Proton Suprima R – a hotter Suprima S from MIMOS

Last month, we showed you the Suprima X, a crossover design based on the Proton Suprima S. Now we bring you the Suprima R, another creation by local designer Saharudin Busri under the national research and development centre for information and communication technology MIMOS.

Unlike the Suprima X, which presented a more rugged, lifestyle-oriented styling direction for the C-segment hatch, the Suprima R is a more straightforward hot hatch proposal with a sportier, more aggressive design compared to the standard model.

As before, Saharudin used the Suprima S as a base because of its unique design compared to other models in Proton’s lineup. “For me, in terms of design, the Suprima S has a more sophisticated look. From there, there are plenty of touches that can be applied to make the design more attractive,” he said.

The Coventry University graduate is no stranger to Protons – in fact, he was a designer at the national carmaker from 2000 to 2007, producing designs for the Satria Neo and Saga BLM. He also did part-time work in the early stages of development of the latest Proton Perdana.

There are manifold reasons why MIMOS is revealing these designs now. “Among them is to showcase MIMOS’ capabilities in producing designs for the automotive industry, and we are also very interested in offering our expertise to the industry,” he said.

Moving forward, MIMOS intends to offer design consultancy as a service to the industry, instead of producing designs solely for research grants. After all, its industrial design department has designed everything from laptops to mobile phones, going so far as nabbing the Red Dot Award for design concepts in 2010 and even reaching as high as third in the Red Dot Design Ranking for design concepts in 2014.

Like the Suprima X, the Suprima R is not a new design, having existed in some form or another since 2015 – it has now been refined to the level that we see here in these pictures. The front fascia design is completely different from the Suprima S, with new headlights and a larger three-dimensional grille.

Lower down, the air intakes are more aggressive and get a tusk-like design reminiscent of newer Volvos; the LED daytime running lights have also been moved from the headlights to the bumper. Along the sides, there are deeper side sills and five-spoke alloy wheels, while the rear gets Prevé-style two-piece tail lights (joined together by a red bar), a larger rear diffuser and tailgate spoiler as well as twin trapezoidal tailpipes.

This is not the first hot hatch rendition of the Suprima S that we’ve seen – rendering wizard Theophilus Chin made one earlier, also called the Suprima R. So, what do you think of Saharudin’s effort? Should it become a reality as a production vehicle to be sold to the public? Could the design be improved? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• The rear look like an Impreza WRX hatchback.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
    • abg sado on May 02, 2017 at 6:15 pm

Looking kool except the Logo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
      • Hamster vs Xhamster on May 02, 2017 at 7:41 pm

We all knew these aren’t real product by proton.If p1 intend to produce this MIMOS design,make it exactly like these.Coz currently other carmakers easily alrwady produce and sold this kind of design.It’s not hard for them but for p1 it’s a good step forward.If end result would be ugly or totally different,just forget about it.But being proton,we all knew they can easily failed the easiest task.Look at dugong Persona and Saga.The shape are out of proportion and weird.It only can sell just because it is cheap.Even still can’t fight weirder Bezza.How bout dah? Something always wrong with proton.Close shop lah.The more you produce car the more embarrass to your face.If only you got face coz you can’t see what kind of rubbish you create and sell? Eyes on face but if you don’t have face where got eyes to see? See exit door lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 18
        • Idiotic Brown Supremacy on May 03, 2017 at 1:01 am

Before simply launch new models,pls get rid old junkies like Satria Neo and Inspira.But i think proton just afford any stupid planning now.Able to look look see see only coz now they got no more money to manufacture new model.The 1.5B soft loan already gone paying overcharging crony vendors and their request for another 1.8B still far to come.Last year launched was 3 events of disasterously and catastrophic.MPV Ertiga also burning wood became ashes.They still far behind target and rivals.Money not coming in how to make new car? This MIMOS car for shiok shiok only.Fund got from grant aka wasting rakyat money.Useless PROTON and MIMOS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
          • As I understand from this article, the guy from MIMOS is just proposing an alternative design concept based on Suprima S. No involvement with Proton management at all. Same like Theo Chin.
            If MIMOS want to showcase their design ability, good for them. Why the animosity?
            Idiotic Brown Supremacy’s comment with regard to Satria Neo and Inspira is confusing. These models are no longer in production and not advertised on Proton Edar’s website. Are you saying there’s a lot of these models unsold unit at showrooms and storage yards? Genuine curiosity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
          • GTA V car

• kimi_ on May 02, 2017 at 6:23 pm

VERY Amatuer DESIGN, COPY PASTE FROM OTHER BRANDS

1. Front grill from chevrolet cruze
      https://s1.paultan.org/image/2010/07/dsc_0630b.jpg

2. the back inspired by 2017 kia sportage
      https://s1.paultan.org/image/2016/06/Kia_Sportage_New_Ext-18.jpg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 86
      • dude, ur the amateur here.

