SPYSHOTS: 2018 Honda Accord strips some camo

The long-serving Honda Accord is due for a replacement now, especially with the new, sportier and more dynamic 2018 Toyota Camry turning up the wick. The next-generation model has been caught being tested for some time, but the latest spyshots show the D-segment sedan wearing a bit less disguise.

Photos show a front end that is closer in look to the latest Civic, with LED headlights (likely optional) joined by a large chrome bar. Adding to the aggressive face is a large grille that’s similar to the current Accord Hybrid sold in Japan, bringing the fight to the Gundam-faced Camry.

Along the side, it’s clear that the Accord will adopt the Civic’s fastback styling, with a roofline that stretches out towards the rear of the car. Interestingly, the fast rear windscreen rake echoes that of the Proton Perdana, which is built on the bones of the eighth-generation Accord…

Based on the Civic, the tenth-generation Accord will likely utilise the same engines as the US-market CR-V, including a 2.4 litre naturally-aspirated DOHC i-VTEC direct-injected four-cylinder petrol mill delivering 184 hp at 6,400 rpm and 244 Nm of torque at 3,900 rpm. Honda also confirmed a 1.5 litre DOHC VTC turbo engine – in the CR-V, it produces 190 hp at 5,600 rpm and 243 Nm from 2,000 to 5,000 rpm.

One thing to note here – unlike the Malaysian-market Camry, which will get its own, more uncle-friendly styling separate from the North American version, our Accord is shared with the US, so what you see is pretty much what you’ll get.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Malim Kundang on Apr 18, 2017 at 10:36 am

Perdana2 Accord sama je

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • K Kinte on Apr 18, 2017 at 1:30 pm

Funny, people rather pay RM20k more and get a real Accord than the fake Accordana Perdana.

If there are no Government orders for the Perdana, sales would be ZERO

• It’s not just about the sale price, it’s also about the after sales. Get accordana and you will be going back to Proton service centre, get accord and you will be going to Honda service centre. I don think many ppl would dispute that there is a significant gap in terms of quality of after sales service between between Proton and Accord.

• Still no hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Accord10 copies Perdana2 which evolves from Accord8? Wow!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
  • Honda oso going for unified face just like audi/mesidis. Luckily not their suvs. Mesidis suvs front sux!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Mana kunta on Apr 18, 2017 at 11:21 am

Must win over new camry on interior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Sarin Gas MOAB on Apr 18, 2017 at 1:21 pm

Camry interior failed as the exterior.Dude,open your eyes and shut your mouth.

• Lots of confusion between accord and Camry here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Mikey on Apr 18, 2017 at 11:26 am

2 days ago, while window shopping at the Puchong jaya showroom, the SA told me the New Accord/CRV will be coming SOON. He told me the interior quality will be better than the current Accord/CRV.

While looking at the current Accord & tested it, the current Accord feel top notch. The looks are more sporty compare to the Camry & sure enough, the handling is sporty too compare to the softer Camry.

Even though i told the SA I was only window shopping, he took the time to explain the pros & cons of it’s products without criticizing another car/brand. I must say this SA are well trained. It pale in comparison to what I encounter at the P1 showroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 27
    • But its still far better than ur toyota showroom. No business, produk sux to max, yet when customer walk in dun bother serve them but continue to use ipong bash nonstop in PT. Apa dah jadik? No wonder toyota sales like rockfall

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 32
      • Sarin Gas MOAB Mouth on Apr 18, 2017 at 1:25 pm

Proton should be abolish asap.It’s not a car,it’s a cow

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
        • Yes. Abolish it and pump more into public transport. Lets make PM vision gr8!

• sohhai on Apr 18, 2017 at 12:09 pm

New CR-V will be end of this year but this new Accord will only hit our shores 2H next year earliest

• Still can’t beat Camry globally after so many years.

• Sense on Apr 18, 2017 at 11:29 am

Along the side, it’s clear that the Camry will adopt the Civic’s fastback styling,

You mean Accord?

• applegreen on Apr 18, 2017 at 11:39 am

Hi Jonathan, please define uncle-friendly-styling for me?

:D

• L.0.T. HELL on Apr 18, 2017 at 1:30 pm

No need Jonathan,I’ll explain to this bloke for you.Uncle friendly styling is like your daddy or grandpa type of design that settle with just usual conventional withot neuro-brain function connecting..simple word Toyota design is DULL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Siegfried on Apr 18, 2017 at 2:07 pm

Boy has Paultan turned into a Honda fanboy?

Jokes aside, how does Honda manage to bring US models over here and not have different strategies by region?

• C. P. MOHAN on Apr 18, 2017 at 3:23 pm

I know what Siegfried is alluding too, it is not the design or the left-hand drive but THE WHOLE PACKAGE.

• al-kunti on Apr 18, 2017 at 9:40 pm

dang son
    The design could surprise on the upside. I’m definitely gonna skip the current Civic and wait to see what this new Accord can offer.
    Here’s hoping the styling could blow people out of the water, new turbo engine and efficient gearbox, either a CVT or honda’s new 9-speeder.
    Don’t hate on me, I am fine with CVT and I prefer my car to be a steady and efficient highway cruiser.

• Yang Berotakudang on Jun 09, 2017 at 10:32 am

Walao.. honda copy proton design