New Volkswagen Polo, T-Roc, Touareg, Jetta to be unveiled this year; next Vento to be called Virtus

Volkswagen held its annual general meeting last week, in which the brand outlined the progress it has made regarding its “Transform 2025+” strategy. One of the more interesting bits of news to have come out of the event was the timeline of new models that it is planning to unveil this year.

In total, as many as ten new vehicles will be launched globally in 2017, five of which are new to the brand, with no predecessors – such as the Atlas, Arteon and Tiguan Allspace that have already been shown. The next big reveal is the new Polo, which will make its debut in June.

Riding on the smaller A0 version of the modular MQB platform that also underpins the new Seat Ibiza, Wolfsburg’s sixth-generation supermini will be larger than before, and come with a range of Euro 6-compliant TSI petrol and TDI diesel engines. Photos of an undisguised vehicle have already surfaced, showing an evolutionary design that borrows plenty from the facelifted Mk7 Golf.

Next in line is the T-Roc, a B-segment crossover previewed by a concept in 2014, that will enter a new territory for Volkswagen when it is revealed in August. A plug-in hybrid version of the China-only Phideon flagship is also set to be unveiled around the same time.

After that is the all-new Touareg, which will come in November. Built on the same MLB Evo platform that already sees service on the other full-size SUVs in the Volkswagen Group, the Bentley Bentayga and Audi Q7, it is expected to feature a 48-volt electrical architecture as well as provisions for a plug-in hybrid powertrain.

In the same month, Volkswagen will pull the covers off the next-generation Polo Sedan. Already known as the Vento in many markets (including ours), the B-segment design will be launched in South America with a new name, the Virtus. At the tail end of the year, the new Jetta will enter production for the North American market, finally moving to the same MQB platform as the Golf.

Volkswagen has also announced that it will double down on its SUV expansion as part of the Transform 2025+ plan. Initially, the company’s crossover models consisted of only the Touareg and Tiguan; by 2020, that figure will grow to a whopping 19 vehicles, including the new Atlas, Tiguan Allspace and T-Roc.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• “Polo→ Vento→ Virtus”

Lol whut?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 15
    • Wiralama on May 08, 2017 at 12:00 pm

Saga→ Saga LMST → Saga TuneD. Topkek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 26
      • Myvi 2005 = Myvi 2008 = Myvi 2011 = Myvi 2013 = Myvi 2016 = all same

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 08, 2017 at 3:37 pm

POLO how many times want to change name? VW think people forget?

Trying to con people again VW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • mondo on May 08, 2017 at 11:23 am

don’t get the virtus, if tee disappears, it will become VIRUS……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • Wahub on May 08, 2017 at 12:04 pm

Stick to your Viros Dugong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • mondo on May 08, 2017 at 1:14 pm

Sorry I don’t use Dugong….not my cup of tea….
        My car is a Tiguan, 2.0 TSI, using it for 7 years.
        Its like a virus, having to replace ABS sensor(s) every year…for the past 5 years…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • FrankieST on May 08, 2017 at 6:42 pm

Ha, ha sah conman si Mondo ni. Must be salesman for competition. I own a Tiguan 2.0TSI. Thats not a common problem for this car. Even members of the Tiguan club would disagree with you.

• loler on May 08, 2017 at 9:36 pm

Wah now everybody claims he has Tiguan, lol. Made up stories never fails to impress me!

• arowana on May 08, 2017 at 11:29 am

first glance i thought is VW Virus.. dang!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • “virtus”???…. had to do a double take to make sure I read correctly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Das Auto on May 08, 2017 at 12:06 pm

VW Volkswagen World’s Largest Automaker.

• Gracke on May 08, 2017 at 12:28 pm

T-ROC! T-ROC!! T-ROC!!! Awesome….!!

• T-Rex better, but the only dinosar is toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Mikey on May 08, 2017 at 5:23 pm

Ha ha ha. U never disappoint me when come to bashing Toyo even in a VW forum. Can U say something nice about VW without bashing others or not ??!!

Nah, It will make U sick if U don’t bash Toyo for One day. Here, take a CHILL pill. It will Cool U down 4 a while. It is Good 2 lower your blood pressure too. Hehehe.

• samealos on May 08, 2017 at 5:57 pm

Yo you need the pill, not him. Please offer it to butthurt bashers that bash P1 in ALL articles including in luxury car topics.

• Mikey on May 08, 2017 at 9:55 pm

john, No need 2 use another name 2 reply la. Your word “butthurt” is your DNA la.

Why do U need 2 hide behind someone or some-other brand when U bash me/others?!

Do U remember how many time U use that word today itself?!

• @samealos
            Well said! Gip them bashers a taste of their own bitter pill. Let them choke on it.

