Lexus LS 500h – first photo revealed, Geneva debut

One month after the new Lexus LS 500 made its world premiere at the Detroit Auto Show, Lexus is set to pull the wraps off the hybrid version of the fifth-generation luxury sedan – the LS 500h – at next month’s 2017 Geneva Motor Show. So far, the company has only released one photo, which you can see above.

No details have been made available, either, but expect it to feature the same powertrain as the LC 500h coupé. That car is powered by a 3.5 litre direct-injected Dual VVT-i V6 that produces 294 hp at 6,600 rpm and 348 Nm of torque at 4,900 rpm, mated to an electric motor and a 44.6 kW lithium-ion battery to deliver a total system output of 354 hp.

The Multi Stage Hybrid system, as it is called, also features a four-speed automatic gearbox for a more direct driving feel. The new transmission replaces the reduction gear that amplifies the engine’s output in a traditional hybrid, allowing much greater drive power to be generated when accelerating off the line.

The system simulates the feel of a 10-speed gearbox – the eCVT has three virtual ratios, multiplied to nine through the auto’s first three ratios; the final, fourth gear is the 10th virtual ratio. This enables engine speed to rise in a linear and direct manner under acceleration, eliminating the typical CVT “rubber band” effect.

Lexus LS 500

Elsewhere, expect the LS 500h to come with the same accoutrements as the LS 500, including optional 28-way power adjustable front seats, rear seats that can be reclined up to 48 degrees, heating, cooling and massage functions front and rear, a 12.3-inch centre display and the world’s largest head-up display, measuring a whopping 24 inches diagonally.

Also available is Active Noise Control, a 3D-surround Mark Levinson sound system with in-ceiling array speakers as well as Lexus Safety System + with pedestrian detection and avoidance. Another new feature is Lexus CoDrive that provides semi-autonomous driving on highways.

Longer (than even the outgoing long-wheelbase model), lower and wider than before, the new LS is based on Lexus’ new global architecture for luxury vehicles (GA-L) – first used on the LC – which promises to improved handling agility and performance without sacrificing comfort. A diet of lightweight materials including ultra-high tensile steel sheet and aluminium contribute to carve over 90 kg from the platform and body alone.

GALLERY: 2018 Lexus LS 500

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Maqsiat Club Attendants on Feb 15, 2017 at 2:32 pm

hmm…Lexus when are you gonna make luxury van MPV?

• Mikey on Feb 15, 2017 at 3:51 pm

Some say the Lexus brand is a Glorified Toyota. The Americans say it’s the best wheels ever made by Toyota. The Hongkies/Chinese drives it as a symbol of success even if it’s an expensive Toyota.

M’sian, I mean most bashers here do not like anything Toyota hence bashing anything Toyota is their favorite past time.

B4 U bash this car, please make an appointment to test at least the smallest Lexus B4 U start to bash a Lexus. They happen to be one of the finest car ever engineered by Toyota/Lexus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • leexus on Feb 15, 2017 at 5:28 pm

Lexus = glorified toyota, what so special bout it?

• Albert on Feb 15, 2017 at 5:57 pm

THen,may I ask What so special about the Pondana,a glorified 8th generation Accord?
        Got GAYA,STATUS,UMMPH?
        Every car,like football clubs have supporters.
        It is addictive.
        Lexus to u is poison.But to Sameloor…he is aiming for his 5th Lexus.
        Yours truly is aiming for the latest Rolls Royce.

• RavenAii (Member) on Feb 15, 2017 at 11:55 pm

Perdana is a glorified Accord? Is that the way you thought it to be? Wow. Anyway, Lexus is only a more luxury version of Toyota vehicles. There is nothing special about Lexus tbh. Only one level upwards in terms of material quality. The powertrains and chassis is the same.

• alldisc on Feb 16, 2017 at 9:45 am

Care to share what Lexus model is also a Toyota model? Lexus cars now are all stand alone luxury premium models

• Mikey on Feb 15, 2017 at 6:55 pm

leexus, U are right, it is nothing special just like U.

• More like rebadged Toyota than “glorified” Toyota. LOL

• The other gloried toyota saleman on Feb 15, 2017 at 8:56 pm

Mikey you gloried Toyota salesman you. Nice one. Lets split the big commission.

• Mikey on Feb 15, 2017 at 11:56 pm

If U think I am good enough to be a T salesman, please do give some good words to Toyo bcos there is never enough $$$ for anyone of us here trolling. At least the commission are better than bashing here right ?!

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 15, 2017 at 8:29 pm

24 inch HUD! That’s just amazing when you consider the TV I used to watch in the 80s and 90s was about that size too.

• Alex259 on Feb 16, 2017 at 11:28 am

Flagship LS from Top Brand Lexus using CVT?? OMG!! i wonder where the selling point is?? it just same with Honda City, Jazz, Vios and……..those CVT JUNKS!