If ur jealous than just admit it. I don’t suppose u can come up with an original design of ur own? if u can, by all means come up with one and post it up. I’ll lick ur rented house’ floor clean for a day!

it’s still far better looking than the current Suprima. Even John might trade in his Gen2 for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • kimi_ on May 02, 2017 at 6:25 pm

SYOK SENDIRI !!!! PLEASE DO SOMETHING THAT IS BENIFICIAL TO US…..

WASTE OF TIME DESIGNING THIS JUNK!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 83
    • Albert on May 02, 2017 at 9:36 pm

I was at P1 showroom.OMG….Suprima 2015 old stock masih ada. 24 montns in the hot malaysian sun.
      Protong….the power of nightmarish dreams,unlike Honda….the power of sweet dreams.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 27
      • Matthew Chin on May 03, 2017 at 12:25 am

You hate protong but you was at their showroom? Something fishy yet suspicious this kind of badger.Yes,badger…bad one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • wtf! its worst than the current suprima. Especially the rear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 110
    • Hang tu semua tak suka

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 2
    • Mohd Zin on May 02, 2017 at 6:16 pm

Cant be uglier than you thou

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
    • kimi_ on May 02, 2017 at 6:29 pm

Theophilus Chin is 10000000X TIMES BETTER THAN THIS GUY!!!
      MIMOS SHOULD HIRE Theophilus Chin and sack this amatuer guy!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 83
  • passion on May 02, 2017 at 5:19 pm

OMG i love this guy and his designs. just awesome!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 11
  • Yeah right. Nice photochop, just like the supposedly hypercar down south.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 45
    • Donno on May 02, 2017 at 5:43 pm

What differentiates automotive wannabes with real automotive designers?

They really do 3D A-class surfaces of cars (A-class what? don’t know? hahaha), and they use softwares like Autodesk Showcase similar the one here to display the concept.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • youno on May 02, 2017 at 8:29 pm

Few things I like to mention, which probably you won’t care by the way:
        1. The way you said is like you are the most brilliant guy knowing everything about car design. But somehow you don’t even know exactly who that guy is.
        2. It seems like you are the professors of all A-class surface designers, again, who doesn’t even know who the guy you bashed is.
        3. Think that Autodesk is a ‘cikai’ software. Have you ever try to pay one?
        4. Would like to ask you to make one, but I don’t think you even manage to draw a straight line. But you don’t have to, because it is wasting your time after all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
        • Donno on May 03, 2017 at 7:05 am

Haih, saharudin is a real automotive designer i meant. I am complimenting, not bashing him. I even said he uses autodesk showcase (and that means the 3d is done on alias of course). Can’t you comprehend english? Why so negative thinking? I want an apology from you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • hunter on May 02, 2017 at 5:22 pm

at last…something hot coming out from Proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • Kunta Kinte on May 02, 2017 at 5:30 pm

You can even get Pininfarina to design for Proton and make it look like Ferrari also, nobody will buy. nama sudah busuk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 20
  • supremo on May 02, 2017 at 5:24 pm

Doesn’t favour the front though, the Suprima X has a much better and strong signature compare to this one , but the rear is fantastic. If Proton hired MIMOS to design their upcoming cars for facelifts, this Suprima would be on par with the Golf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • Kunta Kinte on May 02, 2017 at 5:27 pm

The car was such a failure until today Proton salesman beg you to take it for half price. Totally not moving. So, why waste time improving the design?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
  • pengayuhbasikal on May 02, 2017 at 5:44 pm

Proton do not have money to invest in new suprima facelift/enhancement … unless they outsource the facelift/enhancement to styling house and sell it like r3 version or etc…even r3 do not have money to redesign…I think…suprima is dead now…what a waste of potential platform…

• Socai (ori) on May 02, 2017 at 5:44 pm

The Supima allrdy EPIC FAILED DESIGN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • abg raniee terkulup on May 02, 2017 at 5:48 pm

tolonglah tukar lampu depan tu..its not blend in ..angular tetiba ada round design..sihhhh

• Jonn Dol on May 02, 2017 at 10:25 pm

The rear-end is quite good, the design cues is something you can see from the latest car design trend. But that front light/front-end is totally OUT, and I can understand that the designer is trying to create somekind of visual impact , but apparently the end-result is not positive. I can even offer my car sketches for some ideas.

