Suzuki Swift RR2 Limited Edition introduced, RM70k

suzuki-swift-rr2-limited-edition-2

A spruced-up, limited edition model of Suzuki’s B-segment hatch has been introduced for the Malaysian market! Dubbed the Suzuki Swift RR2 Limited Edition, said hatch is based on the mid-range Suzuki Swift GL and is presented exclusively as a cosmetic exercise with no mechanical changes whatsoever.

In front, the Swift RR2 sports racier decals on the bonnet while the lower portion of the bumper appears to have been decked out with contrasting black accents. Elsewhere, the limited edition hatch gets Gun-Metallic 16-inch alloy wheels which are complemented by the addition of similarly-styled decals and “wheel arch extensions.” Changes on the rear include a reworked bumper with a diffuser-like element.

suzuki-swift-rr2-limited-edition-1

The Suzuki Swift RR2 is available in only two shades – Bayside Blue and Supreme Red. As mentioned, the limited edition hatch soldiers on with the same mechanicals – a naturally-aspirated 1.4 litre K14B four-cylinder petrol engine with 95 PS and 130 Nm of torque gets mated to a four-speed automatic gearbox. In terms of safety kit, the Swift RR2 is equipped with two airbags, ABS with EBD and Brake Assist.

“We have always been passionate in our mission to deliver the very best to the needs of drivers who will not compromise on quality and with the RR2, we inject a whole new edge to the fun and stylish ride which is synonymous with the Swift,” said Keiichi Suzuki, managing director of Suzuki Malaysia Automobile.

The limited edition Suzuki Swift RR2 is priced at RM69,888, inclusive of on-the-road (OTR) costs sans insurance. The range kicks off at RM58,227 for the base GA and goes up all the way to RM73,688 for the flagship GLX variant. Like its mainstream siblings, a 3+2 year warranty comes part of the purchase.

GALLERY: Suzuki Swift GL facelift

GALLERY: Suzuki Swift GLX facelift

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Dissapointed on Sep 07, 2015 at 5:38 pm

WTH!!?? Do even have fog lamp?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • PTanonymous user on Sep 07, 2015 at 7:45 pm

Fog lamp is useless in Malaysia, we don’t even need it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
      • JB_KIA on Sep 08, 2015 at 12:50 am

SIGNAL LAMPS TOO

• Stupid car suitable for our dear leader in Penang. This car is a real junk. Not worth at all. Add a bit more, you can get a HRV or a Proton. Proton trashes this junk Suzuki. A good Preve is cheaper and bigger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
          • Same L0rrrr on Sep 08, 2015 at 11:50 am

Yes! Preve is the best in showroom. That’s why no one bother buying/driving it.

Proton has a lot of showroom model, only look good in showroom. Once on the road, you wish you should have walked rather than driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • urzu3 on Sep 10, 2015 at 3:21 pm

useless for u.. not for me or some others..

• Areyousure on Sep 07, 2015 at 10:14 pm

95hp “sportscar”!!? Epic fail la, LOL

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 07, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Good luck in selling this when the rest of the competition is miles ahead of you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Buy Proton lah. Preve is 100x better than this junk. Terimakasih BN kerana bagi kami Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • No Innovation on Sep 07, 2015 at 5:44 pm

Shameless Stickers that replicates the mini. Way too much edition from the suzuki swift if you ask me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • paanjang16 on Sep 07, 2015 at 6:33 pm

Adoi, another car maker putting on stickers, rims and bodykits instead of beefing up the safety spec like adding in esp.

• yuzuki on Sep 07, 2015 at 6:36 pm

jazz best, myvi better maybe..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • iampro on Sep 07, 2015 at 6:45 pm

lol warranty!!! suzuki malaysia closing down this year!!!!

• David on Sep 08, 2015 at 12:06 am

I got news there is major change happens in Suzuki. Is what you post is true? I almost bought the swift sport with 12k discount

• omegle on Sep 07, 2015 at 7:36 pm

ffs, tis limited edition crap again..

• Albert on Sep 07, 2015 at 7:55 pm

OMG…..73K for a top range suzuki swift?
    Bad times are like tsunamis going to hit Bolehland in coming months.
    There are already layoffs at Naza,CIMB bank, and RHB is offering Mutual separation schemes now,not forgetting MAS.
    Plus interest,this small car is actually costing you RM 80K.
    Perhaps,it is high time we stop buying new cars and survey the used car market for some good deals.
    Better get stuck with a 30K h/p loan than 70 k h/p loan.Make sense? Forgo the “new car itch” .People who buy as if there is no tomorrow,are asking for trouble in this GST wrecked year.
    When the buying stops(for new cars),the price will drop.(when stocks build up).
    Work smart and spend smart.Bad times/recession are a fact now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Pretty girl on Sep 07, 2015 at 7:58 pm

Ugly as hell

• Bruce on Sep 07, 2015 at 10:39 pm

This design is already more than 10 years old. It’s time to change a new design. Why would people still want to buy this car!

• intermilan on Sep 07, 2015 at 10:57 pm

Clear stock exercise.. b4 its too late

• wah another limited edition…

• d edge on Sep 08, 2015 at 9:30 am

proton rebadge suzuki in msia soon

• kenny_lim on Sep 08, 2015 at 11:40 am

my colleague 3 year old swift was burned down at federal highway. fire started at the fuse area and spread within 15 minutes. no modifications done at all on her car. insurance claim total loss but she bought at RM70k++ but current car value is RM40K. got to know that this happened to another friends of my colleague, suddenly burned up. careful guys

• jobless on Sep 08, 2015 at 6:01 pm

malaysian car buyers continued to be treated like fools..hello tis old tactic cannot use dy la…havent seen a single Elantra barcode limited edition on the road

• pearjai on Sep 09, 2015 at 2:02 am

Honda city or jazz is better buy than this old design car !