GALLERY: Audi A4 – current B9 vs previous-gen B8

audia4_b8vsb9-9

The fifth-generation Audi A4 was finally launched in Malaysia last month. Available here in a single initial 2.0 TFSI variant (1.4 TFSI and 2.0 TFSI quattro versions coming in January), the B9 A4 is priced at RM248,900 on-the-road without insurance. Audi Malaysia is offering an early bird price of RM239,900 for this CBU imported compact premium exec.

The A4 2.0 TFSI is powered by a 2.0 litre turbo engine with 190 hp and 320 Nm of torque from 1,450 to 4,200 rpm. A seven-speed S tronic wet dual-clutch gearbox sends power to the front wheels, and 0-100 km/h takes 7.3 seconds on to a top speed of 240 km/h.

That’s a good set of figures, but for those who want more, the coming soon 2.0 TFSI quattro boasts all-wheel drive, 252 hp, 370 Nm of torque from 1,600 to 4,500 rpm, and 0-100 km/h in just 5.8 seconds. It’s Ingolstadt’s range topping answer to the BMW 330i (252 hp, 350 Nm, 5.8 seconds) and Mercedes-Benz C 300 (245 hp, 370 Nm, 5.9 seconds).

audia4_b8vsb9-10

The B8 A4 1.8 TFSI we have here is powered by a turbocharged four-pot with 170 hp and 320 Nm of torque from 1,400 to 3,700 rpm, paired to a multitronic CVT gearbox. The stepless automatic has been phased out for the B9, which uses twin-clutch autos across the board except for the top 3.0 TDI diesel engine, which gets an eight-speed Tiptronic torque converter auto to cope with the big torque.

It might not be obvious to some, but the new A4 is not another facelift of the long-serving B8, but an all-new model – every body panel is fresh and there’s a revised Modularer Längsbaukasten platform beneath. The MLB Evo, which is for longitudinally arranged front-engined models, also underpins the current Audi Q7. Depending on variant, weight reduction can go up to 110 kg.

This side-by-side, old vs new gallery in the same grey hue (both without the S line package) should dispel the facelift perceptions. The B9 A4 is sharper and larger (25 mm longer, 16 mm wider, 12 mm longer wheelbase) than the sedan it replaces, with 12 mm of the added length going into the 2,820 mm wheelbase. The B9 body is also larger than its rivals from BMW and Mercedes-Benz. Too mundane? Here’s how it looks like with S line, bigger wheels (17-inch rims here) and a brighter colour.

This extra size is translated to the cabin, which is spacious compared to those of the F30 and W205. But the best part is the dashboard design, which is classy and minimalist, a big departure from the cluttered red button cockpit of the B8, which was cool for many at that time. Fantastic quality and materials on display, too.

As you browse the gallery, note that the B8 featured here is a run-out model sporting RM38,000 worth of free upgrades. This 1.8 TFSI comes with the Technology Package, which consists of adaptive headlights, a rear view camera, Bang & Olufsen sound system, MMI Navigation Plus, Comfort Key and 18-inch Audi Sport alloys, up an inch over the baseline rims.

For more on the new Audi A4, check out our launch report, review and spec list on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: B9 Audi A4

GALLERY: B8 Audi A4

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Hamtaro on Oct 11, 2016 at 9:23 am

Audi, RV King.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • johan on Oct 11, 2016 at 9:31 am

FWD & more premium than rivals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • jolly_idiot on Oct 11, 2016 at 9:46 am

They are so same/lame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • HaiTek on Oct 11, 2016 at 9:55 am

fuhhh! the AirCond looks very complicated to use! Need a dedicated manual just for the AirCond.

• Jer Clarkson on Oct 11, 2016 at 9:57 am

aloha Vote!

Thumbs up for Audi A4, Thumbs down for VW Passat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • Jonn Dol on Oct 11, 2016 at 9:58 am

While the overall dashboard design of the latest A4 is definitely more classy & minimalist compared to the outgoing A4, ironically the infotainment screen sticks out like a sore thumb and ruin the classiness. Why can’t Audi make it integrated with the cockpit??(i.e at the center location a la Renault Megane). Shame..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Exterior wise barely have any differences

• dilemma on Oct 11, 2016 at 10:01 am

new Audi A4 or 2014 Audi A6 HYBRID – RM 148k.

