White most popular vehicle colour in 2016: PPG report

Hues have been aplenty, but white is more than alright with the buyers, according to paint specialist group PPG, who found that 38% of cars sold last year were finished in white, up from 35% the year before. Black came in second with 16% of the share, while silver held 12% and grey took 10%.

The strongest fans of the colour white were from Asia Pacific, with the shade accounting for 47%, leading other colours by a larger margin than in other charted regions, while the next most popular colours for Asia Pacific were black (14%), natural (11%), silver (10%) and red (7%). The colour white also topped the North American region with a 25% share, while in South America it was 37%, and in Europe, 33%.

“Although white dominates vehicle colour globally, there is more variety in colour preferences by market and vehicle type,” said Jane Harrington, manager for colour styling at PPG.

“For example, in North America, silver is the leading colour for compact vehicles, while black is preferred for sports cars. Metallic colours are popular with American and European men, while women from those markets prefer pearlescent effects on their cars,” she said.

In the immediate future, PPG says it expects to see an increase in the presence of blue. The company says that it has been seeing a three percent increase in the colour on luxury, mid-sized and compact cars for the 2017-2018 model years.

The paint specialist also notes that blue was a very noticeable colour over the last three years at the North American International Auto Show in Detroit, citing the Porsche 911 Targa in 2014, the Ford GT, Mustang, Focus and Fusion as examples in 2015, and the Buick Avista concept at the last Detroit show.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Hot dog on Jan 03, 2017 at 3:43 pm

Betul.. my customers white most !

• Ollie on Jan 03, 2017 at 3:44 pm

Almost all new cars i see here in KL are grey, white or silver. Grey white and silver like the boring hair and lives of their owners. My car is red.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • Same L0rrrr on Jan 03, 2017 at 7:33 pm

Nobody keen to see your red Kia picanto

• Add A Comment on Jan 04, 2017 at 8:28 am

You solid red Proton Satria 1.3 manual?

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• nabill (Member) on Jan 03, 2017 at 3:52 pm

U really cant win with white, in the showroom, they look great, and its the best color to show the car lines and design, thn u buy, thn it gets dirty AF 24hrs a day, plus the monsoon season gives free dirt and mud to ur white ride, then u regret getting the color n wish for something else, then u send to car wash, and suddenly its the best color there is! And the cycle continues!

• Add A Comment on Jan 04, 2017 at 8:30 am

still better than black where all the issues u mentioned exist plus you can even see the very fine lines after your rough hand touching the paint…I still prefer white.

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Jan 03, 2017 at 5:18 pm

Not all cars look nice in white.
    Persona and Bezza looks quite cacat in white.
    In black they look good.

• Reason why a lot of people go for white cars is because for the untrained eye, it looks clean enough with just a regular car wash & hides a lot of micro-scratches and swirls.

• White is the best makes the car lookd larger and eyecatching but depends on the model oso..silver doesnt look gud in photos coz sometimes came out greenish or bluish hue and not match dark rims..u tink tats why u seldom see some manufactures promote silver in their brochures

• Top reasons to choose white over other color is white reduces temperature in warm/hot countries like ours. It can reduce engine/cabin heat better than other colors.
    2nd is how easy it is to match with other colors/body parts, basically a safe color to play/mod with.
    3rd is safety, other people are aware of your car at night because it reflects light the best.

• Mustafa on Jan 04, 2017 at 8:10 am

Solid colour white give you RM500 off your car price….that’s why it is popular….those days you only get white and red as solidcolours….hahaha

• kereta_lembu on Jan 04, 2017 at 1:34 pm

Its all a matter of perception and how people jump on the bandwagon of style & fashion. I remember there was once Silver was the in color and white was only used for vans, ambulances etc…wasn’t cool back then. Now, people say Silver is dull, but people still buy them purely because its easier to maintain compared to white or black.