• Jetta Owner on May 08, 2017 at 1:11 pm

I have been writing comments on PaulTan.org in support of VW as an owner of VW Jetta. But today I ask all the readers of this website to use our consumer’s power to stop buying cars from VW Malaysia. The first reason is their cars are unreliable and secondly the aftersales service is not customer centric. Just over a year after I purchased the car from Wearnes Sg Besi the DSG had encountered mechatronic failure. I still remember the salesman told me the car assembled in Pekan would not have the same problem as all issues had been resolved. On 28/4 (Friday), I called VW to request a tow truck around 820 a.m. as I did not manage to start the car. The Multi Function Display (MFD) displayed a warning to move the gear lever to P or N. Indicating a problem with the DSG and subsequently the car failed to start. The tow truck arrived two hours later and we arrived at Wearnes Sg Besi (new location) around 12 pm. After handing the service booklet to the receptionist, I was made to wait between 20-30 minutes. Mind you, there were around 5 service advisors and two customers only. Then came a service advisor who walk me to the car to inspect the car. After the inspection I signed a form and asked him how long to diagnose the car and when can I know the exact problem. He made no commitment by saying they need to inspect first. At around 5 p.m. I received a call from a Service Advisor by the name Chin informing they are yet to perform the diagnose. I wonder why for the next 5 hours they did nothing to the car. That evening, I sent an email to VW Malaysia to make known my resentment for what had happened that day. I received a reply to the email only today (8/5), it took them 9 days to reply to my email. In the afternoon of 1/5, I called the VW Malaysia customer care to ask for the reasonable timeline to expect in such cases. They took my details and promised to call me ASAP. Yet, I received no phone call from them till today. On Wednesday (3/5) Chin told me they know the problem is with the mechatronic and need time to inspect the wiring which require more time (buying time tactic). The next day I went there during lunch hour to get the status of my car only to be told it is lunch hour and no one to attend my query. At around 6 pm Friday (5/5) Chin told me the problem is only with the mechatronic and the part will only arrive next week (2nd week of May). The following day (6/5), I went to the service centre to get the clarification on the timeline. I waited for half an hour before I get to speak to Chin. The conversation lasted for about 2 mins and he told me the will arrive on Monday (Today, 8/5) or Tuesday and the car will be ready in two days time (Thursday/Friday) because Wednesday is public holiday. I urge the Malaysians to stop buying their cars. The cars are lemon, the aftersales are lousy. Let’s boycott VW!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • Toyota salesmen gettin desperado…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
      • PT Reader on May 08, 2017 at 4:40 pm

Can we ban this idiot called john that likes to troll and bash other cars on every single article even though the article is not related to it? This idiot is just pulling down the discussion level of PT’s excellent site to his knee level

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • Braga on May 08, 2017 at 3:42 pm

My Passat also kena DSG mechatronic failure 6 months. Its my 2nd time kena.

1st time I got lucky as it was detected by Jln Gombak, hence they ordered my parts then replaced it. All-in took 3 days.

2nd time when I was about to leave my house for meeting at 2pm, DSG mechatronic failed again. Called up Jln Gombak, sent in my car around 6pm since after my appointment.

Surprisingly, I got back my car at 4pm the next day. I said “Wow, that was fast.” Jln Gombak told me now they have stock up mechatronic, no need to wait from Singapore. Also, because of that VW no longer offer Mobility Assistance (because I asked for it, dunno how long it would take.).

Yes, I must admit dealing with VW Service Advisor quite dramatic too. I called up in the morning, 10am he told me still checking. No follow-up call to tell me what happen to my car.

Then I called him again at 2pm, after lunch. He told me my car fixed & undergo testing. Told me to pick up my car at 4pm. Siap basuh lagi, nampak bling bling.

• Desperate Toyota Salesman on May 08, 2017 at 5:03 pm

Not bad how some people can go miles creating a realistic story. Well done! Paul tan should be able to sense that this is a made up story by some desperate salesman trying to spread lies.

• New world order on May 08, 2017 at 7:54 pm

Tips to make a fake story realistic: Add a fictious name/character. Add time, date, location.Nice try.

• Philip on May 08, 2017 at 8:20 pm

It’s obvious that this troll is making up this story and ‘credit’ has to be given that he spent his time and thoughts crafting a seemingly convincing story.

• zhang on May 08, 2017 at 2:26 pm

VW ! no more, send my Tiguan for radiator’s hose replacement, end up changing chain tensioner, later told me piston valve need to replace, finally repair done, now give a bill of 12K for overhaul engine. one thing leads to another, what kind of service and technologies you give to customer, VW really suck. VW ! The power of NO !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • What, They don’t gave a quotation first before working on your car? That’s sucks. You should ask for it.

• Bernard on May 08, 2017 at 2:32 pm

Virtus(Latin) means Power(English)

• David on May 08, 2017 at 5:02 pm

VW should consider to rename DSG as well…

• Tanpa Nama on May 08, 2017 at 9:36 pm

VW? Cukup lah sekali.. Sekarang sudah bebas rm30k untuk 2012 Polo Sedan