In the latest “Ops Samseng Jalanan”, an on-going effort by the police to rid Malaysian roads of motorcycle hooligans – colloquially known as mat rempit – 150 summons were issued and 59 motorcycles were seized. Held at the Kesas highway near Banting, Klang, it was reported by Harian Metro that “hundreds of mat rempit lost their minds upon spotting the police block” and rode dangerously to avoid police.
This included riding recklessly and against the flow of traffic, endangering both themselves and other road users. However, their efforts were to no avail as police had secured all highway entrances and exits.
According to Selangor Traffic Police investigation and enforcement chief, Superintendent Kamaludin Mohamad, 129 individuals and 120 motorcycles were detained and inspected during the operation held from midnight to 7 a.m. Out of these, 59 motorcycles were seized as well as eight other motorcycles abandoned as their owners fled the scene.
The summons were issued for offences such as not having a license, expired road tax, illegal number plates and others, with those being detained aged between 16 and 30. The operation involved about 100 police personnel, assisted by enforcement officers from the Klang Town Council and Kesas highway staff.
come to puchong….can sapu 100 bikes every saturday night. near the toll to usj. dont tell me u guys dont know !!
Puchong ada state backing….
The Government can build a special race track for Youths. They can race all they want on a track then. This could also propel Malaysia to become a motorsports hub. The youths are deprived of such facilities, thus leading people to race along highways.
For free ? who going pay for the maintenence ?? many peoples love reading… why don govt build more pustakaaan ????
Dear Faiz,I wonder how old are you to have such shallow mindset.
First of all, rempit is not a professional sports, not even a sport at all. More like sports for hooligans.
Second, the absence of a racetrack doesn’t grant you the rights to race on highway in any way. Highway is built for commuting purposes, never to race.
Lastly, even if you build 10 race tracks in KL itself will NEVER help curb the rempits from racing on streets.
Dear Faiz,I do understand your statement.I agree to a certain extent.What are you trying to imply here is by building racetracks it can reduce or eliminate completely this mat rempit issue.However the biggest problem is these mat rempit will never go to racetracks simply because safety have not been registered in their minds.So even if Malaysia have 500 racetracks,this problem will still persist.
Btw I wish my hometown has a racetrack.
1. Sepang circuit. Can split by half that is north track and south track.
2. Elite USJ SPeedway track.
3. Kuala Selangor track.
all above are in Selangor.
4. Melaka MIMC track.
5. Dato Sagor track, Perak.
6. Pasir Gudang track, Johor.
7. Jempol track (normally used for drag racing)
Never ending story, no way can get rid of it
Please do something on BHP Lebuhraya Cheras – Kajang / Kawasan Rehat Bukit Dukung / R&R Bukit Dukung , thank you
with the typical “”tak apa”” attitude….nothing much would be done…except occasional wayang kulit….
The cops are doing a great job! However they have 200.000 mat rempits to catch. Long way to go…
Good ah. 199,941 to go!!! Eventhough they are not able to catch every single one of them, this move may prevent new rempits from joining the pack and will discourage current rempits.
Keep up the good work PO PO….
Someone said a 1000 mile journey starts with the 1st step…
200.000 mat rempits. Polis & Army officer catch 1 each, easy Job.
Then Choco BAR shouts polis brutality and military state… oh wait..
All bikes seized should only be given back to this hell riders after 1/2 months. That will teach them a painful lesson without their transport.If they do not feel it how do they know…2 months without mobility they will think twice…
IMHO, I would prefer the police authority to confiscate and sell the bikes. Yes, SELL it off to a dealer.
The personnel who seizes the bike gets the money from the sales! This will encourage full motivation to catch ’em all!!!
If this can work, within 2 months the entire rempit community will be wiped out.
The other day ,I was at a hospital visiting a friend,with end stage renal failure.There, people of other races were also suffering,doing dialysis.
Here,we have these stupid fools who dont value life.
People with cancer and other terminal diseases want to live.Here these bastards ….better lock them up for a year and feed them with videos of hospital patients suffering.Maybe,after a year of solitary confinement….they finally insaf.
