April 2017 week four fuel pricing – petrol, diesel all up!

It’s Wednesday and we’re coming into the fourth week of Malaysia’s new weekly fuel prices. Continuing the trend set last week, it’s all up across the board again.

Starting tomorrow, for the week April 20 to 26, RON 95 will be priced at RM2.27 per litre (up three sen compared to the previous week), with RON 97 at RM2.54 per litre (up two sen). As for diesel, Euro 2M will be RM2.21 per litre (up five sen), with Euro 5 diesel at RM2.31 per litre (up five sen).

This is the fourth update of the weekly price announcements. Compared to March 2017 prices – before the system was implemented – RON 95 is down three sen, RON 97 down six sen, while diesel is up one sen.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia's motoring hacks. A car's technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he's usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express frustration over the recent fuel price hike in April 2017, questioning the transparency and fairness of the weekly fuel adjustment system, which many see as a manipulation rather than reflecting actual market prices. Several mention that prices are artificially inflated, with some noticing discrepancies between RON95 and RON97 increases, and concern over GST implications. There is widespread dissatisfaction with how the government manages fuel pricing, feeling that consumers unfairly shoulder the burden while prices continue to rise regardless of global oil trends. Many comments also highlight the impact on cost of living, food prices, and transportation, with some sarcastic remarks on government motives and economic policies. Overall, sentiments are predominantly negative, criticizing the perceived exploitation and lack of genuine accountability.

• Iskandar on Apr 19, 2017 at 5:26 pm

Something really wrong with current calculation. Are they still using MOPS to calculate? Should reduce by RM0.01 rather than increase RM0.03 for RON95

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 16
    • K Kinte on Apr 19, 2017 at 5:56 pm

What happened to the price war by PDAM??? So many weeks passed so senyap.

It looks like PDAM is supreme and nobody can tell them to do anything. Infact PDAM is the Government and they are running the country.

Now PDAM have decided not to have any competition. We all must kow tow

Also when price go up PDAM keep silent. When price go down PDAM demand from Government compensation!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 3
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 879
        • pojie on Apr 19, 2017 at 7:11 pm

your view is one-dimensional as usual

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
          • Ipoh mali on Apr 19, 2017 at 7:22 pm

Make your thumb downs powerrr like ur vote !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 166 Thumb down 3
          • K Kinte on Apr 19, 2017 at 8:39 pm

Malaysia is the only oil producing country that sells its fuel to its rakyat overpriced.

All over the world, oil producing country sell their fuel super cheap to their rakyat except Malaysia. For example, Saudi sells USD25 cents (RM1.10). Brunei sells below RM1

Anyway, let us assume global prices. Let us assume we are not oil producing nation. We are still overpaying by more than 80sen per litre. By right, processed Ron 95 fuel should not be more than RM1.50 per litre. We are paying about 70 sen more per litre

Assuming one fills his 40 litre tank 7 times a month, one would overpay the Government by (RM28 x 7). About RM200

Calculate that by 10 million motorist. Gomen makes BILLIONS extra per month.

And yet, our hospitals have no medicine!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 161 Thumb down 10
          • Hamlet on Apr 19, 2017 at 8:56 pm

It is a sarcastic remark. Please do not interpret the message literally.

• Nancy Lou on Apr 19, 2017 at 11:33 pm

Just ignore him, end of story.

• Psycho Ohwai on Apr 20, 2017 at 6:57 am

Our car prices also highest in the world. now kena hantam with high petrol oso

• Maybe the only country in olanet earth for you is malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • Psycho Ohwai on Apr 20, 2017 at 6:59 am

let us hope prices of petrol come down

• Maybe the only country in planet earth for you is Malaysia. Then, your statement can be considered reasonable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
        • StarbucksKopi on Apr 19, 2017 at 9:38 pm

because you don’t pump petrol and post in instagram, but paying RM5-6 for a cheese tart or RM15-20 for a coffee can do so!

