Mercedes-Benz E-Class Cabriolet teased, roof down

Mercedes-Benz has released a teaser of its upcoming E-Class Cabriolet, demonstrating its retractable fabric roof in movement ahead of its public showing at the Geneva Motor Show. As with the recently-launched coupe, the cabriolet is expected to adopt most of the sedan’s powertrain line-up comprising petrol and diesel variants, as well as a full-blooded AMG model – a first for a two-door E-Class.

The E-Class Cabriolet’s fabric top is said to take just 20 seconds to fully open or close, and as in Mercedes’ alfresco fashion, will come equipped with the automaker’s own Airscarf neck-heating and Aircap wind deflector systems.

Mercedes-Benz E-Class Cabriolet teased, roof down

Mercedes-Benz E-Klasse Cabriolet / BR 238 ;* Kraftstoffverbrauch kombiniert: 17,0-4,2 l/100 km; CO2-Emissionen kombiniert: 397-97 g/km
Mercedes-Benz E-Class Cabriolet / BR 238; * Fuel consumption combined: 17.0-4.2 l/100 km; Combined CO2 emissions: 397- 97 g/km

When the Cabriolet makes its debut, it will round out the E-Class line-up, with the sedan, long-wheelbase sedan, wagon, All-Terrain and coupe already launched.

Last year in its native Germany, Mercedes-Benz fell afoul of a patent rights law with the Airscarf system, which saw it ordered to disable the system and have related advertising material withdrawn. This temporary ruling ended last December, which means Airscarf business now proceeds as usual.

SPYSHOTS: Mercedes-Benz E-Class Cabriolet

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Mikey on Feb 27, 2017 at 4:10 pm

This E-Class Cabriolet’s uses a fabric top instead of solid top. It also mean it is NOT for M’sian market.

It is a classy Cabriolet all in all & just looking at the roof disappear in 20 sec is enough to convince me this fabulous car can turn into a Coupe or cabriolet will be a hit in California.

• Kelab Kunta on Feb 27, 2017 at 5:34 pm

Msia cannot use. Black asap from diesel lorry using Euro 2M will choke and kill you

• MX5 NB on Feb 28, 2017 at 8:51 pm

I actually prefer soft top than hard top. Yes, the risk is there that some joker cutting it open with a knife, but in my years of ownership, yet to happen to me touch wood.

Just don’t leave valuables visible inside your car. As for the car, 2 seater cars are not usually targeted by thief.

• Mikey on Feb 27, 2017 at 8:55 pm

Sorry Bro, U must be a …. to drive this car with the top open knowing that the lorry is belching thick asap/smoke in your face. U must think that the people that drive this car is a joke.

• Jimmy on Feb 27, 2017 at 10:18 pm

Kereta alang-alang.

• 12yrsold on Feb 28, 2017 at 8:41 am

Kunta, Mikey did say its NOT for M’sian market la. He did say its more suitable for California. Did you read his comment before writing ??