2018 Volkswagen Atlas R-Line package revealed

Volkswagen has revealed the R-Line package for the 2018 Volkswagen Atlas. Wolfsburg says that the new trim package augments the Chattanooga-built SUV’s sportiness with exterior and interior design elements that give it an even more dynamic appearance.

An addition to the Atlas SE and SEL trim levels, R-Line adds on 20-inch aluminium-alloy twin-spoke wheels; R-Line badging; unique front and rear bumpers that incorporate air intakes at the front and a diffuser in gloss black at the rear; and side skirts.

Inside, the Atlas R-Line welcomes drivers with the R-Line logo on the start screen of Volkswagen’s Modular Infotainment Platform (MIB II) head unit. Other features include an R-Line steering wheel clip and stainless-steel pedal covers.

It’s just a trim level, so like the standard MQB-based seven-seater Atlas SUV, the R-Line will be available in two engine options: a 235 hp 2.0 litre TSI engine or a 276 hp 3.6 litre NA V6, both with an eight-speed automatic. VW’s 4Motion AWD is available on V6 models. The Atlas will go on sale this spring in the US, with the R-Line package only surfacing later in the year.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Atlas

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 06, 2017 at 2:02 pm

Looks good but if got DSG, don’t even bother. Just buy a XC90 T8 for RM400k or a X5 Hybrid for RM388k. Less problems and you don’t have to marry the tow truck driver either

• Kunta bin Katak on Jan 06, 2017 at 5:25 pm

You must be compiling a list of made up ‘problems’ eh creating it out of thin air. You never owned a VW and the story is from a friend’s friend’s friend. Get a life dude.

• VW owner on Jan 06, 2017 at 10:11 pm

I have been driving a Passat for 4 years, no major issues. most of the negative stories i hear are utter rubbish and simply made up. Better to get the correct news from reliable sources. Well done VW

• Kunta Katak Liar on Jan 10, 2017 at 10:41 pm

stop bullshitting lah Kunta Katak.

until VW malaysia change all dry dsg dq200 to wet dsg dq250 then only problem with mechatronic will resolves once for all.

Those who still saying my vw car with dry dsg still ok are actually counting days till you got hit!

• Domenic on Dec 19, 2017 at 9:04 am

V.W. misled us again. If you order an Execline (fully loaded) with the R- Line package you loose the 360 camera view and the folding exterior mirrors. the sales staff were not aware of this and the VW web page did not warn customers when they built the vehicle on the web page. the web page has just been corrected to warn buyers of this flaw. Pay more and get less.
    Thanks V W I now have a vehicle that wont fit in my garage unless I manually fold the mirrors in.
    I’m really pissed