• Nancy Liu on Apr 19, 2017 at 10:01 pm

See the same post from this nonsense guy again, He repeat same fake news every week. Find a life Mr.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
        • John Ohwai Mental Asylum on Apr 19, 2017 at 10:16 pm

440 thumbs down. This is a record. Shows how people think about you. Repent bro

• Nancy Ling on Apr 19, 2017 at 10:17 pm

Long time already I knew this john is really dumb

• Honda on Apr 20, 2017 at 9:45 am

shut up john. as I mentioned previously, your comments are not needed here as you are insensitive to Rakyat’s needs and pains. Get lost!!!

• K Kinte on Apr 20, 2017 at 11:24 am

OMG OMG 765 dislikes. Of course, he will blame people who thumbs him down

• Albert on Apr 19, 2017 at 7:40 pm

Do u know how the formula works?
        By right ,world oil prices trending south but our pump price reverseS the trend and SHOOTs UP.
        It is a WHIMS AND FANCIES FORMULA.
        The end result…the rakyat ,including tokok John have to bear escalating petroleum prices while those in authority,continue to be driven in Spanco maintained Perdanas.
        To add salt to injury,many property owners have received notices to “explain real estate purchases”the last few years.Many businesses may have received ” tak cukup cukai remitted to …”.
        On top of GSt,the rakyat have to empty their pockets to pay “tak cukup tax “.
        Now,we have to makan kanji cos someone is all out to make us suffer while they can afford to dine in all expenses paid conferences in 7star hotels.
        Car buyers and owners,be very prepared for the Rm3/litre scenario.
        Your roti chanai and teh tarik will cross the Rm2.50 mark while your anak’s tambang bas sekolah will skyrocket 40 %.
        Perhaps John,tak kesah cos he is a super loaded crony and keeps talking rubbish.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 1
        • Isuzutrooper on Apr 19, 2017 at 7:59 pm

Br1m …we grateful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
          • Cukurr ekonomi kukuh. Macam mana kerajaan nak percaya rakyat terjejas? Minyak murah. Honda baru, laku keras. Bmw, merc pecah sales record.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
          • Bash Basher on Apr 20, 2017 at 9:12 am

Tolong bandingkan dengan bilangan rakyat yang tak mampu beli Merc atau Honda. Kamu ni langsung tak bertimbang rasa. Sampah masyarakat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • K Kinte on Apr 19, 2017 at 9:02 pm

john pls think about the rakyat, majority are your people who are suffering. If I can feel pity for them, why can’t you feel pity for your own people?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • World oil go south? Ya.. where you get your figure? Btw some one had give the calculation formula in PT. Go figure n calculate.

• Albert on Apr 19, 2017 at 9:26 pm

Tonight Donald Trump attacks the tubby tyrant with one single Tomahawk missile,besok..the price will read ” RM5.00/litre “.
        Why? Failing Rm exchange rate(as usual),not enough supplies,petrol dealers hoarding petrol,
        petroleum tankers breakdown,petroleum ship tankers bound for Bolehland diverted for war elsewhere.etc….Get ready. Insanity is coming.

• Abdul Rahman Kamis on Apr 19, 2017 at 5:58 pm

I feel the same. I do my calculation this morning, the price should stagnant (1cent if there is changes) due to weekly average of MOPS fluctuate around USD69 and ringgit has strengthen to RM4.40 today compare to RM4.43 last week.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
      • Name? What Name? on Apr 19, 2017 at 8:26 pm

Me and my colleagues did the same earlier today and we ALL agree that the price should go down or maintain the same. I’m waiting for what kinda excuses the minister will give this time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • K Kinte on Apr 19, 2017 at 6:04 pm

Ringgit has strengthened from RM4.43 to RM4.40 nd crude oil prices dropped alomost 1 USD to settle at US%55 per barrel.

