Toyota has announced a worldwide recall for over 2.98 million Toyota and Lexus cars involving an issue with the fuel tank. Models affected include the Corolla, Auris, Prius, SAI, Rukus, CT200h, HS250h models manufactured between 2006-2015.
The issue is with the fuel tank’s charcoal canister. The canister is used to prevent emissions from the fuel tank from being released into the air. There is a possibility that the canister could develop a crack due to an improper shape of the channel edge at that location.
When this happens, it has the potential to expand and cause a fuel leak when the car has a full tank of fuel. Fuel or fuel vapour in the presence of an ignition source could increase the risk of a vehicle fire.
The recall involves removing the assembly from the vehicle, replacing the related sub-assembly and then refitting it to the vehicle.
UMW Toyota Motor has confirmed that there are cars in Malaysia affected by this recall. Please click here to read more about how the recall affects Malaysian cars.
This recall is separate from the curtain airbag recall that we published earlier today.
that’s mean we have take leave to go to toyota la? toyota should open on saturday for this purpose..
Din someone says with toyota u no need take leave to go workshop unlike other brands? mana itu orang?
Responsible car maker like Toyota will take whatever it need to ensure customer safety. We have zero tolerance on our car quality. Your Proton no recall so you think it is better? Go ahead with your day dream.
P1 recall saga, u hide in cave.
P1 recall exora, u hide in cave.
P1 recall inspira, u hide in cave.
After recall, u crawl out from cave.
Like this u winliaolor!
yea whatever it needs, so please open on Saturday and give a free service checking our car too because that little defect may causes other small defects and you don’t want your customers’ lives in danger right? i’ll wait for your statement to come out and ready my car to be the first few for inspection and part exchange! not forget to mention last time i went to service my car it had taken me 4 hours like wtf, i had been told it only takes 1 hour so i was waiting there ended up 4 hours. please speed up, you know time is money right? don’t forget free meal because I have to cancel my Saturday’s date just because of toyota. Toyota, All About The Drive, service too please.
Responsible seriously?? Sudden Unintended Acceleration, Toyota/Lexus going airborne all over..
Are you serious?? Toyota and Lexus are known for sudden unintended acceleration and has taken no responsibility except covering up defect in its cars.
To the person that believes Toyota is a responsible car manufacturer, you are WRONG ,WRONG,WRONG !! Toyota has so many recalls for safety issues,even life threatening ones,such as the acceleration defect on some of its models,and knew of these issues but chose to cover it up with a floor mat ! Toyota cares about money, not people. Oh,by the way, did I mention that you are WRONG ?!!!
Sudah hide in cave, peeing in pants, lol
Only Proton supporters do that
‘Fuel or fuel vapour in the presence of an ignition source could increase the risk of a vehicle fire.’ You better do it quick if you own one of the vehicles involved. The word ‘fire’ along in that statement is scary enough.
The boring politician not here to shout yet?
Hmm…toyota still the best. No matter how many defect it have….
Yes, no matter how many lives it takes due to killing airbags
lives belum take yet.. so far honda city takes lives now from what i see.
Waiting for Sam l0rr’s comment
Toyota will tell u come on week day. Saturday only for normal service. Continue, no stock…wait lah…….not sure when the part arrive…..ok u can continue drive, tak mati punya.
This clearly show that lexus is a toyota. They share the same damn parts and yet are price so differently.
What are we paying for lexus? Solely a brand logo?
Sam Loo says u pay for RV
You got Lexus ah? Why so concern?
No. I drive proton launched by dsz with jepunis engine.
many differences, some common parts, some totally reengineered for lexus. go google lexus master craftmanship. Also, many other manufacturers share parts too.. ie: Audi and VW.. so its not bad thing in fact it may bring the cost down for the luxury car as well. =)
I agree on sharing parts. But audi price is far more affordable than lexus even both are cbu. CBU japan vs CBU german. Price so different?
If the news is about toyota or honda recall, iam amazed with the amount of silence in comment part. If it is the proton news on recall we have a winner. Now…all the toyota fans…keep on praising your invincible car especially vios. nothing to comment here. Pass…just read and shut up. Krik…krik..krik…just wait for the proton recall news then you can comment. Keep on surfing dude.
They r embarrassed to persoal their jepunis overlords
Do proton announce to everyone should they have defective parts? You go to their SC to ask why some parts are broken, they’ll answer “biasala tu bang @ memang macam tu bang”.
At least toyota & honda admit their mistakes. I don’t think proton ever admit their issue with power windows.
Paul Tan,does Honda CRZ has some defect on this?
Toyota Malaysia only stated Prius for the evaporative fuel emission control. No mention on Corolla and other model. So, which statement is true? From PaulTan or Toyota Malaysia?
https://toyota.com.my/more/press-release/special-service-campaigns-for-toyota-prius
Our model is Corolla Altis.
So Corolla Altis is not involved in the recall?
when the statement will be out?
The local recall has been issued.
http://paultan.org/2016/06/30/umw-toyota-issues-two-separate-recalls-for-toyota-prius-lexus-ct200h-around-9000-vehicles-involved/
Hi all
I just called Lexus Mutiara Damansara 10 mins ago. Booked for service in Mid-July (two weeks away). HOWEVER, when I asked about curtain airbag faulty replacement and canister replacement, the service advisor just said “Parts No available yet” AND “Doesn’t know when”
So what is the point putting this recall news all over there is no parts!!! Just to pass on the liability is it?
Is the Vapor canister on my 2009 Corolla LE a warranty item. Bought car new in 2009.