giv an excuses,you can charges your phone before you drive…like wearing seat belt ,check side mirror, rear mirror all that and put signals only drive out the road right? need someone cook for you and feed you too?

• Jon Snow on Jun 28, 2016 at 12:22 pm

Irony of reading this article at a traffic stop…

• should enforce no smoking, no eating , no drinking , no sleeping also

• “it is up to the offenders to prove otherwise if they wish to dispute their case”. This means that they can summon anyone, should their pocket feel a bit empty that day right?

Highway speed limits for buses & lorries are 80 km/h right? How often do you see them abiding that speed limit? Not that often. Aren’t they dangerous? This is easier to spot, than try to peek into someone’s car, checking whether they have a phone in their hand.

But, still, very little has been done.

• Dr. Idros Abd Hamid on Jun 28, 2016 at 2:02 pm

Does the law say you cannot use your mobile phone when your car is in motion? So how is it that we are breaking the law using the phone at the traffic lights when you are not moving? I mean let’s be clear about the law!

• Engku Fathi on Jun 28, 2016 at 2:18 pm

So now we have every reason to get a smart watch connected to our cell fones where we can read text messages & Whatsapp just by looking at the watch & replying texts via voice while driving…….the Pebble watch can do this……unless now its also an offence to look at your watch whilst driving……

• Chester on Jun 28, 2016 at 2:25 pm

We can invest phone holder business now!

• zamim on Jun 28, 2016 at 2:40 pm

What about
    1. holding hands
    2. eating food
    3. drinking
    4. smoking
    5. giving hand signals when turn-indicator is inoperative
    6. using make-ups

• tempanyaki on Jun 28, 2016 at 3:51 pm

What about those who put their toddler on their lap facing the steering wheel while driving? I’ve seen many.

• Rakib on Jun 28, 2016 at 4:12 pm

It will be better if police catch all those person who use headphone while driving.

• Do what during jam wor? We so syok got escort meh? Count hair ar?

• How about checking waze?? Changing destinations??

• lickylilly on Jun 28, 2016 at 6:11 pm

i will hold my dildo and let the police officer stop me and u will know the rest of the story..mmmmmm

• From Klang Valley on Jun 28, 2016 at 9:48 pm

Police let me go as I explained I not familiar with the Penang road. He do warning me and advise me to buy a handphone holder. I admit I am wrong as the handphone do distract attention if there is other notification.

Not all police is asking raya duit and please be fair to them.

• Adeline on Jun 28, 2016 at 10:26 pm

Just look around while you’re on the road. Almost every damn cars have got some dents at the back. What does that tell you? Action speaks louder than words. The reason why there are so many of them is because there’s no enforcement.

• Bernard on Jun 28, 2016 at 11:10 pm

Msians will be msians. This will not change anything because who is going to catch them…..?

• Petrus Lee on Jun 29, 2016 at 10:42 am

Enforcement by the authorities is lacking, as they also cannot be everywhere where these drivers are committing the breach.
    But it would be great if the public can take pictures of these offending drivers and their car plate numbers, and post on JPJ Facebook page or somewhere public for the authorities to take action.
    Is this at all possible or even permitted?

• Hammer on Jun 29, 2016 at 8:13 pm

There’s this app called WAZE which requires us to look at the screen from time to time to GET to our destination…..dumbass police.

• These authorities just know how to talk only! in reality, they done nothing in campaigning or educating the public (via mainstream media or social network) on the dangers or texting or using mobiles while driving.