Scrapping of parking bays in city buildings to be implemented after MRT network is ready – KL mayor

If you’re worried about Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL)’s proposal to disallow parking bays in new city buildings, Kuala Lumpur mayor Datuk Seri Amin Nordin Ab Aziz has assured motorists that such a move will only be implemented once the Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) network is ready.

“We are still in the midst of studying the idea of not having parking bays for new buildings in the city centre, hence, the move is still in the planning stage. We are considering implementing it for the city’s future development, because once the MRT is ready, then probably we would not need those parking bays anymore,” said Amin Nordin.

Should the plan be implemented, more Malaysians will need to make their way to train stations, with some likely to park their cars there. As parking spaces can be somewhat limited at select stations, Amin Nordin was asked on what DBKL would do about the issue. He replied by saying the matter was for SPAD (Land Public Transport Commission) or Prasarana to solve.

Yesterday, Federal Territories Minister Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor said the policy of not having parking bays in a building is common among developed cities like Tokyo, Hong Kong, Melbourne and London.

He added the move was meant to reduce traffic congestion and to encourage the use of public transport. The scrapping of city parking is not a new idea as it was first proposed in 2015, alongside imposing Singapore ERP-style congestion charges for private vehicles entering the city.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• passion on May 18, 2017 at 10:40 am

yeah right!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Gud, this will teach pipu not to buy too many cars. One local car is enough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • Operation Manager on May 18, 2017 at 1:29 pm

The MRT network will not be ready base on current performance, metropolitan management not even reach minimum acceptance level.

• Benson and Hedhog on May 18, 2017 at 2:11 pm

The whole MRT project will be fully completed maybe in 15 years time.No worries.By that time I’m no longer in kl city or Malaysia anymore.I’ll migrate to better city elsewhere somewhere in Europe or Australia.Who’s going to live and stay in this 3rd world,backward human and society? You can implement whatever nonsense law.I’m off this brainless and idiotic supremacist country.Wish you Malaysia down to the drain fast and forever! Patriotic my foot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • disallow parking bays in PWTC.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
    • DBKL also? I would like to see this politically appointed mayor do it first on his own organization first before preaching to others.

• Mikey on May 18, 2017 at 10:46 am

Hahaha. After Ku Nan kena bashing kow-kow yesterday, today KL mayor assured motorists that such a move will only be implemented once the Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) network is ready.

So the Big mouth Ku Nan was just yapping without thinking isit ?! How many time does Ku Nan must Kena Bashing B4 he wises up !? BTW, did U suggest to parliament to use LRT/MRT when they travel ? Leadership by example ma.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 3
    • Albert on May 18, 2017 at 2:34 pm

WE should remove all the parking bays at DBKL and municipal council locations.
      So,our DBKL officers travel by feeder bus to lrt mrt stations,then walk….WALK THE TALK if not dont TOKOK.

• Rooney on May 18, 2017 at 2:43 pm

Implement congestion charging into central KL, RM50 per day. Learn from London, this will reduce pollution and high traffic flow in the central area by shifting from private car use to public transport.
      Collected charges can be used to improve public transport Monorail, LRT, MRT, RapidKL.

• azrai on May 18, 2017 at 10:51 am

If you go to IKEA and want to bring back some cupboard, can it fit in the train dear Mayor?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 4
    • Tokok on May 18, 2017 at 11:02 am

It should only apply to office buildings where you do not need to carry bulk items. It is not logical to apply to shopping centres.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • azrai on May 18, 2017 at 11:56 am

Dear mayor, if your wife go to SOGO, how to carry home the comforter. Walk, take LRT, switch station, take feeder bus, then get to MRT. See mayor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Why not apply this in Putrajaya?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
        • This has been partially applied in Putrajaya. Insufficient parking spaces when you go to government offices (KDN, MoE, etc). Cars are double parked, access roads are also congested with parked cars. The brainless geniuses are of the opinion that everyone has chauffeured cars. So no need to park.

