The Proton Search Contest to reward longest single Proton car owner – prizes include new 2016 Saga

The Proton Search

Proton is looking for its most loyal customers as part of The Proton Search Contest, a 13-week competition that is part of the recently-launched ‘My New Proton’ campaign. The contest seeks out the longest-serving Protons in the country that have a rich history, and are still in immaculate original condition.

The contest will take place from March 8, 2016 to June 8, 2016, and is open to all Malaysians with a valid identification card and driving licence.

To participate, entrants need to submit an entry form (which will be made available at the company’s website) along with a short written story of the car, which includes a memorable photo of the car or a creative 60-second video.

However, there are certain terms and conditions placed upon the submissions. Firstly, the Proton car must have a valid road tax and insurance renewed annually since ownership. Secondly, the Proton car must be registered for non-commercial purposes (i.e. not a taxi).

Proton-1-at-Asia-Klasika-Motor-Festival-2015

Thirdly, the Proton car must be roadworthy, well maintained and still looks like its original state. Proton cars that have a single owner, or has been used and kept within the family since it was purchased new are qualified to be submitted.

Eleven winners will selected from this contest, with the grand prize being the soon-to-be-launched 2016 Proton Saga – one of three new Proton cars set to debut this year – along with a RM5,000 refurbishment of the winning Proton. Just one winner will be selected for the Saga.

Meanwhile, the ten consolation winners will also be awarded with the refurbishment, along with RM1,000 cash. All winners will also be taken on a tour of the Proton plant in Shah Alam.

“Since our inception, we have sold over four million Proton cars, and this search is our way of rewarding Proton loyal customers and bringing them closer to us. We must take care of these customers, who have chosen to purchase our cars and are proud of driving us,” said Proton CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• girlie girl on Mar 07, 2016 at 6:09 pm

Proton has become desperate with sales these days…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 40
    • Proton just dunno what they are doing. Just like the past 25 years. From re-badge, to start own development, and back to re-badge again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 24
      • Heskey on Mar 07, 2016 at 8:39 pm

Owned a savvy amt for 9 years. Major Problems started in the third year. Then every year major problems occured. Cost 2k – 3k to repair every time. Wanted to get rid of the car in the fifth year but even proton dealers didnt want to trade in the car. Finally sold the car last year after 9 years with less than 60k mileage for just RM1k to a mechanic. Should have kept it so i can enter the contest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
        • U think the car still can move by now?

• camtakpro on Mar 07, 2016 at 10:53 pm

Sorry man, that contest picture, Savvy is not even in. If you can’t see it properly: Wira, Saga, Waja, Perdana, Satria.

Keeping it only makes you slightly smarter than VW owners.

• Same L0rrr on Mar 08, 2016 at 7:50 am

Proof the Proton have no RV. Savvy 9 years only RM1K, Perodua Viva 9years still have RM12K maa..

• vivaowner on Mar 08, 2016 at 9:48 am

Huh? Used Viva 2012 you can get around 2k lor

• RicardoNoir on Mar 08, 2016 at 1:05 pm

LOL savvy, that car wouldn’t even qualify to enter this contest even proton ppl deems restoring that car is a waste of time & effort

• Toyota do rebadging so it just like the past 70 years. From re-badge, to start own development, and back to re-badge again.

Toyota just dunno what they are doing.

• SkullJuJu on Mar 07, 2016 at 6:16 pm

Actaully this seems kinda fun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • hailthepurist on Mar 07, 2016 at 7:34 pm

the longest serving prebet sapu in my area is a p1 car, survived two big floods and some firecrackers..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • Survive two big floods because… the windows were closed all the time!!! Cannot open!!!! Water cannot get in!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • If I am still driving the same 1985 Proton, it means I am not doing very well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 20
    • If i drive antique fellali, am i not doing well?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 32
    • 85 saga>any proton on Mar 08, 2016 at 9:10 am

Come on, do you have to be that mean, i do own my dad’s 85 saga and love it, i’m not the kind of kid who ask new car from their parents even if they can afford it.. I’ll be joining this just to try my luck

• Materialistic!

• ben yap on Mar 07, 2016 at 6:49 pm

i used to admire the proton saga executive when it was first launched.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • kapchai on Mar 07, 2016 at 6:55 pm

Toyota also very desperate for sales recently. Lots of discounts and advertised on TV too (seldom see car ads on M’sian TV). Recently outsold by Nissan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • skatax on Mar 07, 2016 at 6:58 pm

creative effort to build anticipation prior to the launch of new saga. i bet there are still original saga, its facelift sister saga megavalve and the 2nd gen iswara out there in much, much better condition than the 3rd gen proton saga lmst (lihat macam sangat terror).

• Unknown on Mar 07, 2016 at 8:07 pm

That’s true. My father owned one and the LMST’s body panels felt like it was made from cardboard, the interior wasn’t put on properly and the cooling system is hopeless. Even his Kancil which is much has clocked more than 100k km is more reliable.