By right, following Msian system, prices should have dropped 5 sen. Apa sudah jadi ni? Apa kelentong ni?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 0
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 19, 2017 at 7:29 pm

Minyak naik tetapi transformasi pengangkutan awam darat tidak terjejas. Jangan persoal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 40
        • AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 19, 2017 at 8:03 pm

Hmm…someone used my nick…he sounds so familiar…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • Albert on Apr 19, 2017 at 7:45 pm

Kinte
        The only way to wipe out a bad taskmaster…is to exercise our right to vote before june 2018.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Rural Voter on Apr 19, 2017 at 6:23 pm

Syukurlah naik sikit jer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 38
    • Angelica Pranith on Apr 19, 2017 at 6:24 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 165
      • Wondering on Apr 19, 2017 at 7:01 pm

Are our salary to expenses ratio same like those countries?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 0
        • Dyana on Apr 19, 2017 at 7:45 pm

UP UP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • Robinhood on Apr 20, 2017 at 4:07 pm

Your salary is stagnant because too many low paid foreign workers. Just like how Donald Trump wins the election when he campaigned along the lines of American for Americans.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 469
        • 4G63T DSM on Apr 19, 2017 at 7:19 pm

for our well being…plzz cut hospital & skool. pipu nid moarr submarins & trains to nowher

• pondan on Apr 19, 2017 at 7:33 pm

john aka bodoh… we also cut proton, cut your salary, cut your kids school, cut your commission, cut your leave, cut your MC, cut your benefits….

good ma.. you will.work harder, tok less kok, higher productivity, less TT session.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
          • TOK GURU on Apr 19, 2017 at 8:34 pm

John your a @$@&₩£ irritating speciment

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 19, 2017 at 8:02 pm

You asked for it..you got it…to all those intelects here who said weekly is better than monthly…yay you are right…but why are you people still complaining…ahaks…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Ah Kow on Apr 20, 2017 at 8:08 am

Prediction: Next week up another 3 sen. Back to Rm2.30. The first week reduction is to let the rakyat syok for awhile.

This is the usual dirty tactic done by our G. Same goes for promises made before election, and then actions taken after election. The promise is bullshit.

• I am curious, where can we get the official news on the petrol price? Hmm…

• pukima gov dot com on Apr 19, 2017 at 5:40 pm

pump RON100 better no increase.

• superbird #43 on Apr 19, 2017 at 5:52 pm

Right here in Malaysia, the fuel price is being increased by the gov’t.
    But why….?
    Someone tell me why dammit…………

• Kancil Hybrid on Apr 19, 2017 at 5:56 pm

Bila naik dipersalahkan kerajaan. Bila turun kenapa tak puji kerajaan? Ada yg dah turun. Kangkung dulu naik sekarang ni dah turun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 60
  • Just stick back to monthly lah, celaka…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • Mikey on Apr 19, 2017 at 9:52 pm

Agree. Last time, they can manipulate the price just once a month. Now they TIPU us every week.

• tokmoh. on Apr 19, 2017 at 6:14 pm

Bijan : makin ramai beli keter baru nampak.

Seronok keter baru korang? Banyak duit sekarang eh?

So aku nak naik 3sen, korang takde hal nak bayar kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
  • Inflasi D on Apr 19, 2017 at 6:16 pm

Cukurr G! Thank u G!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • 12yrsold on Apr 19, 2017 at 6:23 pm

Spot on Iskandar.
    My nenek kat Gua Musang oso calculate better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • die taxi die on Apr 19, 2017 at 6:25 pm

Syukurrr.

• To the guy who mentioned that instead of cursing once a month, now we curse 4 times a month – you got it 100% right.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
    • Dandenongal17 on Apr 19, 2017 at 7:08 pm

Lucky Malaysians can still curse once every 5 years…make it count this time!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • johnny english reborn on Apr 19, 2017 at 6:39 pm

I have a good news and a bad news. The good news is the government cronies will be happy and the bad news is the rakyat will be sad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Another week, another minister going to come out and defend the price increase. ‘Malaysian fuel prices still reasonable’, ‘our fuel prices still one of the lowest in the region’, ‘work three jobs if two jobs not enough’, ‘kangkung price not up we still should cukur and thank the government’ we know the script already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
  • Pearl on Apr 19, 2017 at 7:04 pm

Congratulations those bezza buyer..wise choice..

