Is rebadging your vehicle logo illegal? We ask the JPJ

It cannot be denied that many Malaysian drivers love modifying their vehicles. But this is not necessarily limited to aftermarket accessories.

A type of modification often seen on Malaysian roads is the rebadging of various cars from its original (local) brand or model. Manufacturers produce cars in various models and brands for different markets, but based on a single chassis type, which leads to the possibility of changing a vehicle’s facade or bodywork to resemble one from a different country.

One of the best examples of this type of modification is the Perodua Myvi, that has a counterpart in the Japanese domestic market, the Toyota Passo. Another example is the Proton Wira, that shares its DNA with the Mitsubishi Lancer, and the list goes on.

These types of modifications are common, but are they illegal? Our colleague from paultan.org’s Bahasa Malaysia section, Hazril Hafiz, posed this question to Datuk Ir. Haji Mohamad Dalib, director of the Road Transport Department (JPJ) automotive engineering department.

“Every vehicle registered in Malaysia has its own identity. Its manufacturer, the model type, the design and other factors,” he said. “Everything that is approved during the Vehicle Type Approval (VTA) process for a vehicle to be driven on Malaysian roads cannot be modified to any whim and fancy,” added Mohamad.

What is meant by a vehicle’s identity? There are two factors that are emphasised – the logo or badge of the manufacturer as well as the model in question, and the vehicle’s body panels. “If the owner changes the brand logo of their vehicle, for example, from Perodua to Daihatsu, or Toyota, that is illegal,” he clarified.

Is rebadging your vehicle logo illegal? We ask the JPJ

The JPJ director also gave examples from more recent car models, such as the Proton Perdana, which is a rebadged eighth-generation Honda Accord. “Even though we acknowledge the Perdana uses the Honda Accord as a basis, if the brand logo or model is changed to Honda Accord, it is an offence,” he added.

Some may ask, what is the actual offence being committed? He explained the offence is, “changing a vehicle’s identity without permission,” which attracts an instant summons. This also includes other models which fall under the same category, such as the Proton Inspira.

Thus, as a precautionary measure, if any car owner wants to rebadge their vehicle, it would be wise to refer to the JPJ beforehand, before making any sort of modification, even for something as simple as changing a car’s logo. For further reference, please refer to our earlier articles on the installation of over-sized rear wings and HID lighting.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments largely discuss the legality and perceptions of rebadging vehicles, with some highlighting it as a common practice among car owners and a potential safety concern for law enforcement. Several point out that rebadging can be legal, especially after vehicle registration, and reflect on how authorities may selectively enforce related laws. Others criticize the inconsistency, noting that manufacturers also rebadge cars, and question the law's focus on badges instead of more pressing issues like illegal modifications or unsafe body kits. A few comments humorously compare rebadging to cosmetic plastic surgery, with some suggesting that removing badges altogether is as effective as rebadging. Overall, opinions vary from viewing rebadging as harmless or even necessary to considering it an unfair, poorly enforced law.

• Illegal but never heard JPJ do operasi for rebadge cars. Anyways owners can do all kinda plastic surgery, but in the end, car birth cert (geran) will tell the original brand.
    So no fuss no muss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
    • Is a BMW with ‘W’ badges considered as an offense as well? Once in a while, seeing one of those really crack me up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • rof lmao on Aug 08, 2023 at 2:45 am

lol, what about the tons of plain vanilla variant BMWs affixed with “M” badge.

• alldisc on Aug 07, 2023 at 4:08 pm

My dear bro, 20 years ago JPJ was very strict on Wiras convert to Lancer and Evo. And also Kenari into Move.

JPJ officers even go round in housing areas and when they spot an illegally converted wira parked in the porch, they will send a letter to the owner demanding his car to be inspected.

• nazee on May 15, 2017 at 11:08 am

no money buy jap but wanna pura pura. lame kura kura.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • YB Kunta Kinte on May 15, 2017 at 5:28 pm

Too many kutus driving Kancil like to put MIRA on it. The slightly richer kutus, put PASSO on their Myvi. ‘This is inferiority complex, not proud of what they have.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 15, 2017 at 6:44 pm

Rempit are always rempit. When they move on from their ex5, they must showcase their rempit identity on their Wira, Alza, Kenari, Vios even Vellfire.

• The biggest culprit begins when Proton claims to be Asia BMW. Now all the rempits think their Proton to be BMW. If u want to blame, blame the manufacturer

• Redidiot on May 17, 2017 at 3:04 pm

Never the driver right? Should say to the cops- the car manufacturer made me go too fast right?

• Redidiot on May 17, 2017 at 8:07 am

Ya, just like you.

• Azizi on Aug 08, 2023 at 9:39 pm

Now BMW, VW, Alphard also stick MYVI badge..inferiority really complex

• Perdana is a gud example

• thepolygonal on May 15, 2017 at 11:09 am

Kasi kopek sahaja… tak perlu rebadge logo. So now JPJ and police got another reason to stop you. Mira, Passo, Lancer Evo, although I think all Paultan forumers know they are 90% rebadged, according to this article the general public can be easily confused with the logo and thus requires authorities intervention. What I want to know is the RX 270 a real Lexus ke Toyota… itu M5 betul ke, R5… SLK 55 ke SLK 200 ni?

