Honda BR-V 7-seat SUV open for booking in Malaysia

honda_brv-1

The Honda BR-V is now open for booking here in Malaysia, at all 88 authorised Honda dealerships nationwide. No prices have been announced just yet, but we’ve been told that the new seven-seat SUV will slot in between the Honda Jazz and HR-V in the local lineup. The official launch is set to come real soon, in the first quarter of 2017.

Essentially a crossover variation of the Mobilio MPV available in Indonesia, the BR-V – developed specifically for ASEAN markets – measures 4,455 mm long, 1,735 mm wide and 1,650 mm tall, with a 2,660 mm-long wheelbase and a ground clearance of just over 200 mm. That’s right in between the HR-V (4,294 mm long, 1,772 mm wide and 1,605 mm tall) and CR-V (4,590 mm long, 1,820 mm wide and 1,685 mm tall), though the BR-V’s wheelbase is the longest of the three, being a three-row SUV.

The BR-V is powered by a 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC four-cylinder petrol engine providing 120 hp and 145 Nm of torque. All that power is directed to the front wheels via an Earth Dreams CVT automatic. Being a seven-seater, the second row has a 60:40 split-folding feature, with a one-touch tumble function to access the third, 50:50 split-folding row. Boot space stands at a class-leading 223 litres with all seats up, or 539 litres with the third row folded.

In terms of safety, the BR-V was awarded a five-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating for models fitted with electronic stability control (ESC). We have already reviewed the Thai-spec BR-V, which you can read in full here. You can register your interest at Honda Malaysia’s official website.

GALLERY: Thai-spec Honda BR-V

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia's motoring hacks. A car's technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he's usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• jinggo on Dec 01, 2016 at 3:07 pm

So, it shoild be between RM87k to 97k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
    • KIAdeJunk on Dec 01, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Probably above 100K with current exchange rate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • Caryn Honda on Dec 01, 2016 at 5:26 pm

Starting frm 87K.

• Operation Manager on Dec 01, 2016 at 6:02 pm

INDIA only selling this 3rd world country milo tin ugly cheap car from rm 57k(S) – 73k(top-spec) …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
        • Kunta bin Kinte on Dec 02, 2016 at 10:04 am

Yup. In India this car less than RM60k. But if they sell RM60k in Malaysia, who will buy the palat Ertiga aka 2 star rated junk?

• I see honda is learning from proton choosing inappropriate steering wheel design. Not sure why the city wheel design is used instead of the newer city steering wheel design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Bring the pilot here so we have more choice other than outlander sorento santa fe….

• Mikey on Dec 01, 2016 at 3:35 pm

Bravo Honda (M) for having the confidence/daring to open for booking(BR-V) here in Malaysia without the price.

• azrai on Dec 01, 2016 at 3:38 pm

Poor man’s CR-V.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • FiveFishRain on Dec 01, 2016 at 3:38 pm

OnlyCountryWithANationalCar. National this and national that. Now this rubbish Honda made specially for Third World nations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Tyson on Dec 01, 2016 at 3:54 pm

Based spec RM96,899
    Medium spec RM103,899
    High spec RM118,899

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 73
  • Ben Yap on Dec 01, 2016 at 4:52 pm

best car your money can buy. Even better than the sienta, alza or haval.

Once drive a Honda, it will put a smile on your face and you’ll love it till death do us part.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 29
  • Mat Yun on Dec 01, 2016 at 5:19 pm

In Indonesia, price for the high specs is rm85k..

• We want Langkawi car prices on Dec 01, 2016 at 6:01 pm

This car is based on a Honda Brio hatchback and Brio Amaze sedan, which is an A segment low cost car that competes with Proton Saga, Perodua Axia and Bezza, Hyundai i10, Kia Picanto. And now we are being fooled thinking it is a B segment MPV. It is not based on the Jazz, City platform. It should be less than RM70k! Greedy Honda Malaysia wants a fast profit. At this rate, I rather have the Toyota Sienta, as it is a proper B segment car. If you are not in the rush to but a new car, wait for 2018 for new Alza. By then, all new cars will be required to have VSC. Don’t get blinded with the Honda badge. This is the old Honda Mobilio, facelifted with 1.5 and a new fancy posh name, BRV.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 7
  • polar on Dec 01, 2016 at 8:00 pm

looks like crv from outside ,the boot redesigned into 2 seater, and some touch in here and there,.. nothings new la wei

• Cheap interior material and outdated technology used for the car. If priced more than RM85k then not worth to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • i watch a review from youtube, it say the build quality and ride quality is worst then Suzuki Ertiga.

• C.P. MOHAN on Dec 02, 2016 at 8:20 am

Malaysia is fast becoming the market to sell and rebadged old-technology vehicles.

• All cars are having problems of their own. A lot of time it depends on how you use and maintain the car, and also your luck. The Hyundai Elantra which I bought in mid 2012 have only been in workshop for steering rack replacement once wheres my brother’s BMW 3 series bought in end 2012 have been sent to workshop for major repair 3 times. Nowadays Japanese manufacturers are competing price with other manufacturers as well, so a lot of the parts that they are using are of sub-standard quality. Those car repairing workshop owners seldom drive Honda. A relative of mine who run a car repair workshop refused to buy Honda as he told me that Honda cars are prone to oil leakage, including the new model.