Yes to B10 biodiesel implementation if carmakers can provide warranty – Malaysian Automotive Association

MAA 1H2016 2

The Malaysian Automotive Association has no qualms with the implementation of B10 biodiesel, but only if its principals are able to provide warranty for their vehicles. At a press conference for the automotive market review for the first half of 2016, Datuk Aishah Ahmad, the association’s president, provided an update on the implementation of B10 biodiesel, which is currently dividing opinion within the industry.

“We had a meeting with minister of Ministry of Plantation Industries & Commodities (MPIC) yesterday. Earlier, the government announced June 1 (for implementation), but then they delayed it to July 1,” she said.

“Until today, they haven’t set a date as to when it is going to be implemented, because they are (still) listening to all the stakeholders, whether it is from MAA members, from the bus and lorry operator associations, other ministries and from the oil companies. And I think, we indicated to the government that we’re not ready,” she continued.

biodiesel 1

In terms of vehicle warranties, Aishah said that biggest concern for the MAA is that many of its principals are unable to provide a warranty for vehicles if B10 biodiesel is used. “It’s not that we’re opposing B10, we support it, but you must be able to provide a warranty (to sell a car),” she said, adding that the association has suggested to the government to have stations that provide both B7 and B10 diesel.

When asked what sort of support the MAA expects from the government in relation to the roll-out of B10 biodiesel, Aishah stated that the association does not require the support of the government, but rather the support of its principals.

“We must be able to have warranty on the vehicles before we can implement. Alternative pumps, that’s what we are asking for, they must have both B7 and B10 pumps throughout the whole country at all stations,” she explained.

2016 Malaysian Bio-diesel Camerons drive - 1

Mohd Mazwan Mohd Safwan, senior manager of marketing at UMW Toyota Motor explained that the use of B10 biodiesel, especially in highland areas, can result in precipitation that can clog oil filters, which is the main concern for manufacturers here over the use of the B10 formulation. He also showed his support for consumers to have an option of B7 or B10 biodiesel when fuelling up at fuel stations nationwide.

The B10 programme with Euro 2M diesel will be implemented nationwide, though petrol stations in the highlands – including Cameron Highlands and Genting Highlands in Pahang as well as Kundasang in Sabah – will continue to be supplied with B7 (7% palm oil) fuel.

In some areas, consumers will have an option to B10, albeit a slightly costlier one – Euro 5 grade diesel, which is a B7 blend in this country, is available at over 100 stations nationwide.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Anything But P1 on Jul 20, 2016 at 1:37 pm

Good more reasons not to buy a car and support the Malaysian car industry.

• Henry on Jul 20, 2016 at 1:39 pm

Palm oil is for cooking and not for burning. The car business is already cut-throat. They are bonkers to provide warranty for doubtful situations.

• Kunta Kinte on Jul 20, 2016 at 1:45 pm

I don’t take what Aishah says seriously. Once upon a time, Aishah used to fight for consumers to get cheap cars. Then one day, Government gave her Datukship. Ever since then, she promotes high car prices, the AP system and low spec cars.

Goes to show, everyone can be bought.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • Kunta Kinte on Jul 20, 2016 at 1:50 pm

Aishah, before you talk about B10 biodiesel, 98% of all diesel vehicles in Malaysia are the lorries and busses They emit thick black smoke. They clog up our lungs.

All these lorry companies and bus companies are pariah and they all used Euro2M Diesel and not Euro 5. Their vehicles emit toxic poisons.

In EU, Euro 2M diesel is considered so lethal, it is as good as taking Mosanto Roundup and drinking it.

Aishah, sort out this diesel issue first. Make sure commercial vehicles use clean diesel by upgrading their vehicles. Give us clean air Aishah.

No point talk rubbish here about B10 when 98% of current diesel vehicles emit poisons to all of us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • UMW TOYOTA on Jul 20, 2016 at 3:41 pm

puspakom test..retard fuel pump..pass puspakom..advance fuel pump

• Ex VGM staff on Jul 20, 2016 at 5:02 pm

In euro? There is no such thing as euro 2M. They are using euro 5 now, and soon euro 6.

