Proton Search – Saga owner Mohd Isa wins new one

proton-search-winner-1

The search has ended – well, the Proton Search, that is – and the contest has settled on a winner. Former civil servant at the Rubber Industry Smallholders Development Authority (RISDA), Mohd Isa bin Ibrahim Shah, has bagged the grand prize of a new Proton Saga 1.3L Premium CVT.

The aim of the contest, which ran from March 8 to June 8, was to find the longest single-owned Proton, which was still in a running and relatively good condition – and carried the most memorable ownership story. For the 85-year-old Mohd Isa, his 1985 Proton Saga 1.3S manual was a reliable companion, both serving his family and aiding him in his charity work with indigenous communities until today.

Mohd Isa’s metallic blue car isn’t exactly a museum piece, but it’s still in quite good nick for a 31-year-old car – and what it lacks in spick-and-spanness, it more than makes up for in characterful patina. The exterior is decent, with the typical scratches and small paint bubbles that come with three decades of motoring.

proton-search-winner-7

Inside, the aftermarket seat and steering wheel covers hide a cabin that’s certainly feeling its age, but is still holding up. Aside from the missing front window winders, everything appears to be in working order – even though there’s a makeshift wooden wiper stalk. All this despite the odometer reading over 510,000 km, on its original Mitsubishi-derived 4G13 1.3 litre Orion carbureted, eight-valve engine.

Aside from the new car, Mohd Isa also won a RM5,000 restoration on his Saga. Other consolation prize winners also receiving the restoration – plus RM1,000 in cash – include Abdul Razak bin Ahmad, Azizah binti Junid, Ishrat Banu binti Hassan, Mohd Jamil Chew bin Abdullah, Mustapa bin Kassim, Wong Sok Kim, Govindarajoo Periasamy, Mohd Tajuddin bin Idris, Samian bin Sawiyo and Thangaras Doraisamy.

The winners were treated to a plant tour, a walk through the research and development facilities – including the design studio and test labs – as well as a joyride in Proton cars on the test track.

Held in conjunction with the launch of the national carmaker’s “The New Proton” campaign, the three-month contest saw a total of 866 entries, containing Proton models spanning the years from 1985 to 2012 – although the winners all drive Saga models produced between 1985 and 1986. Aside from the entry form, participants were also required to submit a short written story or a video of the car.

Judges filtered through the entries according to the terms of the contest, then divided them into the year the cars were produced and the length of the ownership. Those entries were then shortlisted, and the judges visited the homes of the contestants to inspect the condition of the cars to verify their roadworthiness.

proton-search-winner-19

“We were very encouraged by the overwhelming submissions from our loyal customers and supporters,” said deputy CEO Datuk Radzaif Mohamed. ” It is also heartening to see that the number of 1985 Sagas which are still plying our roads clearly show that our cars are very reliable and have plated a significant role in enriching the lives of these owners with their various recollections of their most precious moments with the cars.

“The contest brought many of the oldest single owners of Proton cars to share their wonderful stories which many Malaysians, I believe, are able to relate and connect with. This certainly resonates with our objective of producing affordable cars with the best value and quality for our customers.”

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments largely appreciate the durability and longevity of the Proton Saga, especially ones with over 200,000 km and even 500,000 km on the original engine, highlighting Japanese Mitsubishi technology as more reliable than newer Proton engines like Campro. There is praise for Proton’s event honoring loyal Saga owners who kept their cars for decades, with some suggesting that Proton should reward all loyal owners or update older models. Some critics express skepticism about Proton’s claims of quality, attributing past success to Mitsubishi engines and criticizing the high prices and quality issues in newer models. Nostalgic remarks acknowledge the Saga's iconic status, and some commenters hope Proton preserves the Saga legacy or include the Saga name on future models. Overall, the tone is mixed but largely positive about the Saga's durability and Proton’s brand loyalty initiatives.

• Ootai on Oct 13, 2016 at 6:58 pm

That shows the mitsubishi engine is more reliable than the latter not so C_pro engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 40
    • Not really. I heard of campros reaching close 300,000km. My CPS is touching 200,000km alredi

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 12
      • crash on Oct 13, 2016 at 9:28 pm

That blue Saga has > 500k km on the engine and it is still working. Can a Campro really last till 500k km without overhaul ? The Pakcik only changed to aftermarket spark plug wires, the engine bay looks stock.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 25
        • The engine is leaking black oil and the spark plug cables looks newer than the engine. What makes u so sure its never been overhauled? did the pakcik said it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
          • hakim on Oct 13, 2016 at 10:44 pm

agree with u..wallao…500k KM n never overhaul la..sohai….even japanese car need to do major overhaul when reach 300k km max

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
          • Anwar Mahmood on Oct 14, 2016 at 10:24 am

Mitsubishi Magma engines can last long. Not like our Campro engines…can even catch fire whilst going up Genting. Fanboys still cannot admit. Jaguh kampong syiok sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
        • alldisc on Oct 13, 2016 at 10:41 pm

Normally valve seals would not last more than 10 yes or 200,000km while piston rings can never last more than 300,000km.