• Dammit minister talk C again. Go and compare with their pedestrian, safety rate, weather, and interchange in your list of developed country ( Tokyo, Hong Kong, Melbourne and London ) before you follow blindly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • Dennis on May 18, 2017 at 10:54 am

Not a wise move. No way the city can sustained without a car

• Apekgoh on May 18, 2017 at 11:02 am

KL shall become Hanoi….motorBike city?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • kereta_lembu on May 18, 2017 at 11:04 am

So…they are saying that it will only be implemented AFTER the MRT network is ready. In that case, no need to worry lah. It will take forever to get the MRT network ready. Which means this is a non-issue. Case closed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • camtakpro on May 18, 2017 at 11:08 am

So mum with kids going shopping will be heavily inconvenient by this stupid move.

Other countries can do it because their safety is 9000x better than us, and less rapists, robbers and snatch thieves. Plus their public transport accessibility is top notch & punctual.

Gov should use public transport first as an example.

• Peenuts on May 18, 2017 at 11:15 am

I hope the mayor himself takes the MRT when in kl. Again policies set by people who dont follow them.

• Even when the MRT network is up, this plan to scrap the car parks will create havoc. The MRT network doesn’t cover a wide area and lots of place still not connected to it not like other countries where stations are just few minutes walk away from their home. The stations here do not even have enough car parks and the car owners is growing by the day. Maybe imposing a charge entering the city is more viable solution to reduce car into the city.

• andrw on May 18, 2017 at 11:38 am

definitely not smart. how many ppl u could fit in one MRT. even with vast amount of public transport in singapore, carparking is still available. even the MRT with 8-16 cars
    is packed with ppl every intervals. we have many suburb that has no easy access to public transport, plus, our country is larger, going to the city is easily a 20km distance.

• arowana on May 18, 2017 at 11:40 am

this Kunan is a joke, every word comes out from his nasty mouth turns out to be laughable jokes…

Guinness World of Records certificate also dunno how to differentiate true or not… like this also can be minister puikkk!

• BossCar on May 18, 2017 at 11:43 am

Well..parking is still a very good source of revenue for many commercial buildings, let the building owners decide for themselves why everything DBKL have to keipo ? If the new buildings don’t have parking facility i doubt ppl will go there.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 18, 2017 at 12:10 pm

no need la…park on the road only….

• They already increase from 50cent to 1RM/hour. If this implemented, they will come with RM2/hour. No Bayar, kasi Lock roda !! RM 50(Buka) + RM50/RM100 summon.

No way to hide, mau tak mau, expose your neck and let them strangle you.

• So it includes PWTC? Make sure they attend those perhimpunan with public transport.

• Ask DBKL staff amd government staff to give up staff parking in KL office buildings. Even SPAD staff occupy staff parking in UOA Bangsar. Conduct a study on that.

• car is not the only transport in the world on May 18, 2017 at 12:37 pm

good move….towards greener environment….and healthier lifestyle

• “As parking spaces can be somewhat limited at select stations, Amin Nordin was asked on what DBKL would do about the issue. He replied by saying the matter was for SPAD (Land Public Transport Commission) or Prasarana to solve.”
    BIJAK – pandai main tai chi

• No problem, make sure to scrape new Gov building parking as well.

• rally_fan (Member) on May 18, 2017 at 12:43 pm

a cities transport system isn’t just about the MRT..

• Minah on May 18, 2017 at 12:50 pm

Hahahaha. Malaysian cannot live without their cars la. Lawak… See the comments? People giving excuses already…

It’s a good idea in order to reduce the traffic jam… But I’m sure Malaysian rather face the traffic jam than taking public transport. Malaysian don’t like walking far far one… XD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Bernard on May 18, 2017 at 12:50 pm

Tokyo, London, Melbourne are great cities with a educated civilised population, low crime rates, adhere with their just laws and no mat rempits…..

• Ask the FT Minister and Mayor to give up their Limo and start taking LRT/MRT or busses to work everyday instead of sitting in his limo with motorcade and forcing other road users to the side and causing traffic jam. Join the man in the street and see whether they can reach their destination where there is no LRT/MRT nearby. Then they can talk from experience.

• By using their mentality, They might used the public road, but with the police escorts, 1 minister 10 guards, and the carriage has to be empty for the usage. Others wait for the next carriage.

• zamer on May 18, 2017 at 12:58 pm

the idea is to reduce traffic. by closing car parks, meaning people got no reason to drive. might as well close the road. After this, going to LRT stations will be super jamm.

No worries, people will park by the roadside and double park. that will solve the issue.

• Whats the big problem here?
    Developer builds office building with no parking. Pre-launch, no sales….. 75% complete, no sales. Building complete, 3/300 units sold. 4 years later 4/300 units sold, developer bunkus, end story, end policy…. like duh….