• Batumudo on Apr 19, 2017 at 7:35 pm

BN sila meninggal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Kangkung with Cheese on Apr 19, 2017 at 7:58 pm

no worries. Even petrol price increased, but kangkung price still very cheap, okeh??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Zooweemama on Apr 19, 2017 at 8:39 pm

Bijan babi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • wawasan2020 on Apr 19, 2017 at 8:57 pm

BR1M bukan untuk makan nasi putih tau. Ia untuk subsidi masuk minyak petrol. orang tak makan masih boleh gerak sikit, motokar tak makan tak boleh gerak langsunh tau. G kita memang amanah dan rasional.

• Debbie Dallas on Apr 19, 2017 at 8:58 pm

This news makez me feel so moist inside

• old horse on Apr 19, 2017 at 10:27 pm

when you have thieves in charge of the house…and appointment idiots for their role..well well..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 19, 2017 at 10:31 pm

beribu ribu tahniah naik lah sampai election

• Kangkung mana sedap on Apr 19, 2017 at 11:29 pm

go mamak makan capati jer la, no money go fine dining already..

• Sammy Loo on Apr 19, 2017 at 11:37 pm

use the EEV certified Toyota Vios and you will not be burden by this fuel price increase

• Known news already lah on Apr 20, 2017 at 8:25 am

every body know already the weekly system. up or down of course i will also be affected, but should this really deserve as a news? next week the price surely will change again (up again?)…. just save more money in bank.

• this is not shocking news at all….zzzz

every1 predicted it will go up and up..

weekly price change is more lucrative for the gomen to korek compared to monthly adjustment

• Summary of April’s fuel price since week 1:
    R95 RM2.27 (up 14 sens)
    R97 RM2.54 (up 13 sens)
    Diesel RM2.21 (up 10 sens)

• kereta_lembu on Apr 20, 2017 at 10:43 am

Hmmm…did anyone besides me notice that the cheaper RON95 was up 3 cents, while the higher quality RON97 only went up 2 cents? Does this even make any sense? Also, don’t forget that RON97 has GST tied to it, while RON95 is GST free. So, please explain to me how come RON95 increased more than RON97?

This is not the first time I noticed this and it only proves that the increment is not backed by any formula as claimed. Syok syok naik 3 sen, syok syok naik 5 sen…ask all you want, but they will never provide you with the formula to calculate lah. After so many years, you all are still convinced that they will be so open and transparent?

What they say are not even consistent, every time there’s a new excuse. Somebody ought to keep track of what they say and show them…but then again its useless lah, as if they care.

• Ben Yap on Apr 20, 2017 at 11:24 am

weekly fuel adjustment does not benefit the consumers. it’s a cover up for opportunity to price hike. example, this week petrol down 2 cents, next week up 5 cents. than the other week up 2 cents and the week after that down 2 cents.

total up 7 cents but only down 4 cents. government still make 3 cents.

• Ah Kow on Apr 20, 2017 at 4:33 pm

GG cannot go out hawker and eat already. Simply increase petrol like that.The hawkers sure take advantage. Cause they only know how to increase, never decrease when petrol price drop.

Now how? My kopi o ais RM2.50? Next month if the petrol price continue to go up how? My kopi o ais hit RM3 mark? Hawker Pan mee RM8? like that mampos lo. Around the same price as shopping centre food court already.

• The prices are actually ceiling prices right? Means that every other station will put up different prices right? Im just wondering, do you guys have any reliable apps that can compare the prices between the petrol stations? Please share