VIDEO: Proton Ertiga 1.4 MPV walk-around tour

This morning, Proton launched its first compact MPV, the Proton Ertiga. We brought you an exclusive live stream of the launch event, and exhaustively detailed the new model in our comprehensive launch report. But perhaps you prefer to simply click play and watch our man Hafriz Shah point out all the features to you, which is why we’ve prepared a new walk-around video tour of the new car.

To recap, the Ertiga is priced at RM58,800 for the Executive manual and RM61,800 for the automatic model, while the range-topping Executive Plus auto retails at RM64,800. All prices are on-the-road inclusive of insurance and a five-year/150,000 km warranty.

Essentially a rebadged Suzuki Ertiga, the new car is around the same size as its nearest rival, the Perodua Alza; it’s significantly shorter and narrower than the larger Exora as a result, but its wheelbase is actually 10 mm longer. The grey-and-beige interior features a dashboard derived from the Suzuki Swift and six seats; access to the third row is accomplished via a second row that tilts and slides forward.

Sitting on a stretched Swift platform, the Ertiga is powered by the hatchback’s K14B 1.4 litre naturally-aspirated DOHC VVT petrol engine. In this application, it produces 92 PS at 6,000 rpm and 130 Nm at 4,000 rpm. Power is sent to the front wheels via either a five-speed manual gearbox or – the first in a long time for a Proton – a four-speed automatic transmission.

In terms of fuel consumption, the Ertiga manages 5.7 litres per 100 km with the manual ‘box and 6.0 litres per 100 km with the automatic on the European NEDC cycle. These figures have enabled it to achieve the company’s first Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) certification, the first compact MPV in Malaysia to do so.

As usual, you can browse CarBase.my for full specifications and equipment. But enough writing – watch the video above to learn everything you need to know about the new Proton Ertiga, and sound off in the comments section after the jump. Thanks for watching!

Proton Ertiga 1.4 Executive Plus

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Best looking proton to date.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • Because it’s not designed by Proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
    • Kunta Follower on Nov 24, 2016 at 4:49 pm

I feel so ashamed reading the 3rd para…”ZERO INPUT FROM PROTON ENGINEERs and DESIGNERS”

So shameful. After 30 over years, Proton cannot even develop their own Ertiga type of vehicle. And this is despite Proton taking berpuluh puluh billions of ringgit of our money.

I wonder what the engineers in Proton do? They are all so highly paid. And Proton engineering department is one of the largest pool of engineers of any car company. What do they do in office? 30 over years also cannot develop your own design.

Don’t forget, Japanese don’t give anything free. Proton has to still pay Suzuki hundreds of million in royalty. This money goes out of Malaysia. Out of our economy. And into Japan.

Come on Proton engineers, make Malaysia proud. Instead of goyang kaki, design our own suv and make Malaysia proud.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 29
      • Tajam2 on Nov 24, 2016 at 5:32 pm

shut up and make ur very own car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 44
      • lolol on Nov 24, 2016 at 5:52 pm

No only that. Am not too sure if the people at Proton are thinking about how much resources is being used to launch 4 new vehicles in the same year. Firstly training of their technical staff, then the logistics of spare parts.. and lastly refresh cycles…. does it mean in 4-5 years time.. all products will be refreshed? Or just one off? If just one off, what about the initial cost of setting up a production line? Sheesh…. seems that the loan from the govt will not be recovered and in 3-4 years time, there will be another request for more funds from govt.

Which comes to mind.. can someone remember when did P2 last asked for a bail out loan from the govt???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • P2 not qualified to ask for bailout cuz it majority owned by jepunis?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
        • Perodua is not manufacturer, it juz do assembly parts. Design bumper, spoiler and skirting no need incurred huge cost.
          They used oldies Japanese car fix with new logo and used taufu shell + higher profit margin sell to AUNTY mentality buyers. Each unit at least can earn 5k to 10k.
          Too shame, Malaysian thought that Perodua is national car…

• lolol on Nov 25, 2016 at 12:01 pm

How is that different from perdana and ertiga. Fact of the matter is that proton wastes money to try to design but endup rebadging.

Assembly is still manufacturing dude. Ertiga and Accordana are assembly too

• Currently only this 2 model are from Jepunis by proton. Your point is?

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 24, 2016 at 5:05 pm

Paultan has written a superb article on VSC. VSC is so important that any car sold in the whole of Europe and US must have VSC. Compulsory.

It is sad that Proton cannot give this Ertiga VSC. At most only RM300 to add VSC. Out lives not worth RM300 Proton?

http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stability-control-is-a-must-malaysian-motorists-deserve-better-active-safety-in-their-cars/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
      • kzm (Member) on Nov 24, 2016 at 6:31 pm

u want them to close yet u gip them hope by asking them to add vsc.. ask them to close shop la. that ur job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Kunta ex proton operator on Nov 25, 2016 at 9:22 am

Rm300, you mimpi?

