Karma Revero plug-in hybrid to use BMW components, to enter series production end of year

karma-revero-teaser

The Fisker name no longer lives on in the automotive realm, but the Karma does – enter the Karma Revero, a plug-in hybrid sedan that has been improved, despite appearing mostly unchanged from the Fisker Karma. Karma Automotive says there will be “huge, serious, major upgrades throughout the electronics systems, wiring, charging, battery” compared to the model before it, with the production slated for the end of the year.

The company has struck a deal with BMW, which will provide powertrain components, battery charging system, and other related hardware for the Revero. Powertrain details aren’t confirmed, but the previous Karma had a 2.0 litre turbo petrol range-extender engine with a 20kWh lithium-ion battery, culminating in a 402 hp/1,300 Nm total system output.

karma-revero-teaser-3

Like the original model, the Revero will feature a solar roof, albeit one that generates enough electricity to power the entire car. Each and every badge applied to the car will be hand-painted, which the company claims to be an industry first. Though there aren’t images of the interior, the Revero’s infotainment system is said to be “simple, intuitive and beautiful.”

The company has started taking orders for the Revero, which carries a starting price of above USD$100,000 (RM402,437). Karma Automotive will assemble the Revero at a factory in Southern California, which is meant to roll out as many as 3,000 units annually. On top of the California operations, parent company Wanxiang Group has started plans for a factory in China with a manufacturing capacity of 50,000 cars per year.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 16, 2016 at 4:11 pm

Why can’t Proton also ask BMW Malaysia whether they can use their engines, powertrains etc?

After all our Ministers already said Protons are better than BMW and Volvo.

I am sure BMW will be happy to share their engines with Proton like that.

• jangan jadi bengap bole tak. setiap post nak kene mention proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • Ya ya. Then when P1 uses BMW engines, u will bash P1 selalu Banyak Masuk Workshop. I see what u did there…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
      • P1 will use BMW engines? Dream on or syok yourself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • So since toyota oso rebadge, so they must kolos shop lah? Agree or ur kroni & korup.

• I’ve always wondered why we haven’t see more cars with the same kind of drivetrain as the Karma where the engine isn’t connected to the wheels but to an electric generator instead. The only ones that I know of is the i3 (which flopped in sales), the Chevy Volt & the Hammerhead Eagle i-Thrust.

• Will the side mirror’s design creating more wind noise?

• Lee Kum Kee on Aug 16, 2016 at 6:51 pm

Should at least facelift abit la now that car is still same design since 2010. Lazy or what?