Euro 2m for Malaysia is not even the same like euro 2 standards. Something more like euro 1.5

• john is otak batu on Jul 20, 2016 at 1:56 pm

Still want bio diesel warranty??!!!. Sigh.. North American, Japan & European already pushing out full electric hybrid cars.
    BTW no implementation date ?!!! Better scrap your plan MAA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • tong sampah on Jul 20, 2016 at 1:59 pm

jokers dont know how to export and compete pal oil with other part of the world and putting internal consumption….Robert being visited by high profile jib relative not coincidence i guess.

• Passerby on Jul 20, 2016 at 5:34 pm

they hv tried to deal with china for the export but unfortunately Robert Kuok is controlling 70% of china oil market and he is also an advisor to china government… now Robert Kuok rather buy indon palm than Malaysia coz BN who first condemn him and his business… Chinese say tamak for 100mil small business lose 1bil opportunity

• drMpower on Jul 20, 2016 at 2:03 pm

this is talking rubbish
    yes its the manufacturers that provide warranty for the vehicles, and they do so once they confirm with everything they researched
    everything including the type of FUEL going into the engine they DESIGN

so if B10, according to these manufacturers, do not fit for warranty to the engine they DESIGN, then its clear cut to this.

the onus is for the people who want to sell B10 to prove the efficient of such fuel.

but i have an idea.

so these B10 people want to proof their fuel is OK. fine, now i suggest that they contact the owners of those bought grey imports. get the vehicle checked with whatever authorities the B10 people want. stamp the vehicle solid. put a warranty of the vehicle

then get B10 into these vehicles. and of course the B10 people give warranty to the grey imports. surely B10 is okay since these B10 people pretty confident with their product

do it this way, then business will boom. and then BMW malaysia or MERC or whatever will come calling.

• Roadside stranger on Jul 20, 2016 at 2:11 pm

MAA logic failed, some car manuracturer like bmw already mmentioned B10 not suiable for its engines. How can bmw gives warranty if they dont support it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • thepolygonal on Jul 20, 2016 at 2:16 pm

All can run fine up to B10 blend, no problem… no issues at all. We have run extensive lab test and the results shows that everything is running fine and there are no problems at all. You do not need to be worried with such problem as claimed by certain quarters. What? Huh? We are not talking about goreng pisang guna minyak sawit ke? Oh sorry… what was B10 again…

• camtakpro on Jul 20, 2016 at 2:52 pm

I can blindly confirmed someone must have a big share in B10 and can earn freaking a lot from B10.

• MY Gov bodo & bangang. Just see across Selat Melaka and u will find B20 biodiesel. So apa kelanjiaoan about compatibility? Just flash the ECU with Indon spec ECU lah! There, all car makers must kowtow to jokowi. Here BNGov kowtow to them instead.

Najib shud just implement it and tell them to shape up or plss off cuz others (ie Mazda) are more than happy to fill these Euro/contis vacuum. We need iron-will decision from Gov in this matter, stop flip flopping just cuz some ‘rakyat’ complain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
    • Palm oil is supposed to be used as food not fuel.

Used oil, yes, please make it into fuel.

• So as soy/corn oil and sugarcane extract. But other dun gip an F when these r used in biofuels.

• IGP mom on Jul 20, 2016 at 3:23 pm

Hello?? The one who come out with B10 should be giving the warranty! What in the world carmakers giving warranty for something not qualified for? You see Shell offer Helix with over 10 years warranty. You sell your oil, you give your warranty. You don’t screw up the car engine and left the consequence to carmaker to warranty. What business is this? Spoonfed until tomorrowland?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Pakulupapito on Jul 20, 2016 at 4:14 pm

Yes..MAA. Haha, still remember the tv commercial.

• Rubbish talk again, why all datuk brain so little, cannot think ke

• Kucing Terbang Tinggi on Jul 20, 2016 at 6:45 pm

makan gaji buta MAA punya orang…..

• superbird #43 on Jul 20, 2016 at 7:09 pm

no to biodiesel.