Proton Ertiga – 1,400 bookings for the MPV since launch; no plans to introduce diesel variant here

Proton has received around 1,400 bookings for its new Ertiga since the MPV’s introduction last November, with about 350 vehicles having been delivered to customers. The numbers so far fall in line with the automaker’s projection of shifting 1,500 units of the B-segment offering a month.

The company added that Metal Grey was the most popular colour choice out of the four available, with Ruby Red being the next favourite shade among buyers. The four-star ASEAN NCAP-rated people mover – which is a rebadged Suzuki Ertiga – is available in three 1.4 litre petrol forms, an Executive manual (RM58,800) and Executive automatic (RM61,800) as well as a range-topping Executive Plus auto (RM64,800).

In related news, Suzuki is set to launch the Ertiga Smart Hybrid ZDI SHVS diesel variant this month in Indonesia, but Proton said the model – which is powered by a D13A 1.3 litre DDiS turbodiesel offering 90 PS and 200 Nm, and paired with a five-speed manual gearbox – is not under consideration for our market.

“We have no plans to bring in the diesel Ertiga. We have a 1,500 unit per month target for the car, numbers that are comfortable for a small MPV, and the current model meets these requirements,” Proton Edar CEO Rohime Shafie told reporters.

GALLERY: Proton Ertiga Executive Plus

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• farghmee on Jan 05, 2017 at 4:33 pm

proton pls put VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Congkak on Jan 05, 2017 at 4:39 pm

Honda BR-V > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jan 06, 2017 at 6:06 am

Hopefully Malaysians wont make the same mistake for buying brv at 90k the same they did with freed at 130k…remember its just a 3rd world car…dont be fooled by the H logo…buy smart

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 05, 2017 at 4:48 pm

Proton love to goreng. Like 15,000 bookings for Persona and so many bookings for Iriz.

But end of the month or year, sales figures show otherwise.

Proton needs to be honest. People can book as much as you want. But half the people booking got no job, how the loan going to be approved?

Typical sales team, simply sign up as much people as they can. This is like last time sell handphone. Handphone seller always try to persuade you to sign up postpoad and get line cause he gets commission of RM100 by the network.

Same with Proton. Simply sign as many bookings but only 10% qualify for loans to be approved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 27
      • Faiz Roslan on Jan 05, 2017 at 6:38 pm

Bookings include expression of interest by government ministries and agencies. Nothing wrong with that because we must support the government. Boost domestic spending to guarantee double digit growth like the government had always delivered since merdeka. – Faiz Roslan CEng

• Albert on Jan 05, 2017 at 8:36 pm

Kinte
        1400 bookings…big hoo haa.STILL LOSING MONEY.
        PROTONG is going to ask for another BAILOUT SOON.
        They sold less than 60000 cars in 2016.
        Another RECORD LOSS.At least rm250 juta come April 1.
        hONDA sold 30,000 cars more than P1,can u imagine how bad is P1 now.
        Even a smart chimp can use the computer to sell a rebadged Suzuki.Whats the big deal?

• Kinte kinte on Jan 05, 2017 at 10:44 pm

A Proton basher. “Only 10 percent qualify for Loan” You are dreaming.

• ahmad hadi on Jan 06, 2017 at 12:38 pm

As usual. Boost about high bookings but later figures showed poor sales. They will then blame loan rejection again as the reason of poor sales

• Pls ask jepunis overlord put VSC 1st….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
      • Faiz Roslan on Jan 05, 2017 at 6:34 pm

We must fully support effort by Proton. It’s a small price to pay. We can live without VSC just like we have lived with GST. We all owe the government our unrelenting loyalty so let’s bring back the good old days when everyone had a Wira. No VSC then but today we are still alive and kickin’! – Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
      • johorian on Jan 05, 2017 at 11:50 pm

please ask p1 dont take away the vsc..

• Aragon on Jan 05, 2017 at 7:17 pm

Some people still dont understand. Ertiga originally build without ESC by Suzuki as it target to low income people. You cant just simply put ESC like that when the platform doesnt suppport it. It need a major modification to the platform and will add the cost. Which is why Proton decide to launch it as it be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
      • driver on Jan 06, 2017 at 9:04 am

… and Suzuki only allow proton to take the car as it is.. except change the logo.

I’ve test driven it. It’s comfy, NVH is very good. But handling, is less to my liking. Don’t take my words, every man has his preference. So go and have a spin for yourself.

• farghmee on Jan 06, 2017 at 9:50 am

correct me if im wrong.

if a car got ABS & EBD, i thought ESC can be applied?

well it needs hardwares but that wont be as big as football.

since ertiga is swift-based, more or less the system will be adopted from swift itself.
        so last time, swift in japan did not have ESC?

im not talking about structure/chassis, but tiny hardwares & software.

last time saga doesnt have ESC, now it has ESC.
        i believe saga blm/flx shares the same chassis as the current saga (“saga-audi”).

but that are my rants..hahaha

• Its hardware & software. ABS&EBD module need add another sensor each wheel, the wirings need to be compatible or replaced, brake system need to be reprogram, ECUs (yes, more than 1) need to be reprogram, dash meter need to be compatible, then need to test in all conditions (normal, gravel, sandy, wet, very wet, snow).

