SPIED: 2017 Honda CR-V caught testing in Malaysia

The 2017 Honda CR-V hasn’t even been launched in Thailand yet, but already the fifth-gen SUV has been caught on our shores on its way to Honda Malaysia’s plant in Pegoh, Melaka, courtesy of reader Kamal Kaiza. The massive tarp covering the car made identifying it difficult, but the distinctive turbine-design 18-inch six-spoke alloy wheels can just about be made out here.

Don’t expect much in the way of changes inside and out compared to the Thai-spec car, with the brand’s latest Solid Wing Face corporate front end, flared wheel arches and L-shaped LED tail lights. Range-topping models are set to gain LED headlights and fog lights, along with the aforementioned 18-inch alloys (17-inch items are standard-fit).

Inside, the Malaysian-market CR-V will likely be offered in seven-seater form, just like in Thailand. However, the NSX-style button gear selector – which replaces the US market’s traditional gearlever – isn’t likely to be fitted to our cars, seeing as it is only fitted to the diesel’s nine-speed automatic, which we probably won’t get.

Available kit in Thailand includes keyless entry with Walk Away Auto Lock, push-button start, wood trim, leather upholstery, all-round one-touch power windows and dual-zone automatic climate control with air vents for the second and third row.

Other features include a seven-inch Display Audio infotainment system with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity, an electronic parking brake and auto brake hold. A powered tailgate is standard on all models sold in the Land of Smiles, with top-spec variants gaining kick-operated handsfree opening. It remains to be seen if we’ll get the Remote Engine Start feature that’s missing on Thai-spec models.

Safety-wise, all Thai-spec models come with ABS with EBD and brake assist, Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA) and Agile Handling Assist (AHA) with brake-operated torque vectoring, with top-of-the-range models also gaining LaneWatch blind spot camera and a Driver Attention Monitor.

Although there’s no mention of the number of airbags on offer as yet, our CR-Vs will likely come with six airbags as standard, following the standard set by the Civic and facelifted Accord. Don’t hold your breath for the Honda Sensing suite of driver assists or Adaptive Cruise Control, however.

In Thailand, the CR-V is offered with a choice of two powertrains. The base unit is a carryover 2.4 litre K24 naturally-aspirated DOHC i-VTEC four-cylinder petrol mill producing 175 hp at 6,200 rpm and 225 Nm at 4,000 rpm. The Earth Dreams CVT from the Thai-market previous-generation facelift (we got a five-speed automatic transmission) has been retained as well.

The new range-topper is a 1.6 litre N16 DOHC i-DTEC turbodiesel from the outgoing European-market model, churning out 160 hp at 4,000 rpm and 350 Nm at 2,000 rpm. The oil burner is paired to a ZF nine-speed automatic gearbox. Both engines are available with either front- or all-wheel drive.

However, we’re placing our bets instead on our entry-level engine being the same 155 PS/190 Nm 2.0 litre R20 NA four-pot as before, albeit this time mated to a CVT instead of a five-speed auto.

Seeing as the Malaysian buying public is still averse to buying diesels, the Civic’s 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo mill is a more likely candidate for the range-topping engine, albeit tuned for more power to counteract the larger mass – 190 hp and 243 Nm in the case of the US-market model.

GALLERY: Thai-spec 2017 Honda CR-V

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Why such a heavy camo? We all know what it looks like lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 17, 2017 at 6:05 pm

Wow this must be a totally new design just for Malaysian market unlike the rest of the world…since local people are so hadap with honda therefore honda Malaysia decided to give something special especially for honda fanboys… wow cant wait..must have 3 exhausts then…wah..so crever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 16
      • Oasis on Mar 17, 2017 at 6:21 pm

Dah testing Aerodynamics! Terbaik!

• Operation Manager on Mar 17, 2017 at 6:29 pm

Nowaday within 1s by search engine will tell u 2017 CRV all looks, all spec… Why in Msia launch after all countries around the world still tease here tease there, cover here cover there…??? Isn’t completely NEW design from Honda Msia or otherwise only make us feel shame about u…

• Honda still stuck in 20th century car making unlike my bestest P2. We just G.Gear test our best selling Biza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Because other countries don’t get ducktail spoiler.

• Jobless on Mar 18, 2017 at 7:35 am

To put a tarp over the CRV and drive it around in public roads is very silly of Honda and quite dangerous too. Firstly the view is very limited with the windows mostly covered and the flapping loose parts of the tarp might hit other motorists. If I were a policeman I’d issue the driver a summons. In any case everybody already know how the car looks like so why go overboard with the camo. Not many people really care about how a car aimed for soccer mums looks like.

• Wow! A Volvo SUV at half the price!
    CRV > XC90
    Honda > Volvo China

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
  • arowana on Mar 17, 2017 at 5:06 pm

jeez on that center console

• I got a big laugh from this. Usually if you put that much of tarp on a car it is usually on a flatbed lorry or if being driven usually the body is covered in stickers or beg hitam sampah. First time I actually see a secret new car model being DRIVEN WITH THE TARP ON. LOL LOL LOL, you guys made my day lah honda malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Diesel CRV please on Mar 17, 2017 at 5:16 pm

Please Honda Malaysia.. please

Diesel power please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Elchino on Mar 18, 2017 at 6:42 pm

Yes, I have already informed my HONDA salesman that I will be booking the diesel car as I have switched over from my original plan to get a 2.2 diesel cx5. Please, please, bring in the diesel please!

