VIDEO: Getting closer to B10 biodiesel mandate – MAI

The implementation of the sale of B10 biodiesel (diesel fuel blended with palm oil in a 90:10 ratio) in the country has raised much controversy over its suitability for use in modern diesel engines, specifically those designed to run on low sulphur content diesel like Euro 5.

The sale of B10 diesel was supposed to have begun in June, but this was then delayed until further notice. At a Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) briefing last week, MAA president Datuk Aishah Ahmad said that no date has yet been set as to when the programme will officially be implemented, because the government was listening to all stakeholders.

Nonetheless, despite the delay, the plan to introduce B10 is now heading towards a resolution, according to Malaysia Automotive Institute CEO Madani Sahari. In a video interview with Bloomberg TV Malaysia, he said that ongoing discussions with stakeholders should hopefully resolve the issue.

In June, the MAA sent a letter to the Ministry of Trade and Industry (MITI), claiming the usage of biodiesel in grades higher than B7 may result in fatty-acid methyl ester (FAME) mixing with the motor oil, causing the oil to thin and possibly leading to sludging in the engine. It stated that the majority of its members were advised by their principals that engine warranties would not be honoured on vehicles that ran a biodiesel blend of more than B7, a point that was again made at last week’s briefing.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• john is otak batu on Jul 25, 2016 at 3:10 pm

MAA! Pls scrap your dying plan! Waste of time only, btw Rakyat already thinking ahead not to benefit cronies! Keep those diesel back at your plantations!

• Operation Manager on Jul 25, 2016 at 3:57 pm

mai tido cukup cukup, sudah close ni …

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 25, 2016 at 4:16 pm

Madani, before you talk about B10 biodiesel, 98% of all diesel vehicles in Malaysia are the lorries and busses They emit thick black smoke. They clog up our lungs.

All these lorry companies and bus companies are pariah and they all used Euro2M Diesel and not Euro 5. Their vehicles emit toxic poisons.

In EU, Euro 2M diesel is considered so lethal, it is as good as taking Mosanto Roundup and drinking it.

MAI, sort out this diesel issue first. Make sure commercial vehicles use clean diesel by upgrading their vehicles. Give us clean air Madani.

No point talk rubbish here about B10 when 98% of current diesel vehicles emit poisons to all of us.

Btw Madani, already 8 years have passed and you have not addressed 2 important things

1) AP System. 30 AP PEKEMA members getting billions each per year at the expense of 30 million people suffering with high car prices. Also, 99% of AP holders clock down in their odometer very high mileage cars that are so critical and worn out. Most AP holders bring down cars that have clocked 200k to 300k KM already but the AP cowboys clock down to 10,000KM before selling the car. MAI knows abut this cheating but choose to keep quiet.

2) Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%. Every year MAI will come out with all sorts of seminars and all that but most important things, MAI like semut. Ask your boss Najib to honour his promise to reduce car prices by 30% first before you talk about biodiesel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • Sudah lah MAI, stop dragging major car manufacturers into your mess! Y don’t just keep this exclusively ONLY 4 POTONG!.. anyway both can go down the drain togather 4 good

• Autofrenz is a parasite of M'sian on Jul 25, 2016 at 3:23 pm

This MAI is the lousiest institude in the whole world! Wasting rakyat’s money 4 their own interest…sigh! SHUT DOWN lah

• Fastwork on Jul 25, 2016 at 6:14 pm

You are absolutely correct wasting taxpayers’ money on a hopeless institute.

• Operation Manager on Jul 25, 2016 at 3:41 pm

Getting closer when fall into sleep, still gap that never can achieved from current engine requirements. ..

• Your B10 failed in test. Face it. These people is launching it because of maruah anak tempatan rather than environmental factor.

• lao yee on Jul 25, 2016 at 4:11 pm

Sounds like ‘high tech’, but fact was using any gas to run a vehicle is a traditional tech method.

• For me, organisation likes SPAD, MAI just a junk and not necessary. Since we got so many minister in cabinet, why can’t they set the policy but need to have these SPAD and MAI for transport department issue? emmm….could because the whole cabinet also a whole piece of junk or shit….

• Gov bodo piang kena hold by carmakers. Najib shud gip them ultimatum, either retune their oil burners to accept B10 and above (like in Indon) or balik u-know-where. Others like Mazda and even China ones will fill in the gap.
    Be firm like Pinoy Harry and others will follow. After all, democracy and consensus r for criminals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • thepolygonal on Jul 25, 2016 at 6:03 pm

Minyak kelapa sawit baik under goreng pisang!

• Beruxx on Jul 25, 2016 at 6:28 pm

people hate to see your face..

You are parasite..never contribute..
    Bloomberg background wont “make you look clever”
    Last time your media statement in Japan oso never make you ‘look clever”

• George Abdul on Jul 25, 2016 at 6:41 pm

MAI all they know just make “empty promises” on “future planning”… In the end Rakyat that suffer more heavy multiple taxes price on vehicles in Malaysia !!!

• hulunbalang man on Jul 25, 2016 at 7:23 pm

MAI nie suke-suke cakap mulut oni…and excel in makan gaji buta.

• tokmoh. on Jul 26, 2016 at 9:23 am

Look at how he’s trying to mislead the interviewer, to try make himself sound expert, but he actually don’t know his own shit.

Bloody obvious he has interest to be so pushy for B10, never once he talked about saving environment.

If I’m interviewer, I’d grill him back “BMW already said their cars can’t take it, that’s the end of it! You think they stupid? You think BMW don’t wanna sell their cars? You think you can just throw B10 to them, then miraculously their car can work? Just tune it? Our market too small for them to justify spending so much to tune their cars, you think they’d do that? Many more can’t take B10, you’d think it’s better only select few can sell while others don’t? That’s your genius plan to encourage diesel? By casting away most diesel makers out there?”

Muka minta penumbuk tul, taking 5 figure gaji buta, to tok kok protek the cronies’ interests than consumers’.

• old horse on Jul 26, 2016 at 11:10 am

the whole problem is croniesland CANNOT sell their palm oil to outside world due to competition!

So pushing back the stock to internal consumption is the natural surviving they have. Sounds familiar? Proton!

all cronies failing their business in world competition. period.