• Same goes to other cars debut around that era, cannot compare with modern cars.

• Aero (Member) on Mar 07, 2016 at 7:00 pm

That blue ‘Proton 1’ Saga, that is the property of Johore royalty. Absolutely stunning ! I’m sure it’s worth quite a bit… and in time, its value will only increase.

Unfortunately, although I’m a ‘Proton enthusiast’ myself, I probably won’t qualify for the contest. My dad’s old 1999 Wira Aeroback was sold off a few years back. And I’m probably too young, I wasn’t even born yet when Proton launched the Saga in 1985. haha. A year back, I actually wrote a story/ recount of my childhood with the old Wira here; (https://www.flickr.com/photos/aero7my/16306970406/). Until today, I still love and miss her very much. :’]

I look forward to seeing all the contestants and their rides, and I must thank the management at Proton for actually listening to all those ‘pimp my Proton’ comments on their Facebook page. I didn’t expect this ! But it’s pure genius, nostalgia sells !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
    • paanjang16 on Mar 07, 2016 at 10:00 pm

Very nice story there! My family still has a 1994 Proton Wira and I still use it as my weekday car to go to work. Reading your story it appears that Protons in the late 90s to early 2000s seem to suffer even more problems than those produced during the early to mid 90s. Some of the problems you mentioned also happened in my dad’s company car which was a late 90s/early 2000s Proton Wira such as air-con failure. The one from 1994 still has the original air-con compressor and the air-con has never failed so far! In my 10 years of working I never had to top-up the gas even once, perhaps since they day we got it the refrigerant has never leaked. However it is getting old. In July it will be 22 years old.

No plans to let it go or change to a new car even though I can afford a H god car now. Around 2008 I was offered a brand new Myvi so that the wira can be given to my younger brother who was going to college but I turned it down. To me the Wira is much superior than the Myvi as it is bigger and better to drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
      • Ah Meng on Mar 08, 2016 at 8:01 am

I own Perodua Kancil 1999. Still keep until now..

• Aero (Member) on Mar 09, 2016 at 6:28 pm

@paanjang16

Thanks for reading man, I appreciate it. :] I’m glad to hear that your ’94 Wira ownership has been good and it’s still running today ! Don’t sell it man, keep it… treasure it… in fact, I know many people who still keep their old Wiras (early models) even when they have upgraded to a Japanese or Euro car. Sentimental and nostalgic value is powerful.

I wish we could have afforded the Wira when it first came out, those early units are betul-betul bulletproof. And I agree, right around the Asian Financial Crisis period, Proton was going backwards; their quality, design philosophy, management, everything… they only realized how much they’ve slacked by around 2005/ 2006, around the time the Myvi was launched and the Vios and City became popular. Since then, they’ve slowly improved their ways, but I still wish Syed Zainal Abidin was the Boss… he’s a good man.

• camtakpro on Mar 07, 2016 at 10:58 pm

Old Saga with original MMM parts from Japan (eg. engine, gearbox, door panels… etc) perform like a charm and fuel efficient too. Even the interior are soft to touch.

Once they intro ‘facelift’ with Proton castrated parts, engine starts to fail easily, and parts fall apart.

• tokmoh. on Mar 09, 2016 at 10:17 am

Not fuel efficient if it’s the 3-speed auto lel.

But indeed, the earliest ones were the best. Proper Japanese quality.

• policeman on Mar 07, 2016 at 7:07 pm

Givelah proper prize! Grand prize is a lousy car and the rest get RM5K to refurbish their existing junk?

Gua tukar Mijubiji kit + rim saja sudah sampai 5K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • inspira owner on Mar 07, 2016 at 7:38 pm

Patutnya hargai pemilik yang beli dalam tempoh masa 5 tahun ni di saat hampir semua orang benci proton. Masa proton baru bukak sampai 2005 memanglah proton no.1.. ni lah proton. Bukan nak hargai orang yang beli jugak masa org lain sibuk beli t n h. Dah la inspira pun orang tak pandang.. at least rasa di hargailah sikit… datuk harith… tolong baca ni.. atau en.paul tan.tolong bagitau dia ni

• Ex Proton worker on Mar 08, 2016 at 10:10 pm

Well said but unfortunately that’s how it is with Proton brand….

• Had a proton iswara for 17 years without any problems whatsoever. Travelled over 300000 km. Maintain those qualities n proton will win over new customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Poton on Mar 07, 2016 at 8:45 pm

Proton still alive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • Jobless on Mar 07, 2016 at 9:45 pm

It shows they cant let go of the past but still daydreaming the time they ruled the car market…if im the new ceo i wil
    Sack the whole team who came up and approve tis idea

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Mar 07, 2016 at 11:30 pm

Yes! I qualify. My Savvy has been running without much serius problem all this while. The reason for that is because it has NOT been serviced by Proton since day one.