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 17, 2017 at 5:19 pm

Wow. Very quick. And very sharp eyes by the photograper to notice it. If I’m not mistaken, even Europe has not started selling the new CRV yet.

• civicx on Mar 17, 2017 at 5:24 pm

well done honda malaysia..cant wait to see it at malaysia

• Ruslan Bahari on Mar 17, 2017 at 5:58 pm

Go live in the US lah. After all, you’re Kunta Kinte.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 46
    • john is otak batu on Mar 18, 2017 at 10:07 am

Eh, Ruslan ayam kampong. this is a free society.
      Everybody can expresses their feelings. Not the old tok peghulu days amymore!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Yeah, express their feelings freely, mind you there is no such things as free speech

• The all new Civic launched in Malaysia 3 months after Thailand. Malaysia’s CR-V in end June?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Hantu on Mar 17, 2017 at 10:14 pm

Honda salesman said they will go for product briefings end of May. So June or July will be the launching date

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 18, 2017 at 12:05 am

Most possibly and what’s why they are testing it now when it hasn’t even launched in Thailand yet. I believe Honda Malaysia wants to close the gap between Thailand n Malaysian launches which is good news. Now if they can price the top spec CRV just below 170k that would make a lot of people happy.

• 150k range is considered cheap, bro. No complaint on it. It come to affordability. You can always turn to exora. You cant be seriously thinking crv selling at exora price? Are you?
    In that case, none proton n perodua will survive, togather the chain of kroni supplier. Will only happen in your dream.
    So work hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 26
  • go blame it on malaysia auto tax system..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 17, 2017 at 6:52 pm

waiting for new cx5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 21
    • seancorr (Member) on Mar 18, 2017 at 12:01 am

I didn’t really like it when all Mazda did was to modify the existing architecture of the current CX5 and call it an all new model. Chassis, drive and power train are all tweaked instead when everyone moved on. Sure in the interior looks better but all ur getting is just ‘new paint’ on an old model. Don’t get me wrong it sort of handles better and is more quiet..but that’s just it.

• Atkinson on Mar 20, 2017 at 11:08 am

The new CX5 is bigger, classier and better equipped than the BMW X1

• Tax the rich…

• Crv G3 owner on Mar 17, 2017 at 8:46 pm

Why HM don’t plan to bring the turbodiesel unit? Apa ingat org Malaysia tak mampu ke?

• Maria on Mar 17, 2017 at 10:39 pm

Wow really fast..HM for sure want to eat toyolta market share with gearing up to launch new CRV..I just hope they could bring Vtec turbo and diesel to msia…maybe there is a market for people who want power with efficiency of diesel….Please HM make this come true

• Megane on Mar 17, 2017 at 10:40 pm

I thought Malaysian army had just bought a new tank ! Honda Malaysia hahaha . Funny la you guys . April Fool in next month ok. There are thousands of pics of new CRV . Sheesh

• J Welinkar on Mar 17, 2017 at 10:55 pm

Yet another launch by Honda Malaysia. Question is……can the service centre’s cope ? I think not !!!! When you have a complicated issue to rectify, you will get bounced around between the service centre and Honda Malaysia. Be mindful as to which models you choose, apparently on the HR-V. S (base model), there is a thermostat dial to control the temperature, but this is superficial, it’s a ‘dummy’ switch ! When you bring this up with Honda, they will take you round the Merry-go-round !!! So to save MYR 10k to buy the base model, you will get ripped of. Honda’s credibility is called into question.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 17, 2017 at 11:44 pm

Alamak so we are going to get the weak N/A 2.0l again? Malaysia needs some diesel love…

• Steve on Mar 19, 2017 at 8:07 pm

If the Base model is the 2.0L engine, no buy. Must come with the 1.5L turbo

• Steve on Mar 19, 2017 at 8:11 pm

I’m torn between this and the new cx-5. If this Base cr-v comes with 2.0L R-series engine, I will definitely gravitate towards the cx-5

• William on Mar 18, 2017 at 9:28 am

Gear become button ? Unwise honda cvr !!!

• Maria on Mar 18, 2017 at 1:36 pm

Wow HM really fast to bring this car to Malaysia. I really hope that HM could bring VTEC turbo and diesel engine only for Malaysia.Both are friendly on roadtax and drink less feul than current NA engine. The most important is it has power to pull those heavy car..

• mackl on Mar 19, 2017 at 6:54 pm

I heard Honda will conduct briefing on the new CRV to its sale personnel on the 9 May. No clue whether it will be 5 or 7-seater. Cant wait for its launch. However, new CX-5 is sexy too….

• Pls bring in 5 seater with tonnage cover or 7 seater with tonnage cover when most 2 seat most rear not used. I see many suv or mpv without cover got break in.

AND full leather seat… not half leather. The fake leather on half leather cannot stand our weather. Based on my experience with honda malaysia half-leather, after 3 years, it starts blister and NOT cover under warranty.

• Bash Basher on Mar 20, 2017 at 8:13 am

Another factor is our depreciating value in RM which makes everything else more expensive for us.

• waters on Mar 20, 2017 at 8:57 am

Driving with all that tarp on must’ve been dangerous. The cops should have stopped them.

I’m sure it’s in violation of some road safety code.

• drMpower on Mar 21, 2017 at 7:47 pm

Is that legal?

• Zamos on May 17, 2017 at 8:44 pm

Damm…i though is it war truck…hihihi