• You heard? From where? Syok sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
        • From ur conscience. If u shaddup a moment, u might just hear it screaming at u.

• Albert on Oct 14, 2016 at 9:08 am

Belum Insaf John
        You r attacking Protong non stop.Now u disclose you have a CPS touching 200K.What a hypocrite!You dont have bola.
        At 200,001 km.onwards till 250000 km,the Campro is going to give u monthly costly headache in terms of repairs.

• My Gen2 Campro 400km++ without overhaul. Only change crankshaft sensor & water pump.

• I thought the Sultan of Johor has one Saga in perfect condition?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Mikey on Oct 13, 2016 at 9:14 pm

Bro Shen, you are right but it is not “used” like this couple has so it does not qualified.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Maybe because it sat in his collection going like 5km a year

• My saga blm 2010 touching 210000km and is still in good condition

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • Same L0rr on Oct 14, 2016 at 2:53 pm

your BLM CamPro IAFM engine.. This Legend saga use Mitsu engine! Far away better than your Saga BLM

• Same L0rr on Oct 14, 2016 at 2:49 pm

I agree with this.. Proton with sushi engine is reliable & good RV! If Proton with CamPro, please.. not reliable & no RV at all..

• Sam Loo on Oct 14, 2016 at 2:56 pm

I am Sam Loo, this Saga have good RV! RM20K no regret!

• Nice gesture from Proton. Sure it serves to promote their brand but it’s still nice to know loyalty is rewarded. Congrats to the winner and the company.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 0
    • Jobless on Oct 14, 2016 at 7:19 am

With the high price of cars in our country which is beyond the means of many Malaysians, being loyal to a car for more than 30 years is less than a choice, more of a necessity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Oct 13, 2016 at 7:26 pm

Very well kept car! Looks very good. I noticed that the original Sagas and Megavalves are really solid cars unlike the Iswaras. I used to own an Iswara and boy the car rusted like hell, the roof, bonnet, doors. The blue paint reminded me of my headmaster’s car during primary.

Wooden wiper stalk? That’s a world first. Take that Bentley and Rolls-Royce!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • Ex VGM staff on Oct 13, 2016 at 10:44 pm

You want to know why iswara and wiras have many rust especially roof top but not Orion and magma?

The Japanese were here in the plant for supervision during assembly. Once they handed over to proton to handle itself and left, the QC part were over looked.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • pak atan on Oct 14, 2016 at 7:30 am

What a tipical empty brain talk. Does QC solve the quality issue?. In manufacturing, role of QC is to control the quality. If design fail,does it means QC fails? If the resepi and the formula of the kek fails, does it means QC fails?.. open up your brain. Quality starts from design that is call Build-In Quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Wooden wiper stalk? That’s a world first. Take that Bentley and Rolls-Royce!!
      Luv this.. wakakaka

• Potong dont give a damm about their loyal customers !! on Oct 13, 2016 at 7:56 pm

They should give all the 11 finalize a brand new potong saga for being so loyal and keeping the car running for 30 odd years, that itself is an achievement by itself minus the stories behind each individual !!! instead they selected 1 winner out of 800 contestants !! Brand loyalty goes a long way and potong should give without thinking and for the winner, he should have gotten the new perdana !! Stupid potong wasted the time for all the contestants as usual but kudos to the all the contestants whom took the time to share their experience with their potong saga’s ….3 decades is a long time, more than potong time left in our market !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 28
  • Lame… It’s like trying to misled Malaysians by telling how good Proton cars are. The older Proton yes because of the Mitsubishi engines. In fact proton owe it to the japanese. Its mitsubishi who created the saga not proton. There is zero legacy in there. The latter Proton cars ? Sales numbers speak for itself. Stop fooling innocent Malaysians Proton about how good your cars are. It just isn’t. Because of you Malaysians now suffer extreme high car prices which contribute to high household debt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 30
    • “Japanese technology” “Malaysian style” , technically they work together right?