But for rebadge, its at the mercy of jepunis overlord wanna gip or not.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jan 06, 2017 at 5:52 am

Value for money…looks funky on the road…more choices for paultan readers who love to complaint a lot…not sure why…their lives must be miserable…pity these people…

• Raja Celup on Jan 05, 2017 at 4:34 pm

Most of the buyers surely put back the Suzuki logo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • Albert on Jan 05, 2017 at 8:30 pm

Raja Celup
      You r damn right.I saw a Perdana(Pondana) with Honda logo.The Protong tiger logo was missing.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jan 06, 2017 at 5:56 am

The way you put bmw logo on great wall car issit…shy shy issit

• More pipu change myvi to toyotaik or or daihasut or boon or passo logos

• Arif Ab Rahman on Jan 05, 2017 at 4:36 pm

Syabas P1! Sokonglah barangan jenama tempatan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 20
    • Hot dog on Jan 05, 2017 at 11:59 pm

Kan rakyat sudah lama sonkong ! Tapi hidup tak hidup adalah depending itself , bro !

• Ertika fans on Jan 05, 2017 at 4:48 pm

Since launched, still can not meet 1500 per month target as the price too high alr, better choose for alza.
    If price range RM 50k, may become a hot cake & tahniah to proton become top selling of Malaysia brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • thepolygonal on Jan 05, 2017 at 5:05 pm

“We have a 1,500 unit per month target for the car, numbers that are comfortable for a small MPV” …comfortable… I guess he is happy with where he is and won’t fight to get more… mcm tak ada semangat sudah… aii kesian Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Er3 is not projected as volume seller, deswai they din spend money R&D new car for this segment. Volume seller goes to Saga3 & Persona2, & Exora.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Mikey on Jan 05, 2017 at 9:36 pm

Are U saying P1 didn’t do their homework B4 they project 1,500 unit per month isit !?

Since they didn’t use $$$ for R & D, they should sell it cheaper than Alza. Oh Wai

• U seem to have trouble comprehending things in 2017.

1) P1 project sales @ 1500.
          2) They got @ 1400.
          3) It shows their estimate is quite spot-on.
          4) Wise decision not to spend much R&D for this car then.
          5) Since it rebadge, so still need to pay royalty to jujuki.
          6) CKD kits r imported in, so cost cannot be brought down unless jujuki willing to localise parts.
          7) Therefore ini semua salah jepunis overlords.

Adik boleh paham?

• MrDDR on Jan 08, 2017 at 4:01 pm

Ooo John. Target is 1500 sold per month or 1500 booking per month? You know what I means?

By the way, what’s wrong if able to sell more than 1500? Higher the volume translate to higher profit. That’s what Proton needed.

• passion on Jan 05, 2017 at 5:05 pm

saw it on the road. quite good.more choices for all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • contender on Jan 05, 2017 at 5:06 pm

Proton Erriga at the price point seems better buy than Honda BR-V that has just been launched or even Toyota Avanza / Sienta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • driver on Jan 06, 2017 at 9:06 am

BR-V is based on Brio, which is A-segment. Haven’t gone to see it for myself, but that’s what the article says..

• komarad on Jan 05, 2017 at 5:59 pm

better buy exora turboooo than er3..

• “We have no plans to bring in the diesel Ertiga. We have a 1,500 unit per month target for the car, numbers that are comfortable for a small MPV, and the current model meets these requirements,” Proton Edar CEO Rohime Shafie told reporters.

Sounds very arrogant to me. Bring more choices, add variety to the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Wasted that diesel not incoming but hes being practical. Too many variant means too many stock keeping, not gud as cash is tied there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • 1400 bookings? round up figure?

how many cancelled bookings for honda brv? :D

• Ben Yap on Jan 06, 2017 at 10:07 am

malaysia don’t care about design. it’s all about price.

• Huegue on Jan 07, 2017 at 2:39 pm

They don’t care about design and price. They only care about brand

• passion on Jan 06, 2017 at 10:23 am

when inspira came out all standby mitsu badge d.

• Firdaus on Jan 06, 2017 at 10:32 am

another BS from protong….
    1400 bookings but none on the road..
    oh wait…first delivery will be in 2020!

• Faeez on Jan 08, 2017 at 12:12 am

It’s December. Everyone waiting to register their ERTIGA on 2017. Will see bunch of ERTIGA during Chinese New year

• Honda Brv has traction control and fuel saver CVT gear box and with SUV design.

Proton only good at getting the old junk from japanese with 4 speed old gear box and dated engine/design. They should bring in the latest diesel engine from Suzuki to beat the Alza.

This apply to the rebadged old accord costing RM 110K. With this money, you can go for the Elegant Civic.

Proton dont even know what to re-badge for a car.( should be getting the latest model or engine) How they going to survive?

Look at Perodua, latest dual VVTI engine is in the pipeline of production.

• Perdana2 is a much much bigger car and more luxurious compared to civic. Diffrnt cars for diffrnt needs.