May 2017 week three fuel price – petrol, diesel all up

Yes, it’s Wednesday so it’s that time again – and after three straight weeks of fuel price drops, everything is going to get pricier again this coming week.

Starting tomorrow, May 18, RON 95 will be priced at RM2.08 per litre (up seven sen compared to RM2.01 the previous week), with RON 97 at RM2.36 per litre (up seven sen from RM2.29).

As for diesel, Euro 2M will be RM1.99 per litre (up four sen from RM1.95), while Euro 5 diesel will retail at RM2.09 per litre (also up four sen from RM2.05). These prices will last until May 24, when the next price adjustment will be announced.

This is the eighth update of the weekly price announcement since the new pricing system came into effect on March 30. Compared to March 2017 prices – before the system was implemented – RON 95 is presently down by 22 sen, RON 97 down by 24 sen, and diesel is down by 21 sen.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• azrai on May 17, 2017 at 4:54 pm

So all the petrol dealer will whining again this Thursday? How about news on 14,000 retrenchment?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
    • LatukBandar on May 17, 2017 at 5:15 pm

Those petrol stations closed last week suddenly reopen tomorrow.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 1
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 180
        • Albert on May 17, 2017 at 5:40 pm

Johnnie,u must be very grateful n happy for price increase.U r the ONLY ONE syiok sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
        • YB Kunta Kinte on May 17, 2017 at 7:37 pm

disgraceful statement. When money comes easily, easy come easy go.

• John Ohwai Kaki Dupe on May 17, 2017 at 11:20 pm

I am so happy last week I saved RM4. I can buy 1 packet of Kacang Mengemlembu Ngah Yin

• John Ohwai Kaki Dupe on May 17, 2017 at 11:11 pm

People got Internet now and know how to see who is the cheapest

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 17, 2017 at 5:15 pm

PDAM tak buat bising lagi? So far, whenever price goes higher, PDAM members make millions each. But when price goes down (which is rarely), PDAM members demand Government pay them compensation.

High time, all petrol lesen is open to all 30 million people in Malaysia. Don’t give it to a selected group like the AP permits. Give it to every deserving Malaysian who can afford to run a petrol station.

The PDAM are a bunch of greedy cry babies. If they cannot compete, open the lesen up to everyone in Malaysia

Btw, what happened to the supposedly price war by station operators?

Gomen said this owuld be healthy as some stations can sell below the official price.

What happened? PDAM so stingly, cannot even drop 1 sen for the rakyat but demand gomen to pay them billions.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 2
      • Albert on May 17, 2017 at 5:44 pm

Kunta,
        There wont and never will be a price war.
        IT is a CARTEL,LIKE oPEC.
        When prices r forecasted to increase the next 6 months,these greedy bunch r infact secretly applying to open up more BRANCHes.
        So,as usual they play golf,go for cun cun amoi urut,n wont be bothered if the Bangla siphon off icecream.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Zzt231 on May 17, 2017 at 6:17 pm

Actually from what i know, petrol station license is open to everyone but the criteria for selection by the oil companies is very strict, other than having at least 500K-750K ready cash, need to past many training courses and 3-5 interview and present at least 2 case studies/business plan. Many people fail during these selections.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • tmlim on May 17, 2017 at 6:46 pm

no need write so long lar..only your 1st paragraph already won my like..

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 17, 2017 at 4:59 pm

aiyoo yoo, sudah naik lagi?? We are an oil producing nation. All other oil producing countries sell their oil so cheaply to their rakyat except Malaysia.

Duit GST sahaja sudah collect RM100 billion in 1 year. This is excluding personal income tax and corporate tax and eksais and duty from kastam.

