Audi A4 1.8 TFSI gets RM38k worth of free upgrades

Audi_A4_03

A check with Audi Malaysia’s website has revealed that the Audi A4 1.8 TFSI is now available with complimentary upgrades worth RM38,000 – buyers can take their pick in the form of a Technology Package or a S line Competition Package for the base B8.

The Technology Package consists of adaptive headlights, a rear view camera, Bang & Olufsen sound system, MMI Navigation Plus, Comfort Key and 18-inch Audi Sport cast-aluminium alloy wheels, up an inch over the baseline 10-spoke star design 17-inch units. The inclusion of the B & O system isn’t new to the car – in 2013, the 1.8 TFSI was upgraded with the system as well as the Comfort Key.

Opting for the S line Competition Package, meanwhile, bags Alcantara leather sport seats, an exclusive S line competition design bumper as well as a black high-gloss styling package. As with the Tech pack, the additional kit includes a Bang & Olufsen sound system and Comfort Key. The S line route also ups the wheel size, the car riding on 19-inch Audi Sport cast aluminium alloys.

Audi_A4_01

Otherwise, no mechanical changes, the A4 1.8 TFSI’s mill offering 170 hp at 3,800 to 6,200 rpm and 320 Nm of twist at 1,400 to 3,700 rpm, or with standard equipment away from the upgrades. The A4 1.8 TFSI continues to go for RM239,900 (on-the-road, without insurance) as priced post-GST, so the additional kit sounds quite the deal.

The A4 2.0 TFSI quattro, which already comes dressed with a S line package, also gets upgraded to the S line Competition Package, at no extra cost. The additions don’t add up to the same amount, of course – the car already features the Alcantara leather front sports seats, Comfort Key and Bang & Olufsen sound system, among other things, but the 19-inchers are an upgrade from the five-twin spoke 18-inch units seen previously.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• What About Malaysia VW AG? on Sep 25, 2015 at 12:54 pm

Of course cause nobody dare buy any VW and Audi cars now. Of course they will throw all this in.

Why audi never did this before the scandal? Malaysians not worth it? We pay so much also, we get low spec cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 21
    • Malaysia When Probe VW and Audi? on Sep 25, 2015 at 2:47 pm

India has just ordered a Probe in VW cars in India. when is the Malaysian Government going to order a probne into Audi and VW cars in Malaysia?

Or is the Government worried that this might affect the profits of GLC DRB Hicom??

• Areyousure on Sep 25, 2015 at 4:49 pm

Our petrol is cheap here. So why buy diesel car? A6 Hybrid with tax exemption is the real deal la, sadly no more available.

• U sound like a poor diaper baby, driving a myvi but dreaming of German cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Pacific romp on Sep 25, 2015 at 12:57 pm

It looks like the new model so not a bad deal

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 25, 2015 at 12:58 pm

Can only mean the new A4 is coming very, very soon. Wonder how much the new A4 will be priced here.

• The Volkswagen Audi cheater got 2 different strategies:
    VW: huge rebate.
    Audi: Huge upgrade.

Same Aim: clear all stocks, different method.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Muyashi on Sep 29, 2015 at 12:08 pm

giving huge rebate is consider cheater? Which mean every company also consider as a cheater since they are giving discount and rebate.

• Unethical Audi Malaysia on Sep 25, 2015 at 1:14 pm

Very unethical company. When the model is ending, then throw all these freebies. When the scandal hits the group, instead of coming with press statement to reassure Malaysian buyers that their Audi is not affected despite being petrol (ie other compromises and possible lies), they throw goodies to buyers.

How to buy from a company like this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
    • Sam L0rrrr on Sep 25, 2015 at 3:12 pm

That’s why I ask my customers to buy Vios when got 10K discount.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • abd123 on Sep 25, 2015 at 5:11 pm

funny la your comment, when end of lifecycle everyone also reduced price or throw in more freebees one la, so means all company r unethical? there’s no diesel vehicle in malaysia what you want them to do wo? plus thing also not fully resolved lagi nth to say la…

• Bob_B78 on Sep 25, 2015 at 1:45 pm

All these free packages comes in the time VW’s dieselgate. Nice move Audi.

• cendol (Member) on Sep 25, 2015 at 2:25 pm

In Malaysia our emission law is almost non-existent, so technically dieselgate does not affect us at all.
    Actually it is a good time to buy VW/Audi now with all the negativity around, there is good bargain to be get

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • samelordupe on Sep 25, 2015 at 9:20 pm

It is worth 50k only, who will pay hundred thousand for this junk? Better buy Lexus, high RV

• Chehh on Sep 28, 2015 at 3:55 pm

if vw is junk then why there are a lot of ppl still want to purchase it? Think properly before u comment
        At least for me, vw is better than lexus. vw handling is good! IMHO

• nabill (Member) on Sep 25, 2015 at 2:31 pm

sounds like a good solid deal , but ofcourse id rather have rm38k worth of discounts rather than freebies!
    the new one is coming probably b4 the end of the year….but stil , looks tempting…..bt wonder how is euromobil SC doing ? are they stil junk status jus like our credit rating ?!

• Nenek Kau on Sep 25, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Guys, let’s be honest here. Does it really disturbing you when they cheat their test but at the end you got more driving power?? IMHO, i only care that my car has more power with good fuel consumption, that is it!

• taknakToyota on Sep 25, 2015 at 8:49 pm

Yes disturbing coz my so called luxury car becomes junk car with Euro4 emission standard engine like Vios

• taknakProton on Sep 26, 2015 at 10:30 pm

Nothing more junk than Preve that pollutes the air more than Vios

• jobless on Sep 25, 2015 at 3:24 pm

me knw a fren who just got his Audi A4 last month..wonder how he felt nw..better stay away first

• I love Audi on Sep 25, 2015 at 4:08 pm

In my opinion, just keep my money and save for B9 Audi A4… ( although i dun have that money.. Ha ha ha)

• All Cars on Sep 25, 2015 at 5:04 pm

AS…usual..first stripe open the Consumer.with low specs…then…stripe him/her again by offering huge jump in specs…so..his/her car is worthless ..as it has lower spec

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 25, 2015 at 7:19 pm

I’d actually wait for the B9 though. The B8 just feels so dated inside, even though it is well made.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 27, 2015 at 1:54 am

The last mile for this baby before the twin arrives…snickers. The new one looks the same as the old one haha but yeah there’s a lot of under the skin changes.

• Atz1999 on Sep 30, 2015 at 4:52 am

Drive this year 2015 so proud and next year 2016 owner say cibai audi salesman why don’t you tell me there is new model haiyaa