• Pan Pan Government kingdom on May 16, 2017 at 11:21 am

if kelisa put gino classic bodykit pun i still know that is kelisa…cause gino is not exist here. if xcident happen or car get totally burn we still can find what car it is from the chasis number…suppose changed facelift no big deal as long u still using your local brand logo on it…or take out the logo… JPJ just wanna make money only

• I once saw an old Nissan Datsun heavily modified with skirtings all around and slapped with a Proton badge to look like a Proton Iswara. How flattering is that for Proton owners!!!

• If rebadging is illegal, what about debadging?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • heybadigol (Member) on May 15, 2017 at 7:01 pm

Was wondering the same too. Totally removing the badges or covering them in body colour for a stealth look.

• Mr Simon on Aug 08, 2023 at 7:31 am

Apparently this is ok. I drove an Inspira before but due to accident the front damage. So I did swap front with another 3rd party that looks like Mit but without the badge.

Sold the car and passed Puspakom and all.. No undertake.

• azrai on May 15, 2017 at 11:33 am

How about changing the body panels but retain the emblems?

• ahmahfazo on May 15, 2017 at 11:36 am

Silly topic. Take the Inspira for example. It looks identical to a Lancer barring a few minor details. Even if the owner changes the logo to Mitsubishi, i bet most of the time the enforcement officers would find it difficult seperate the two models in order to take action. The best way to overcome this problem is to bar our local car manufacturers from recycling old junks from other car companies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • This goes to people (Ah Bengs and Ah Lians) whom change their obvious Toyota Vios to Lexus Vios. It is so funny to even look at. If you can afford a Toyota, stick it to its original branding. Changing the logo to enhance your car’s luxury status is the most childish act ever. Hats off to JPJ for clarifying to these Ah Bengs and Ah Lians for their stupidity for creating identity crisis on their vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda, Nissan Tidur on May 15, 2017 at 11:46 am

Oh yeah? I see sales people providing options for buyer to remove their Naza logo for Peugeot or Kia

• Kutuk kinte copy paste story again on May 15, 2017 at 11:46 am

Why want to change the Logo? Not proud if driving national car?childish act.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • normal_user on May 15, 2017 at 12:06 pm

BMW-grilled myvi with bmw badge . The Worst..

• orang biasa on May 15, 2017 at 12:23 pm

cannot rebadged the car logo, then how about to those remove the logo / without logo, still kena saman?

• amonrei on May 15, 2017 at 12:27 pm

What if i got rid of the badge altogether for a clean look?

• Jasonxer on May 15, 2017 at 12:39 pm

Rotflol … what a joke. Gomen officer themselves drive illegal modified cars. Pot calling the kettle black

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Whats wrong with u? PT repoter asking Q and JPJ answerings to Q. Nothing to do with Gov pipu.

• Nenek kau on May 15, 2017 at 12:39 pm

Santa Fe comeout from factory as Inokom. Later on the showroom change the emblem to Hyundai emblem. What will be the justification on this case?

• Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda, Nissan Tidur on May 15, 2017 at 4:33 pm

Very true, their steering wheel still wears a Hyundai logo

• What about remove the logo? because i feel malu when i can only afford a local car.

• JPJ ni semua salah. Even not about safety tetap salah!

• Susukotak on May 15, 2017 at 3:13 pm

not just safety. what u will tell police if you see crime case involvng ‘ mira daihatsu’ (actually a myvi)?

• Dong Gor on May 15, 2017 at 1:57 pm

Well, I say as long as you don’t alter the registration number and original paint color, that’s all that matter. If I can’t change car emblem, then upgrading my std wheel to alloy or getting a chrome finished exhaust tip is also a crime!

• Can change paint colour. Just need to get endorsement from JPJ 1st. But dun crazy multicolour paintjob lah.

• Hailut on May 15, 2017 at 5:53 pm

Should apply the law across the board, not just on badge, but to include body kits, exhaust etc.

• How about exhausts modifications?

• Vinnie on May 15, 2017 at 2:20 pm

But why allow proton to put it’s thundercat badge on a mitsubishi lancer and all it inspira?

• So childish the thundercat badge. Even Proton wants to make it look bigger

• Zack46 on May 15, 2017 at 2:46 pm

Unfair stupid law..why proton & perodua can rebadge cars and sell why not the buyers rebadge it as they wish.. proton n perodua should stop producing cars in malaysia since ur quality is not as good as those Japanese manufacturer. ..instead just low down the ap tax

• IGP mom on May 15, 2017 at 2:56 pm

I can guarantee some from JPJ themselves had re-badged their say Perodua to Daihatsu.

Not to mention Proton has been doing major re-badging of Mitsubishi, Perodua from Daihatsu, Naza from Kia etc. The badge doesn’t cause accident, modifying the bodyworks of the car however could. So if adding spoiler extending up to 3 inch away from the car width is allowed (again stated by JPJ @ paultan.org previously), why not the badge itself? Are they contradicting themselves??