• When sales is dropping to new low every month, when there is still no partner in sight, one way to convince the gov to give them more fund is to come out with some photoshop images so that everyone believe they are still in the game.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Seriously, why is MIMOS wasting time and burning public money financing such project?

What is MIMOS’ role, actually?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
  • ALAMAK!!!

• The headlights seems like they’re cryin

• dimitriy on May 02, 2017 at 6:43 pm

This design and equip with TGDi engine derived from Petronas-Merc AMG F1…im sure this will be the most of Malaysian 1st ever turbo car they will buy.

• gigi kuning on May 02, 2017 at 6:57 pm

Proton is problematic since day 1…..Maybe its is a curse and evolved to Karma, haunting Malaysia and Malaysian endlessly.

What Miros is doing is like beating a dead horse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • Nice except front lamp

• Sgt Scoop on May 02, 2017 at 7:06 pm

Do it, Proton. Whack in a 2.0 turbo engine and get Lotus to tune the suspension. Make sure the QC is up to scratch and get it into the showrooms for less than RM100k and you’ll have a winner and a brand halo too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • C. P. MOHAN on May 02, 2017 at 7:10 pm

The problem I believe is that his awesome designs do not match with the capability and costs of the vehicle. Love to see this guy going independent.

• the problem with proton is not poor design…their downfall is due to poor fit and finish, unrefined CFE engine and horrible punch CVT box, suspect QA/QC and patchy after sales support…how then can you expect the public to purchase more proton cars….?

• gti owner on May 02, 2017 at 7:42 pm

I will never ever consider Proton no matter how improve they are as long as they still under the protection by the goverment

• Gau gao on May 02, 2017 at 8:08 pm

Throw in a manual transmission and it will be perfect.

• Matchy on May 02, 2017 at 8:15 pm

Back better than current, front uglier than current.

• Mikey on May 03, 2017 at 11:30 am

Agree with U. If remove the badge, I would think this comes from a European car.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on May 02, 2017 at 9:05 pm

This type of restyling is already outdated. The inside finishing quality need to be close to Continentals already as the chinese have achieved this at similar price point if you ignore the heavy tax in Malaysia. If not you still wont be able to export.

• Oversea graduate standard macam ni? on May 02, 2017 at 9:30 pm

Ini rupa nya designer proton. He never follow auto design trends issit?
    Designs stuck in 90s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • applegreen on May 02, 2017 at 10:11 pm

Woi! Rakyat nak tengok Suprima S facelift lah! Tiba-tiba nak buat versi R buat apa? Nampak sangat tak bijak dalam perihal industri automotif

• Rakyat nak suprima facelift? How many suprima terjual since day one?

• Bernard on May 02, 2017 at 10:37 pm

Air liuh tak melelehlah bang:)

• Anonymous on May 02, 2017 at 11:34 pm

erm… designer given time n opportunity to self indulge… original manufacturer doesn’t even care that someone else tampering with their design copyrights… n someone else is footing the build for the mocks… suuureee, why not. Tell me again how this endeavour of gratification benefit anyone…?

• Joshua Lee on May 03, 2017 at 1:46 am

Rear looks sexy. Front … Meh … Not exactly my cup of tea.

• Still a rubbish design, current better than that

• front is a bit of vauxhall,
    rear is good

• UI/UX on May 03, 2017 at 3:32 pm

Today’s product design are based on User Experience and User Interface. Not sure just the exterior design will help to bring Proton sales up, like to hear more just exterior design ONLY.

• Mr_KriSs on May 07, 2017 at 10:26 pm

If proton want to boost your sale, Bring it to live now!!!!

• Walauweh on Jul 04, 2017 at 8:46 am

The headlights doesn’t improve with current design, looks lack of idea. The rear looks Korean design, bumper looks ok. All in, this design can last up to another 2 years before new model from Korean and European car makers introduce with the new model.

• Produce it now while the idea still new.. Re design it after 1 or 2 years.. The most important, does proton ever read the comments..