But still, our hospitals got no medicine!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 16
    • abang bijak on May 17, 2017 at 5:40 pm

bila kali terakhir anda pergi hospital kerajaan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 21
      • YB Kunta Kinte on May 17, 2017 at 7:41 pm

Baru minggu lepas bang. Hospital UH kata Janumet sudah habis dan sekarang kena beli walaupun saya pencen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
      • Pasrahyang on May 17, 2017 at 8:07 pm

Opah sy pesakit kencing manis, kekurangan stok ubat yang dialami sekarang amat merumitkan.
        Tiada jaminan para pesakit akan menerima bekalan ubat mereka setiap dua minggu sekali pun. Ramai pesakit yang terdiri daripada warga tua, orang yang kurang sihat, dan yang miskin terpaksa berulang-alik ke klinik semata-mata untuk mengetahui sama ada mereka akan menerima bekalan ubat mereka atau tidak.
        Apabila mereka tidak mendapat ubat mereka, para pesakit terpaksa membeli sebahagian dari ubat mereka dari kedai farmasi di luar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
  • YB Kunta Kinte on May 17, 2017 at 5:04 pm

How sincere is the Government to maintain clean environment, clean air and Hijau (Zainal Abidin)?

Cause Government is still selling toxic Euro 2M. Euro 2M has another name. That is Euro 1.5.

According to EU, even Euro 2, is considered arsenic and poison to the rakyat. Euro 2M, don’t talk lah. It is as good as drinking poison.

When is the Government going to abolish Euro 2M diesel and make sure greedy companies upgrade their lorries and busses?

No point tok kok all the time about going GREEN when 90% of our lorries and busses (mostly crony owned) are spitting out thick black smoke and arsenic elements into our lungs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 4
    • You dun know some buses are hybrid one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
    • No. 11 bus on May 17, 2017 at 6:00 pm

All vehicle make pollution, just using jalan kaki enough

• Lawson on May 17, 2017 at 8:00 pm

Just because it is euro 5 petrol it does not meant that it will be non toxic. It is just less poluting due to less sulfur. Benzene, toluene, mtbe, xylenes, naphtha, pentane, hexane, plus at least a hundred other types hydrocarbon compounds. All that are in euro 5 petrol will be also in euro 2 or euro 3.

• hyin21 on May 17, 2017 at 5:12 pm

kesian some people got to keep on repeating their comments every week….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 35
    • Kelab Sokong Kunta on May 17, 2017 at 5:18 pm

at least kunta fights for lower car prices and lower fuel prices which benefits all of us. He also fights for higher spec cars. Because of him, now all cars forced to give VSC and more airbags.

You? What do you do?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 4
      • GTH same lorrrr kunta on May 17, 2017 at 5:28 pm

“Because of him, now all cars forced to give VSC and more airbags.”

OMG you must be kunta dupes. Since when same lorrr fought for it? You dun belip please go back to comments section years ago. He is P1 basher and keeps changing names.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 30
        • Michael on May 17, 2017 at 6:21 pm

I am P1 basher but I am not kunta. How come? I have been basing P1 for years now

Neither am i same lorrrr

• Same Lorrr VS Kunta on May 17, 2017 at 6:30 pm

dumb dumb statement. Same Lorrr always promote Toyota. Always say RV the best.

Kunta is big time Toyota basher. He bash on RV. He bash on no VSC.

So how is Kunta and Same Lorrr the same person?

• Dun try to twist history, it was ady done!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • kunta makes pt bad blog on May 17, 2017 at 9:19 pm

No one gives it a damn now. Same lorrrr kunta kintet sam takdetelor all are paid keyboard warrior. I just skip his shameful posts everytime

• Yeah right. He never refers to toyota, ever. He just rambles on and on and on about unfair Gov making his toyota cars uncompetitive against even my local made Biza. Still stuck in cave thinking pipu r hardup for his moving deathtraps.

Sori, but this is 2017 where the market has moved on and safety is the IN thing now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • John Ohwai Kaki Dupe on May 17, 2017 at 11:22 pm

Let us all use smaller engine to save more petrol

• Yeah right LOLZ! Is becoz of him, toyota gips over prices at shitty specs.
        Nope. Its becoz of us safety brand advocates, that toyota & P2 now gips ESC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
        • YB Kunta Kinte on May 17, 2017 at 7:39 pm

Dont forget who owns Toyota. It is UMW, fully owned GLC.

So, it is not Toyota to be blamed but UMW Toyota and your gomen.

Who owns Perodua? It is UMW. It is gomen.