Maybe authority can make it a law those mat rempit who died from accident to donate their kidneys to end stage renal failure patients so can reduce dependency on dialysis. Only then they’ll value their life.
There is a brutal dictator near China who send his uncle to the dogs.
Where should we send these rempits?
After one month,they will roam the streets again.
IT is high time,we lock them up in jail.Fines will not do the job.
If they can kill innocent bystanders,why cant we send them to prison? We taxpayers do not mind taxes to imprison these wolves.
Don’t give back. Destroy the bikes. No ride no rempit. Problem solve.
DALAM usaha untuk mengurangkan kesalahan trafik, kerajaan perlu menjatuhkan hukuman berada dalam bilik mayat buat si pesalah.
Hukumannya, pesalah trafik itu perlu membantu staf hospital memandikan mayat serta mencuci dan menjaga bilik mayat bagi memberi kesedaran kepada mereka.
setuju bro !
And ahbengs choose to racing vios in slgr, so whats ur point? Racing too much?
6 Perodua Myvi berlumba di DUKE..Pajero di rempuh oleh Myvi yang memandu laju cuba untuk memotong ke lorong laju.
Happy famili tercampak keluar dari Pajero. Semoga Pandu cermat Jiwa selamat ….
What an idiot?! Police doing their job, wrong! Than include racial sentiment. I thought this is suppose to be a motor related reviews. Not political.
If U pay peanuts, U get…. Oh wait
Pam free patrol terus pergi race ke ???
PDRM. What is the main purpose of “Ops Samseng Jalanan”? Since they are riding recklessly, against the flow of traffic, endangering both themselves & other road users.
U have been empowered to seized the motorcycles, U have the power to do anything with it as they are acting illegally. If U return the Motors, U are giving them the “tools” to Rempit.
Seize motor, yes.
Power to do anything with it, no. Not unless its stolen, written off, illegally moded kau kau, or owner dun collect.
Unless all that above, motor still legally belongs to owner. Unlike contraband or illegal machines, polis cannot burn them with faiya. Need to gip back after sentence have been met.
Bagus! Terima Kasih Polis! Tolong sita motor semua! Jikalau motor dilepaskan, sila cari tuan punya motor dengan no plate motorsikal.
Sesal dahulu berpendapatan, sesal kemudian tidak berguna. Macam mat rempit. Semua tak guna membahayakan orang sahaja.
I would gladly support the police to use whipping punishment on rempits. If underage, the parents shall be whipped instead due to being irresponsible , neglecting the children while keep making more and more offspring.
You put them in jail is only wasting food and space. Just give 50 lashes one time, subsequent offenders 50 lashes X number of repeated offense. That will be fair and serve as a deterrent.
This is the one endangering innocent people. Not Ahlong. Not massage centre, Not karaoke, Not mesin judi.
It’s mat rempit and mat ragut that need to be stopped.
I support all efforts in making our roads safer not only for these rempits, but also for other road users. A reminder to all: The road is not a playground. It is a place which can bring death.
that is a generation problem where protection against the cronies killing all young generation that working hard to get reward is not a case, and just want G to give $ and blame to r & r
should cane them gao gao until they can’t sit on motorbike for several weeks, summon is useless. If their parents can’t teach them, the government must give them a lesson
Mat rempit caught should be required to do community services…like cuci tandas awam for a month….
Try to run away and endanger others? Simple solution: Shoot. Try to take them down as quickly as possible, before they can hurt anyone.
Lagi mo bagi petrol free.. fml
Compilation of good suggestions:
1. Seize and destroy the bikes like they were drug or contraband busts.
2. Forget the racing track for rempits, mat rempits are society’s disease. To build this track is like a fisherman’s game of catch & release. The society hires true problem solver, not fishermen.
3. Since they have so much free time to race, have them do community services for a long long time or it’s jail time for those who refused. A lot of public facilities need cleaning and refurbishing.
4. Parents of underage riders, should be penalized as well.
5. Impose severe punishments for those with repeated mistakes or caught for the 2nd time and more.
First you give them free patrol and then you nab their mortor bikes !! Sweet … lol
Good Job Mr Policemen. Hope police in Senawang too can do the same!