• Bash Basher on Oct 14, 2016 at 9:02 am

I have to agree with you, it is a rebadged Mitsubishi Fiore

• We should thank the Brit then give them back the country right? B**lS

• pak atan on Oct 14, 2016 at 1:30 pm

Again.. beain damage P2 salesman. I hearda yesterday they have an emergency meeting to think how to overcome sales dropped. They got 2 big punching (saga,persona) from P1…
      Lot lot of beza cancel order… soo pity.. with that tonggek car. Nak drive pon malu..

• Corngrats to Isa and his Saga. Personally to stayed with the same common car for 30-odd years is beyond exceptional. Well another 5 years to go for mine thou I doubt it’ll reach than seeing that it hasn’t turn a wheel since…… last year?

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 13, 2016 at 8:51 pm

I wonder if the badge on the grille still lights up when you switch on the lights? That looked so cool back in 1985. Closest thing to KITT’s swooshing lights.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • Mohd Anuar on Oct 13, 2016 at 8:54 pm

Proton Saga is the pride of our nation. The model deserves to be the flagship model of Proton, sadly it is positioned as a budget model in proton line-up. The Corolla once an affordable choice but now it jumps the rank to be a middle-class car when Toyota introduced Vios as their entry model. The name Saga is sweet already, it has positive meaning in Malay and also English. The now Perdana should carries Saga name instead of the basic line entry model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • funnyboy on Oct 13, 2016 at 9:24 pm

Agree. But I felt the new Persona should be named the Saga. Anyway, all old Saga should be replaced. Is just high risk to be driving one in this era.

• frossonice on Oct 13, 2016 at 10:27 pm

But Saga always the people’s car @ cheap affordable to most people. It should stay that way.

• Teksidrebar on Oct 13, 2016 at 9:03 pm

For every car there is an owner and for every owner there are nostalgic stories to tell. It is a beautiful journey of time. Congrats to the winners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Mikey on Oct 13, 2016 at 9:04 pm

Taniah Pakcik/Makcik. Sekarang Pakcik boleh gunakan tanpa was was.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Mikey on Oct 13, 2016 at 9:11 pm

Just for using this Saga for a Good 31 years in itself is already a testament. For good measure, its clocked 510,000 km in itself is really remarkable. This Pakcik Deserved this car hands down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • gaviny on Oct 14, 2016 at 8:03 am

These cars were built under supervision of Japanese engineers and management very early on.

• azrai on Oct 14, 2016 at 8:33 am

This shows one typical reality actually. As a Malaysian you have to live with the car since you young and retired. The car price is to high, the cost of living is to high. So have to hold upgrading cars. As the G says, our economy is good…yes it isn’t.

• Mikey on Oct 15, 2016 at 9:18 pm

Bro azrai, the “to” & “too” have different connotation. It should read too high. Just sharing bro. I made the same mistake many times until a good bro highlighted it to me.

• dewaSemut on Oct 14, 2016 at 9:04 am

Besides giving a new one, Proton should also restore this old man’s Saga back to its original glory, sure he appreciate it even more.

• azrai on Oct 14, 2016 at 2:32 pm

He also get a RM5k upgrade package for his current timber wiper stalk Saga.

• Very good japan technology from mitsubishi in the 1980s. But let’s move on for new models, even if the old japan technology is good.

• sohai on Oct 14, 2016 at 9:39 am

Awesome looking condition.
    I always have a softspot for the colour matching rim cap.

seeing this is like meeting an old friend….

• ben yap on Oct 14, 2016 at 11:07 am

those days the 1.3S proton saga is RM18,500.

now it’s RM36K. that’s 100% increase in price. we’ve been overpaying throughout 30 years!

• pak atan on Oct 14, 2016 at 1:35 pm

Why dont you buy 30 years old saga then. Then you can get same price today. If you buy todays Saga, the technology was change 400%. Actually, you pay lower then 30 years ago in value.

• Try say that to all car manufacturer. Ooo.. not only car..

• Gip me ur boss address so that I can tell him to pay ur salary same figure as 30 years ago. Dun complain ya. TQ

• Dolly on Oct 14, 2016 at 4:22 pm

You paid 18k for carburator technology.. now newer technology cost more… ok mah…

But you pay RM1.5 for a bowl of noodle last time.. now RM5 also maybe cannot get lah… same bowl of noodle. So you kena cheated or what??!

• Nothing to say but tabit.

• Pak Usop on Oct 15, 2016 at 1:07 am

Respect

• murid tua on Oct 15, 2016 at 11:22 am

1 of the winners, ishrat banu was my schoolteacher, she taught me briefly in lower form. 2 decades before tht, she taught my mom at the same school. kind lady. glad she won.