VIDEO: Tesla shows off its new fully autonomous tech

Tesla recently announced that all its future electric vehicles made from now on would feature the company’s new-generation full self-driving hardware, which allows for up to Level 5 autonomy (fully autonomous driving with zero driver input required).

To showcase just how advanced the new technology is, the company has released this video that shows a Tesla Model X driving itself to a Tesla office, dropping off its passenger, before seeking and parking itself, all without the need for any human interaction.

Along the way, we see the car navigating itself through junctions, intersections, roads, as well as merging onto the motorway. We are also shown what the car’s cameras are seeing at certain times as well.

As a disclaimer, the person in the driver’s seat is only there for legal reasons, and did nothing throughout the car’s autonomous journey. It is certainly an impressive feat, but one that requires a lot of testing, especially in regards to safety, before it can be introduced to the masses.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kaboom on Oct 21, 2016 at 4:08 pm

Autonomous?? Mat motor tunggang macam shaitan.
    Selit kiri kanan, camne nak elak…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Bash Basher on Oct 21, 2016 at 4:54 pm

At Malaysia, we need the “Shaitan” version patch for the autonomous driving system.

• Kunta bin Kinte on Oct 21, 2016 at 5:24 pm

How to have this tech in Malaysia? Everyday, thousands of motor beat the lights in front of the PDRM officer manning the lights. The few policemen just keep quiet and look at them beating the lights.

Tesla system cannot work in Malaysia. No matter how high tech Tesla is. Overseas Tesla can work but in Malaysia, basic laws also we cannot uphold, no way and automated system can work

• rest in peace on Oct 21, 2016 at 4:12 pm

Pity those miserable souls which bought and killed by Tesla

• We shud rejoice, for their deaths herald the coming of the inevitable: SKYNET.

• Their death is necessary so we could have reliable and safer autonomous tech. They should be honored like astronauts.

• Mikey on Oct 21, 2016 at 4:27 pm

Thanks Tesla for telling us that you have an updated/advance version of Tesla Model X. When will M’sian get one of this ?!

• Diesel Power!!! on Oct 21, 2016 at 4:32 pm

I really felt dangerous…

A car should be driven, what’s the fun for sitting as a passenger???

• Bash Basher on Oct 21, 2016 at 5:04 pm

Technology being technology always have failures and bugs/glitches, etc etc.

Imagine if:
      1. One of the sensor fails
      2. autonomous driving system glitches causing inaccurate calculations and estimations
      3. system fail to allow manual driving mode during emergency
      4. system being hacked
      5. virus maybe? possible?

• Is that you KITT??

• the amount of sensors in the Model X is insane. Even the doors have ultrasonic sensors in them https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7vdrzDFCcHk

• dodgeviper88 on Oct 21, 2016 at 5:11 pm

Tesla should test it in Malaysia. If can pass with no accidents pretty sure anywhere in the world can pass also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • orang biasa on Oct 21, 2016 at 5:17 pm

very advanced tech but no suitable for MY as jalan macam orang miskin (lubang sana sini), line pun tak berapa nak lihat, ataupun sudah buat jln baru tapi belum draw line.
    Macam2 benda pelik kat jalanraya.
    better driver hold the steering so on safety + orang lain safety too.

• Yeast Lump on Oct 21, 2016 at 7:20 pm

Soon steering wheel will be an article you will only see inside museum.

• Kelvin Kong on Oct 21, 2016 at 10:46 pm

The technology is great, but what’s the point if there is a car steering wheel, gas and brake pedal? I think it’s better to drive manually with high-tech safety.

• Car Shld Be Driven!! on Oct 22, 2016 at 12:13 am

If a simple thing such as power window can fail, how to convince tht autonomous wont give problem? Plz stop making the road more dangerous!!