Additional Automated Enforcement System (AES) cameras will be installed at seven crash hotspots, according to Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai in a report by Sin Chew Daily via The Sun.

The cameras will be set up within Kampar, Perak, as well as Pagoh, Johor, and could be fitted in more areas as well. However, Liow denied claims on social media that more than 200 AES cameras will be installed throughout nationwide. He added that the AES system has never been cancelled and the existing 14 AES cameras are still in operation.

He did say that non-governmental organisations, highway authorities, and local governments have requested for these cameras to be installed at interchanges and traffic light junctions where accidents happened regularly, although did not disclose further details.

“The Transport Ministry installs AES cameras only at the request of local governments, non-governmental organisations and the public, and not according to its own whims,” he said. On a related matter, Liow stated that the AES has been incorporated into the Automated Awareness Safety System (AWAS), which also includes the Kejara demerit points programme.