• Amran on Nov 24, 2016 at 3:38 pm

Can buy, but not sure if this Ertiga have good RV or not.. please check Suzuki Swift used car market..
    Buy Toyota/Perodua better la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
  • pak delon on Nov 24, 2016 at 3:46 pm

Mobil Indonesia.

• Thayanand on Nov 24, 2016 at 4:26 pm

300km lighter? ☺

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Nov 24, 2016 at 4:29 pm

Sorry about that, it’s 300 kg, obviously.

• if 300 km lighter.. definitely make Jean-Marc Gales begs Suzuki Engineers to work in Lotus already. Chill Hafriz, just poking fun. btw, I prefer you present the walk-through pakai your usual baju bunga tu instead of this baju.

• At under 80bhp/tonne its way behind everything else in its class. Pretty much eveything else has well over 90bhp/tonne. Next raya the most common thing to see on the way balik kampung is a fully loaded Ertiga struggling to go past 90km/h on the highway

• Sam Poo@Loo on Nov 24, 2016 at 7:21 pm

… with windows open (especially at certain stretch on Karak highway), since the aircond must be off.

• Yada yada yada on Nov 24, 2016 at 4:46 pm

RV RV RV then please take MRT LRT la…. Do take a good look at Suzuki cars when in Japan! Then talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • I must say it looks good and the price is competitive..

• totota on Nov 24, 2016 at 5:07 pm

no led..hmmm
    no day time running light..hmmm
    interior no screen..hmmm
    no leather for top spec..hmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • Tambah sendiri on Nov 24, 2016 at 5:38 pm

Bro yg ni sume u bole tambah sendiri at a minimal cost..u choose how ur car look..i think lagi puas hati rather tham all car look the same

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Amran on Nov 25, 2016 at 9:26 am

Aftermarket part installed can cancel the warranty of the car bro!

• But you have rear fog lamp it can make your mpv became sports car and blink their eyes who are behind from your car

• Hafiz on Nov 24, 2016 at 6:16 pm

Like this commentary by hafriz, its not easy to work with camera, but hope that he could slow down the speed of the words he says and also increase his voice volume abit. Some words are so closed..its like tonguetie. Anyhow, u guys improved so much! And i like it

• EYAN KOH on Nov 24, 2016 at 6:29 pm

Alza is better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 24, 2016 at 6:36 pm

2017 coming, still no proper safety…syabas…mana proton cybertroopers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Vincent on Nov 24, 2016 at 8:39 pm

Most of the Malaysian is interested to know how p1 return the solf loan, instead of their new model!!! Those hundreds millions R&D cost is mean to do few piece of plastic touch up for self face.

• Bernard on Nov 24, 2016 at 9:33 pm

Too expensive . If Below 40k for top spec reasonable

• merapu on Nov 24, 2016 at 9:44 pm

Suzuki pengecut , tak nak benarkan proton tambah safety dekat ni kereta , takut ertiga yg original tak laku hahhahahha…klau ikut kan hati proton, memang dorang nak tambah safety kat ertiga ni, tapi adakah suzuki benarkan? TIDAK..menyedihkan..proton niat baik, tpi suzuki larang, lepastu ada org menghina pula , cakap proton ni memang sengaka tak bagi ..hina je lah proton tu , proton tak kesah pun , dapat pahala lagi adelah..yg memfitnah tu yg tanggung dosa kah kah kah

• bukapintubayartol on Nov 24, 2016 at 11:24 pm

Alza SE Manual – RM 56,832
    Ertiga Manual – RM 58,800
    Alza SE Auto – RM 59,832
    Ertiga Auto – RM 61,800
    Ertiga Plus – RM 64,800
    Alza Advanced – 65,432

Alza with current (old) engine does not have EEV status. The new engine on the Vios managed to upgrade the Vios to EEV status. I suspect that this will also be the case for the Alza once they put that new engine into the next gen Alza. Therefore I think Perodua will be able to undercut this Ertiga. Either that, or offer an MPV with at least stability control at a more competitive price. Having said that, all this is speculation. I don’t even know if Perodua is interested in upgrading the Alza… :(

• Sammy Loo on Nov 25, 2016 at 1:35 am

Toyota Avanza is the best in this segment with good RV and reliability

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Fadilmas on Nov 26, 2016 at 2:25 pm

Let say the proton emblem replaced with Honda or other Japanese brand, sure all good meh!

• passion on Nov 25, 2016 at 9:34 am

now we have more choices. good job P1.

brv,wrv and chr coming. buffet for all. subaru xv 2017 coming too. yeah!!!