• Not every mod restrictions must have to do with safety, u know. More for correct identiti of car if break the laws, or misrepresentation during sellings, or JPJ maybe just cannot tahan stupidities like Lexus badged vios.

PT ask a Q and he answers it according to the book. Why gets so worked up?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
  • Ben Yap on May 15, 2017 at 2:57 pm

Only poor people that cannot afford a better brand but dream to have one will be sticking a Perodua to Daihatsu logo, Proton to Mitsubishi and Toyota to Lexus.

• leonardo on May 15, 2017 at 3:38 pm

This is like opening a Pandora’s box. There are numerous cars with rebadging. Perodua/Daihatsu, Proton/Mitsubishi, Toyota/Lexus, Ford/Mazda, Naza/Peugeot, etc. No action was taken. So back to enforcement – JPJ!

• Not Toyota Fan on May 15, 2017 at 3:40 pm

We have more pressing road safety issues & THIS inconsequential becomes Monday’s article. Seriously PaulTan. Your intention is good in trying to do a social awareness piece but right concept wrong execution.

• There are clowns modifying the whole Waja / Wira to a Mitsu Evo X and you are just talking about logo?

• Lawson on May 15, 2017 at 8:59 pm

Looking at another type of rebadging: there are many girls that “rebadge” their faces to look a bit like japanese or korean girls. Maybe the police should put up a law that any one, man or woman, wanting to do plastic surgery must regsister and later update IC & passport & driving licence within 2 months of plastic surgery.

• CarGod on May 15, 2017 at 4:56 pm

My myvi definitely drove faster after i put on the ferrari badge! And turned more heads too!

• abezed on May 15, 2017 at 5:35 pm

imagine an important eye witness in a crime case fails to identify the identity of a car which happens to be a crucial evidence.

• Netizen on Nov 17, 2022 at 5:20 pm

Let’s say a wira put a bmw badge, then simply tell the cops, “a wira with bmw badge”. Easy job

• Hailutt on May 15, 2017 at 6:00 pm

Be proud of the car u r driving, especially if its locally produced.

• pumpkin76 on May 15, 2017 at 6:11 pm

then how come gahmen punya Accordana can change badge from Honda to Proton? I mean the gahmen punya version, the one bulat bulat same like the Honda Accord one……

• Ahmad Damad on May 15, 2017 at 6:23 pm

In Mesia, nothing is illegal, until you get caught by authorities.

What is so wrong with re-badging, compared to bigger problems of so many cars running around with illegal modded engine, kereta sambung, without insurance, lorry hantu, and kopi-o-licence, etc??

• cendol (Member) on May 15, 2017 at 7:01 pm

Put a law to make standard car plate first

• Can you guys ask why the roll cage are not road legal on daily driven car? Although it can possibly save lives….need some explaination too…tq in advance

• roll cage in road car is illegal everywhere. because roll cage only works with occupants wearing full safety kit. without those, roll cage can cause more damage to the occupants in the event of a crash.

• how about normal 1 series with M badge?

• why keep asking jpj this and that?
    u keep giving ideas for them to saman people ^^

• Pan Pan Government kingdom on May 16, 2017 at 11:25 am

how about bimmer basic 318 convert to M3 wannabe or silvia 180sx convert to S15?

• Bernard on May 16, 2017 at 12:15 pm

You mean my neighbor who has a Kancil will have to remove his benz logo in front and BMW logo at the back? His 6 kids will be devastated…

• Richard Khor on May 16, 2017 at 3:30 pm

Someone should ask JPN..is it legal to re-model face…surgery to transform look like korean? Can JPN allow facial identity modified without permission? LOL

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 17, 2017 at 12:06 am

semua salah tapi proton ok…

• UNECE on Aug 07, 2023 at 1:13 am

What mat dalib says is basically a law overreach.

VTA regulations explicitly applies to specifications of the vehicle the manufacturer builds for registration to JPJ.

It is never a law for owners or what happens to the car after it is registered.

If we cannot change a thing compared to VTA, sport rims is an offence, as is any spareparts not build by original car manufacturer.

• Kambeng on Aug 07, 2023 at 11:58 am

This is another one of those things that I think is a actually perfectly reasonable law, but poorly communicated by JPJ, same as number plate dimensions and spacing (people tend to affix on the legality of the font, but JPJ guidelines specify dimensions & spacing, not font, & most vehicles on the roads don’t comply), if they communicated that the reason is a vehicle has to be recognisable as what it is registered as… by other parties or law enforcement in an accident for example, or to help identify & enforce shady things like cloned cars, fake plates, etc, it makes sense to have such a law. P.S. I’ve recently noticed some “fake” Lexus LM/Alphards that have blanked out emblem instead of Lexus, BMW ///M or Mercedes-AMG cars that have all the kit besides the model badge, presumably to comply with this law? , personally I’m mostly against fake rebadging but have the desire to have an M5 rebadged as a 520i for sleeper-ness & giggles…