• O realy? I din know Akio Toyoda reports to Datuk Syed Hisham bin Syed Wazir. We must have berjaya since MY company now owns toyota, eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Tok Guru on May 17, 2017 at 6:17 pm

They have a template… just copy and paste forever…

• Go up, complain.
    No change, oso complain.
    Go down, lagi complain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • abang bijak on May 17, 2017 at 5:38 pm

bila minyak naik semua bising

bila minyak turun semua senyap

• Rooney on May 17, 2017 at 5:47 pm

To all paultan.org power users,

Please copy-paste last month’s insulting comments on minyak naik post to today’s article.

That will save you time and energy.

• No need to. Regular bashers alredi everyday copy pasta their daily rambles.

• Kancil Hybrid on May 17, 2017 at 5:50 pm

Bila naik dipersalahkan kerajaan. Bila turun kenapa tak puji kerajaan? Ada yg dah turun. Kangkung dulu naik sekarang ni dah turun. Minyak minggu ni naik minggu depan turun. Ada yg nak turun.

• Fucukyongtaufoo on May 17, 2017 at 5:51 pm

Syukur harga minyak petrol masih murah berbanding air mineral Perrier

• Uncle Lin on May 17, 2017 at 5:57 pm

Those PDAM (or shall I say PADAM?) already kow tim with those Ministry during their meeting last week. 2 days before the Ministry announce to the public, the Ministry should inform them first, whether it’s up or down.

Since yesterday evening, I saw a lot of petrol tankers at the petrol stations even at the suburban small petrol kiosks. Some even closed their kiosks for a day yesterday to fill up their supply..

If the Ministry doesn’t want to inform them 2 days prior to the announcement, they threatened to nationwide close the stations for a day.

This morning, I saw happy faces when I filled up my tank … you can guess whose face are they….

• Raja Bomoh Petrol on May 17, 2017 at 6:11 pm

I predict….I predict….I predict….

During Hari Raya time, petrol price will come down….and make everyone happy (temporarily)

• sammyhas0value on May 17, 2017 at 6:59 pm

They always say our fuel prices are among the cheapest in South east asia but they never mention our car prices are the second most expensive in the world.

• En. Papa Kedana on May 17, 2017 at 8:37 pm

I managed to save RM7.50 from cheaper price of petrol last week……

With the RM7.50 saved, I can buy a small can of sardine, and half loaf of bread to feed my kids.

Really thanks to the Govt…

• Semua tu ada pemprosesan. Utk Rm7.50, boleh beli ikan, sayur dan ayam segar dari pasar. Takde GST tu.
      Be a smart shopper then can less complain.

• Sardine Kopi-O on May 18, 2017 at 1:39 pm

RM7.50 for buying fish, vege and chicken?? Really??

Which market is that? izit DreamLand Market??

• Pen island on May 17, 2017 at 10:52 pm

Rich pp don’t bother knowing petrol price up or down

• Asrul on May 17, 2017 at 11:29 pm

kerajaan turunkan minyak, tiada siapa yang appreciate. kerajaan merajuk, dia naikkan balik. nak dekat pilihanraya nanti kerajaan turunkan balik.

• kereta_lembu on May 18, 2017 at 11:25 am

I think many people miss the point that when the petrol prices drop, it is because of several factors like its dominated by the world oil prices and also our Ringgit’s value. When the oil prices go up, our petrol prices will also go up. That’s natural. The only way we will see petrol prices go down when oil prices go up is when our Ringgit strengthens to offset the difference.

So the problem is not 100% the petrol price issue but partly due to our currency issue. Who is in charge of taking care of our Ringgit’s value if not the Government? What can they do to strengthen our currency? So, when people don’t puji you, there is a reason. Why should they be given credit when fuel prices drop is because of the world oil price drop?

Then why blame the Gov when the price goes up? Simple, while it is normal that prices fluctuate, the Government can and should take measures to help. Whether is to somehow make the Ringgit stronger or to put some kind of price cap or subsidy. If they can do this, then puji lah. Otherwise, what’s there to puji when the price fluctuations are dependent on external factors.

• tokmoh. on May 18, 2017 at 12:10 pm

Dear paultan writers,

I see now there’s fuel price column. As accountant, it’s odd to see 7 and 4 sen in a bracket. Bracket is used to indicate negative/deduction/credit.

Just using + logo and in red will do to indicate price increase, bracket and in green may make sense when price drops.