Delayed AWAS system to be implemented next year

camera-trap-speed

An update on the Automated Awareness Safety System (AWAS), which combines the Automated Enforcement System (AES) and Kejara demerit points programme. The integrated system, announced in February and originally slated to begin in May, is expected to be implemented early next year, Bernama reports.

According to deputy transport minister Datuk Ab Aziz Kaprawi said AWAS was ready to be implemented and will be fully operational in accident-prone areas. “More cameras will be installed in accident-prone areas in efforts to reduce the number of accidents,” he said.

Through AWAS, a driver will be issued a warning if he/she has accumulated 20 demerit points, and the next 20 demerit points will result in a driving licence suspension, with a further 20 demerit points translating to a revocation of the driving licence.

Current summonses held by traffic offenders will not affect their demerit points once the system is implemented, it was previously reported. Demerit points are given depending on the severity of the offences, ranging from five to 15 points.

The purpose of AWAS is to discipline road users, according to transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, who has said the system will be more effective than issuing high fines for traffic offences.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 17, 2016 at 11:53 am

but does this apply to motorcyclists? speeding like crazy, always fly across traffic lights rempit here rempit there….say la…this awas is to ensure duit masuk more into pocket

• RicoT on Nov 17, 2016 at 2:39 pm

Doesn’t apply to off-duty menteri, dato seri, tan Sri car. Their saman will mysteriously disappears. Poof~

• Salam Sejahtera on Nov 17, 2016 at 12:05 pm

inb4 ini mesti dah dedak nie….

• Kunta bin Kinte on Nov 17, 2016 at 12:22 pm

No matter what system you have, nothing will work when your PDRM officers are asking for money on the road. 9 out of 10 officers at road block do this. It is a Malaysian fact.

Then, even if you kena saman also, when you go to balai, immediately a seargeant will ask you himself whether he can quietly write off your saman with no receipt. RM50 boleh selesai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • Yong Tau Fu on Nov 17, 2016 at 3:08 pm

Idiot always blaming someone. If police ask for a bribe then, just be a law abiding citizens report him or just pay your summoned. If you pay the bribe then you are his accomplice. Bribery only happened involving two parties. In this case. The police and the offender. If bribery happen when you pay summoned the corrupt one is you and the police, there is no one party guilty in bribery. There is always two, the giver and the one who accept. Moral of the story, if 9 of 10 police officers is corrupt, then there is also 9 of 10 citizen of Malaysia that is also corrupt. You, me and the police are the same.. we are living in corrupted society…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • It’s a known fact that automated trap systems CAUSE accidents, not reduce them. IF they are serious about road safety they should put in the effort to end corruption at the JPJ and all the lesen terbang business.

Another project to enrich certain well connected people is what this is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • Where is this fact of urs, cuz if its true they Switzerland wud have accident at every corner, lor

• Let me tell you systems do not cause accidents. Reckless drivers do.

• Where did you get your facts from dude? Zimbabwe?

• Bini4Best on Nov 17, 2016 at 9:55 pm

hahahaha, this joke is really the best for year 2016….even though 2016 is 1.5 months away…

Bunch of jokers….