• This should replace all the Proton Saga, Gen 2, Wira taxis. All airport taxis should be this at least. Malaysia got smaller taxis than Indonesia and Thailand!

• fanofthisite on Nov 25, 2016 at 9:29 pm

i suppose you mean Persona (Gen2 with tail). Nothing wrong with the Persona as a cab. But I think an Evora is a better cab size compared to this model…for passengers at least

• I went to the Proton showroom yesterday. It was very quiet, saw one man taking photo of the Ertiga. The rest are Proton staff… compared to the launch of Perodua Bezza, the Perodua showroom are full of people, many waiting to test drive the Bezza.

The quality of the Ertiga is very disappointing !! The air-cond & temperature knob are “so plastic”. The door, one has to slam hard to close it. I test drove the Ertiga, the steering is very “stiff” (heavy/berat) and feel very “cheap”

My 11 years old Vios has a much better ride and quality compared to this Proton Ertiga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Fadilmas on Nov 26, 2016 at 1:39 pm

Hi, guys be realistic eh, I had a conversation, while working with Japanese co. before and Korean working colleague . they praised Proton , they too have taken so much effort to come to where they are now.To their judgment and experience, 30 years of car industry is still consider ” An Infant stage”. Their car have gone very far because they received 100% support from their own people, without it, no matter what, they said, u could not achieve anything. Those Malaysian who always like to condemn it’s own product are the one u should overcome. Japan have live with their “tin Milo” car before, and how long they take to be what they are now? Let imagine, ur family have a business, but within the family member do not support the business and keep throwing bad image about the business to the outside public? I am proud of Proton & Perodua. Tq

• Fadilmas on Nov 26, 2016 at 2:22 pm

Let say the proton emblem replaced with Honda or other Japanese brand, sure all good meh!

• Fadilmas on Nov 26, 2016 at 2:33 pm

U’r comparing Apple and rambutan, ertiga is MPV version while vios and bezza is saloon version, u need more passenger at cheap price buy ertiga, but if u can afford imported car that’s ur choice.Not all people are rich enough to own imported car, they just wanted it to meet their function.

• Salam sejahtera on Nov 26, 2016 at 8:14 pm

I saw you on youtube , what i see fron your comment, you just agung2 kan perodua bezza tonggek, itu kerusi belakang tegak sangat memang berbezza..so, you just perodua fans..aku mohon jangan menghina pula , kalau kau nak buat cerita, hina je lah proton tu , proton tak kesah pun , dapat pahala lagi adelah..yg memfitnah tu yg tanggung dosa kah kah kah..i already go to the showroom at the kota kinabalu recently and yes, so many people ..there are 3 ertiga, all ertiga was full of people include me :)

• Hai ivan on Nov 27, 2016 at 12:15 am

I saw you on youtube , from what i see from your comment on at youtube , u just agung2 kan itu bezza tonggek..so , basically u are perodua fans! First aku nak cakap, nampak sangat kau tak pernah drive ertiga , masuk ertiga lagilah tak pernah kot..menghina ..hina je lah proton tu , proton tak kesah pun , dapat pahala lagi adelah..yg memfitnah tu yg tanggung dosa kah kah kah..lagipun , vios tak la ada ride and handling yg bgus …even savvy pun lagi sedap handling dia …aq baru jer p showroom proton tdi petang kat kk ni, 3 ertiga kat showroom, 3 ertiga tu juga ramai org nak keluar masuk..lagipun, ertiga ni senyap sungguh , suspension pun sedap, lembut, lalu jalan tak rata memang selesa

• Sickput on Nov 26, 2016 at 3:34 pm

This mpv will kill the exora, not the alza.

• Imoogi Tan on Nov 26, 2016 at 4:54 pm

With this high pricing Proton going to have a tough time. Perodua will surely launch their new MPV which will replace Alza. Definitely base on Daihatsu Sigra/Toyota Calya which was launched recently in Indon. Although those launched in Indon is base on 1000cc/1200cc engine but believe no problem of putting on 1500c engine if they want to be the leader in this area. Just matter of time only.

• Puncet on Nov 26, 2016 at 6:27 pm

Sit cushion vry lauya

• Savvykl on Nov 26, 2016 at 9:46 pm

I wonder why Ertiga only 6 seater, if the center of 2nd row only can fit 2 point seatbelt is reason, than why just launching Honda B-RV also 2 point seat belt at middle 2nd row also can accept as 7 seater car.
    6 seater car just make proton hard to sell this car.

• shahrir samad on Nov 28, 2016 at 8:57 am

better than recond japanese mpv…
    moreover, i google “suzuki ertiga modofied”, quite impressive…

• suzuki ertiga – 2012..