The all-new 2017 Honda CR-V is currently on display at the Gurney Paragon mall in Penang, so we took a quick drive up to get a first look at the soon-to-be-launched SUV. It’s still a preview – the doors are locked, with the windows blacked out, so it’s just the exterior on display here.
This particular unit looks to be a high-spec 2.0 litre model instead of the top-of-the-range 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo variant – as indicated by the single downturned exhaust pipe; the turbo will get twin chrome tips. The final specs have not been released just yet, so we’ll have to wait a bit longer for full details, including the all-important prices.
Honda Malaysia has announced that the new 1.5 litre turbocharged engine makes 193 PS and 243 Nm of torque – a healthy bump compared to both the latest Civic 1.5 Turbo and the outgoing CR-V 2.4. The base 2.0 litre is expected to carry over the same 155 PS/190 Nm mill as before. Both engines get Honda’s Earth Dreams CVT gearbox.
Variant details and breakdown has not been released just yet, but expect to see multiple 2.0 litre models and a range-topping 1.5L VTEC Turbo 4WD. As expected, we will miss out on the turbodiesel version (with a nine-speed automatic) available in Thailand. No word of a seven-seat option either – the Malaysian line-up appears to be five seaters only.
The top Malaysian model will get larger 18-inch wheels (17s on this car) and the full Honda Sensing active safety suite. The latter includes Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) with stop-and-go Low Speed Follow (LSF), Collision Mitigation Braking System (CMBS) with Forward Collision Warning (FCW), Lane Keeping Assist System (LKAS), Lane Departure Warning (LDW) and Road Departure Mitigation (RDM).
Do watch the video above to get a better look at the new SUV. Stay tuned to paultan.org for more on the fifth-generation Honda CR-V.
GALLERY: 2017 Honda CR-V 2.0L 4WD previewed in Malaysia
In Penang until what date?
5 seater? Xtrail is better choice!
I see…more seats = better choice. Even if you don’t pick 7 passengers or the rear passengers must sit very uncomfortably also Xtrail better? Even when Honda has better safety features and 6 air bags vs 2 only for the Xtrail also better? So, if there’s an accident and Xtrail carry 7 passengers, and 5 die because no airbags for them, also better right?
No, sorento high spec diesel is best choice.
Why on Penang, KL pipu not worthy?
Its a good move so that KL people terasa the the country doesn’t revolve around klang valley only.
What a great car. SUV is the way now. It is a trend. All car companies are focusing on SUVs cause it is high in demand. Pity some car companies have no marketing research at all. Till today, they have no SUVs and they don’t know what the market wants.
Time to replace such car companies with CEOs from mainland. They will turnaround these companies in no time!
jom Toyota CH-R… he he he
If it is just a five seater, VW Tiguan or the all new CX- 5 will be a better option.
On paper alone the top range crv is basically perfect. But as with most honda the drive has always been underwhelming compared to the specs. Not bad but nothing special. Feels like an appliance to me.
1st look, why looks so familiar? Ohh… XC90…
Proton Bayu/Boyue > all
Proton will show how overpriced this copycat tongsan celup car is.
No Sunroof for Malaysia market?
A handsome SUV from Hinda with lot’s of innovative features. However, with no 7 seater option, that would be the deal breaker…back to consider the X-Trail or Sorento or Santa Fe..
Tooo bad.
I fully agree. What nonsense to claim people don’t like 7 seaters! D extra seats can b folded down when not needed. Honda is trying to cut cost & b able to price a 5 seater at a 7 seater price!!!
Hardly notice which part of this was handsome.
People that says they don’t need a 7 seat car either does not have kids or use child seats.
You put 2 child seats in the middle, and the car becomes a 4 seat.
If they ever come out with a 7 seat CRV, I hope the +2 comes with ISOFIX/LATCH as well.
WTF honda malaysia! just 5 seaters? just cancel my booking. marketing strategy just to introduce 7 seaters for the facelift in 3 years from now. bodo honda..
Outlook n features not bad, interior still cannot go, sterling doesn’t match to the nice exterior, too bad
Wrong move HM for just offering 5 seater only. I was really looking forward for a 7 seater. Looks like you have miss a spectrum of buyer who require 7 seater. Kudos to Nissan x-Trail
Thanks for doing this for us Hafriz and welcome to Penang, kind of warm huh… I am hopeful that it will come with a 7 seats option… Fingers crossed…..
Always happy to come to Penang! The traffic on the way back wasn’t much fun though hahah
I was told by Honda salesman there’s no 7 seat option for Malaysian market. I do believe Honda is missing out by not offering 7-seater option. Look at how many new x-trail on the road compared to the previous model once they upgraded the new model to 7-seater. I’m sure Honda will sell many CRVs but probably not as many if they were to offer 7 seat option.
Front design is quite busy with lines. Rear lamp is ugly. Redesigned Bayu is anytime better
Zzzz… enuff of honda soccer mom suv oredi
7 seater pls..common honda msia….
Nice coverage and glad to meet up with you and the crew!
Nice meeting you too, Kevin!
The new Honda CRV really looks good and most of all practical for the average family. Better these than any imported recond cars often with faked mileage and coverup accidents.
Fyi, proton bayu look so much like a mitsubishi asx with some modified front and rear cosmetic changes just like their proton perdana!
Was looking forward for 7 seater.What a disappointment.Hmm looks like back to looking at others option again.
Xtrail bro..
Just give us a choice of a 5 or 7 seater!
Very disappointing Honda Malaysia if you dont offer the 7 seater option – something to do with Msian tax structure or is it just poor oversight by marketing team?
I know aesthetic is a personal thing but this CRV is looking really ugly, especially the back. Terrible design cues. Haphazard lines. The outgoing CRV, though not a looker, is still visually much better than its replacement. Disappointed.
Recycle Honda Crap again.. make it go away yall
the civic should get an output bump just like the CRV
Arrgh no 7 seater… need to think other options…
If they have the 7 seater I am going to place an order. Now I have to look for other alternatives. Maybe CX-5 will offer 7 seater in their new model…
7seater crv pls. I wouldnt think much if they bring in crv 7seater. Else, might have to scout for xtrail
Malaysian mentality, praise 5+2 SUV with 2 airbags and limited safety features and bash a 5-Seater SUV with 6 airbags and new safety features which are must haves, not good to have.
No, I will wait for the diesel variant with 7 seaters!
As the 1st batch owner of CRV G4, my advice is to wait for the facelift 2 years down the road. The 1st batch buyers will always lose out with the most minimal features. After they have make money from the early buyers, only then they will start to intro 7 seaters and so on.
Some ppl like us who has a 4 growing kids just cant wait longer. We’ve already crammed up in a sedan (i know its not safe!!) and having a 7seater is a must, not optional. Was really disappointed knowing no 7seater options. We only have limited choices in 7seater suv in msia, so sad.
Honda left a wide opening for attack! All Nissan needs to do is update xtrail facelift with 6 airbags and sales will shoot through the roof!
Upgrading X-Trail facelift to just 6 airbags is not enough, they need to add more in the technology and convenience aspects to win buyers, especially ex-Nissan buyers like me.
7 seater please!!