Only snag, stupid greedy property speculators jump on board anyway, but so what, they deserve to lose some $$$ for making property prices unobtainable for almost all…

10c….

• Daniel on May 18, 2017 at 1:15 pm

What will happened to all the existing parking bays? Turn all into mamak stalls? What about the companies operating those car parks? Put all of them out of job? I assume all ministers will also take MRT to the city?

• Yummy on May 18, 2017 at 2:15 pm

Make sure it is standard across all Malaysian including all those Government offcials and minister etc.

• Gomorrah on May 18, 2017 at 2:17 pm

The KL transport network is like the minister’s brain – parts of it are connected to others and the remainder are not. The difference is that in the minister’s brain, the neurons are happy to sit idle, because there is no demand on them. With the inhabitants of KL and the surrounding areas, the people cannot sit idle because they have to go make a living/school/family commitments/live life in general, which requires travel.

So when the minister makes suggestions like this, it’s like waiting for a train/bus to go from Kota Damansara to Semenyih. It involves waiting for multiple different forms of transport, which are completely not synchronised with one another or with demand and therefore a journey that could take less than an hour can involve many hours. So maybe we just have to wait for the minister to process the idiocy of his suggestion in its current form and save it for when KL has a mature interconnected transport system. Although given his past and present reputation, we will be waiting a long time.

• John Dodo on May 18, 2017 at 2:31 pm

Not every part of KL got easy access to MRT, LRT.
    KL is very hot to walk from one building to another. Unless DBKL willing to build covered walkway.

• Yes Man on May 18, 2017 at 3:47 pm

Totally agree the suggestion.. Using public transport i can earn 2 hours playing with my hp before I reach my destination. If i drive, it takes me 30 mins to reach there but i cannot play my hp.

• how is KL mayor going to compensate the parking operator and/or building operator? they dont need cari makan?

cant imagine if they build a new mall in city centre with no parking bays…:D

• Davion on May 19, 2017 at 6:19 pm

KL is not suitable for what DBKL wants to do. The city is too spread out for LRT or MRT to be effective. Feeder bus service is a joke. Worst still is the fact that if the above dreams by DBKL becomes a reality the operators of our public transport will indiscriminately increase their charges like what is happening to our tolled highways. End of the day we will be the biggest losers.

Furthermore consider the climate, KL is hot and humid. It is not ideal for walking. Imagine you dressed up in your formal attire or worst still if you are in a suit. What is going to happen when you turn up for your appointment all sweaty. Do also consider that fact that KL is not exactly pedestrian friendly. Go take a walk around and you will get what I mean.

Also lets face reality, if the above is implemented, people will just avoid the city and the malls and other businesses in the city are going to be severely affected. Despite the jams and what not, the fact that people are spending money in the city and elsewhere is the reason this country continues to move along economically.

You start taking drastic measures like removing parking and you will just make people sit at home and watch TV. Bottom line is you can’t get rid of car parks. This is just my opinion of course. I used to work overseas and I used to walk a lot and used public transport quite a bit. That’s because public transport was always easily accessible, the climate was good and it was cheap to do so.

• Submarine on May 20, 2017 at 3:24 pm

Dear Mr Mayor, why don’t you personally try carrying your work bag, 2 children school bags, their sport equipment, some shopping you carry along the way coming back off work, then buy yourself an MRT ticket. Queue up, get on the train, stand there for the next 40 minutes (you probably won’t secure a seat, you’re a man right), squeeze in the sardine can, reach your destination, queue, get off the train, walk the stairs (escalator not working), queue to pay your parking ticket, get to your car, drive back home…. Oh I forgot, you don’t normally do that, in fact you don’t do that at all because you’re the top guy sitting there in your chauffeured long wheel base limo right? FYI, this is what many, in fact most LAYMEN, do on a daily basis. Your plan is good, but maybe for the long term. Your immediate concern now should be to look into the daily affairs people has to go through and do everything you and your department can to ease their burden. Put first things first. Thank you.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on May 22, 2017 at 9:29 am

Avoid downtown KL at all cost. Businesses dont have to be located in KL. Those who remain will find it hard to maintain employees as the daily expenses will be much higher than working around Klang Valley away from downtown KL.