• Mikey on Oct 11, 2016 at 10:07 am

No F30 or W205 driver will tell you they are driving a better/superior car than an A4/B9. An A4 is a solidly built car that will withstand most driving conditions just like a F30/W205 are meant to.

Unfortunately in M’sia, this A4 is imported/CBU. It also meant U pay more for this car compare to BMW/Merc. This A4 will be an additional choice to a compact premium exec section.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 11, 2016 at 11:59 am

For 239/249k u get a CBU I’d say it’s a good bargain when you’re getting locally assembled cars from Mercedes and BMW for about the same price. If Audi Malaysia won’t be too greedy when CKD kicks off in 2018 maybe we can see the price coming down to 210/220k? But then again who doesn’t want to profit in a business eh?

• Mikey on Oct 12, 2016 at 9:31 am

seancorr, I believe our assembly plant who assemble the BMW & Merc are on par with most assembler. Lets hope Audi will bring down the prices when they CKD their car.

That will be good for purchasers as it will provide stiff competition that will ultimately improve quality & a reduce in the car prices. Cheers …

• Glenmarie on Oct 11, 2016 at 12:08 pm

Wat?!! No free car servis!

• Yes it's CBU on Oct 11, 2016 at 3:06 pm

But it’s CBU from Mexico. Lets hope they have more dedicated assembly worker than Malaysia.

• Das Auto on Oct 11, 2016 at 10:21 am

Volvo S60 306hp RM238,000 only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Mikey on Oct 12, 2016 at 9:35 am

Das Auto, I’m not going to dislike U without giving U a reason. U have posted this same post at least 4 times.
      Am sure U can do better than this.

• Why the front look like Hyundai? Audi must have copied Hyun… oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
    • voDevil on Oct 11, 2016 at 11:28 am

i’m under the strong impression & pretty sure that it was Hyundai who copied Audi’s single frame grille design…

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 11, 2016 at 10:40 am

You have to peek into the cabin to differentiate between both cars. Cos the only major difference is inside. The outside is 90% similar. The only differences are the headlamp design front and rear. And maybe slightly different grilles.

• Audi makes the best cars now!!. Better relaibility than BMW and Merz. They are selling more cars than both of them in Germany, UK and U.S. People in Malaysia are too brainwashed and having the wrong perception think that BMW and Merz are better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • Periasamy on Oct 11, 2016 at 11:56 am

Toyota got Better reliability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
      • Toyota is in different class bro. Its a great all rounder car with decent quality and performance.
        Audi, BMW and Mercedes are for the upper middle class group of customers.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 11, 2016 at 12:01 pm

Sure boh? I only see BMW and Benz competing with each other in Murica bro!

• Wayne on Oct 11, 2016 at 1:10 pm

Lexus USA.

• Leafable on Oct 11, 2016 at 11:39 am

Wow RM250k can even get the virtual cockpit. Rip off…

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Oct 11, 2016 at 2:50 pm

The hexagonal grill is getting dated, it’s too generic and vague. Too many other makers are adopting that as well (Lexus, ford, kia, hyundai, chevy, dodge, and etc). I’m sorry Audi but it doesn’t have the iconic dual tapered rectangle, horseshoe, tapered inverted triangle, nor the 7 parallel rounded rectangle’s staying power. Other than that, your cockpit is pretty good!

• passion on Oct 11, 2016 at 3:26 pm

Awesome looking gear lever. love it but the price is a no no in malaysia.

• maXref (Member) on Oct 11, 2016 at 9:17 pm

Looks like Ingolstadt’s designers didn’t get the memo whats the bloody difference between a facelift and a new model. People pay a premium price for a new car that looks brand new and different. Not a slightly improved look. Even the LED lamp design looks like its been turned upside down from the old design.

• Sickput on Oct 12, 2016 at 8:09 pm

An audi the price of a subaru outback

• Most of you who comment here are not able to even own entry level A4 but talk like you are driving an RS4. Dam guys….