• proton saga orion 1985 on Mar 08, 2016 at 8:26 am

My mom still use her 1985 Proton Saga Orion (Plate NX….) that was bought three weeks after the launching. My late father bought it for her..Blue metallic….I was 15 years old, and what a glamorous moment during that time…felt like everyone watching…the car is still in working order, but has changed its engine and has been repainted twice…Still eligible or not for the competition???

• Kjaakaka on Mar 08, 2016 at 8:29 am

Tahniah Proton. Saga 2016 kejap je dah nk launch . Engine 1.5 TGDi 180hp 250nm harap2 dpt launch cepat. Tak sabar nk bawak 230kmh kat hw. Hidup proton

• alldisc on Mar 08, 2016 at 9:08 am

owning a proton for so long doesnt mean that particular person is the biggest supporter of proton. he bought one car, and thats it.

the biggest supporter is an individual who bought the most proton cars.

example first he bought a new Iswara. than a new Wira. after that a new Waja. than a new Preve. total is 4 cars.

now that is the biggest supporter Proton can get.

• DINESH A. on Mar 08, 2016 at 9:39 am

Despite all the negative comments, I do own a 1995 Proton Saga Iswara 1.3S manual. The car served me very well and has easily done more then 300,000km. My son has taken over the car and is keen on keeping it going for many years to come. After 20 years, it went through a top-overhaul and some parts were replaced recently due to normal wear and tear.The car is still coated with the original paint and probably needs a fresh coat of paint soon.The quality of this model back then was very much better which could be due to the fact that the major components were from Mitsubishi or coming from good OEM. I think in recent years the quality has dropped tremendously and also the after-sales service. Proton can get back its glamour if only the people inside change their mindset and move forward with a global concept car which is built based on top-notch quality and innovation. Sadly all these are still very much lacking especially in terms of quality, styling and new ideas of which has brought down this Malaysian dream to almost a living nightmare for some of the current owners. If they could only sell the same Iswara again with much better overall quality, I don’t mind buying one if the price is reasonable together with a reasonable resale value (RV).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Ex Proton worker on Mar 08, 2016 at 10:13 pm

Yes sir, you have a very good point but how to make changes from within if morale is super low?

• Same L0rrr on Mar 09, 2016 at 10:17 am

Then, Buy Toyota better. Good RV! Enough said!

• Robert mugabe on Mar 08, 2016 at 10:27 am

Biggest loser for those who drive proton since 1985

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Fraidycat on Mar 08, 2016 at 9:17 pm

I inherited my late father Proton Saga 1985 (Orient Engine). He took care of it very well. I used it as a second vehicle and started it once a week until one day I missed and the battery becomes weak and the engine no longer start. To keep cost of ownership low I renew the insurance and road tax not yearly but just enough so I don’t have to send it to Puspakom for checking. It’s pretty amazing I still kept this car and there is no need for Proton people to disqualify people who don’t renew the road tax yearly from entering. Still, those who might be interested to buy this antique can give me a shout at [email protected] Thanks.

• kidnap_jibby focker on Mar 09, 2016 at 10:47 am

Got no choice but to own a 97 satria (UK spec) till now. I am quite contended with it though despite the aging & some issues (proton maa). My request, do appreciate all proton owners for the trust we gave upon you & reward us with good deals despite the condition of our car & trade in at better value than the market one if possible

• Che Naimah Ghani on Mar 10, 2016 at 9:43 pm

Proton sebuah kereta yang lasak dan mudah dikendalikan

• Dogymal@yahoo. com on Mar 11, 2016 at 5:06 pm

Dont tell me Dr M does not own the 1st gen proton

• “The contest seeks out the longest-serving Protons in the country that have a rich history, and are still in immaculate original condition”

That is a combination not available for any Proton cars.

• own a 2000 saga, engine still running tremendously without any major service, body & paint still shine, dont what other bank’s & ah long’s slave might say about this old car ;)

• Chen Kim Kee on Jul 01, 2016 at 4:12 pm

I entered the Proton Search Contest which closed on 8 June 2016 but have since not got any acknowledgement nor any respond from the Proton side. I am wondering what is happening. Can someone please enlighten me. Thank you.

• Chandran a/l Kunju on Aug 24, 2016 at 8:08 pm

Dear Sir,
    I am one of the participant of the ‘The Proton Search contest’ would like to know when the winners of the contest will be announced.
    Thank you.

• Heng Cheong Loke on Oct 22, 2016 at 10:00 am

Dear Sir,
    I am a Proton owner for the past 25 years and was excited when Proton is searching for the longest serving and surviving proton.
    Unfortunately Proton is always the “LET-DOWN”.Start something but never will be any ending. I would like to know when this contest’s results be “finally announced”.
    TQVM