All 134 Touch ‘n Go reload booths at PLUS toll plazas will be closed during the Hari Raya holidays from June 22 to July 2 to ease traffic flow, according to The Sun. A PLUS Malaysia spokesperson said that the move was aimed at reducing potential congestion caused by motorists queuing up at the reload lanes, which would inconvenience other motorists who are not topping up.
He added that motorists are advised to reload their Touch ‘n Go or PLUSMiles cards to ensure there is sufficient balance when travelling. However, they can still reload their cards at customer service centres at selected toll plazas – these will be open as usual from 7am to 10pm, including weekends and public holidays.
“Additionally, the public can opt to top up their cards at 9,200 other locations nationwide, including ATMs, 24-hour convenience stores and petrol stations, including those operating at R&R areas along the highway,” he said, adding that the highway concessionaire expects traffic flow on the North-South Expressway to increase by 21% compared to normal days, as most people will be driving to their hometowns during Raya.
It definitely makes the thing worst. Just one idiot with insufficient balance, stuck at the lane and cause catastrophic to the traffic flow.
PLUS know best. Jangan persoal…
They just want to save Overtime pay for those reload toll operators la.
They save cost but income will be same, cause with or without the reload lane same amount of “customer” will pass by their tollbooths..
This is a good move. But even better, since this is a Muslim country, why don’t all the tolls operators give FREE for just those 2 days to celebrate Raya?
After all, they make BILLIONS per annum in clean profit. Can’t they just give 2 days FREE toll. Traffic would flow even faster.
better still a day before raya! that’s when traffic will be super high…
Walao! When alredi meet ur 30% price reduction, now u want free pulak. We see what u did there.
Clean profit? Do you think they built the highway with your parent’s moneh?
Close PLUS for good….Rakyat paid road tax, give rakyat free NS highway.
PLUS untung buta for 30+ years.
more than 30 years , they can simply extend the duration whenever they self declare deficit. haha. this is the only business in the world that can guarantee profit, not even the fortune 100 comps can do that !!
mhy not just gave 7days free toll, untung juta2 billions discount on selected date, most date peoples still working.
Good idea. Reload lanes cause terrible traffic jam during peak hours. It will be worse during Hari Raya.
This is a move which only fools would agree of. It takes only one car with insufficient balance to proof my point.
This will happen whether the are reload lanes or not. Yes?
already suggest to have online reload via internet banking but no response, myb no IT peoples to get it done
Dh bayar tol pon sesak jalan.
Apa lagi PLUS mahu?
Thank goodness that T&G have finally learn something good from previous experience to come up with a temporary solution to ask it’s customers to Top-up before driving.
Make sure you advertise it in all front page of Newspapers & major TV station. TQVM.
So by your logic we should close half of supermarket cashier lanes in order to ease customer flow???
There is just going to be no reload during Hari Raya and the lane/s will be T&G only.
You misunderstand… all the toll ‘LANES’ will still be opened… but ‘BOOTHS’ for reloading services will be closed.
dude, did you even read??? they not closing the lane but disabling reloads. how is your point even related?
So later need to park at petrol station (Havoc) just to reload touch n go
Some Shopping Malls have T&G reload kiosks. And there is no 50 sen service charge. You can top-up while doing your Raya shopping. There is no need to wait until the last minute.
Why not reload today?
Manyak olang tarakbaca, muda lupa.
Might as well reload TnG when u fill ur tank at the petrol kiosk n not just to reload it, rite…? or u can go at certain ATMs… or even better reload TnG online… so many options now… don’t get stressed out bro.
Touch n go reload booth at toll plaza should be closed at all time .not necessary during festive season only.start educate malaysian people by migrating and enforce them to perform reload their touch n go at the 7e,guardian,watson,atm ,r n r highway and so many other option.lets make full use of all the toll plaza routes so that there will be no more jammed issues in malaysian highway..furthermore pls open more smarttag lane since its can clear the car movement faster.and pls promote smarttag devices at all the reload agent with a cheaper price.RM 120 is too expensive to malaysian people
Plus should be creative to solve the same old jammed issues since 1985.stop thinking like government servant with slow and tidak apa apa atitude.we already fed up and tired .in future instead of paying the toll, plus should refund us the money due to incovinient causes and heavy traffic due to slow action taken by plus to clear the traffic.
Lastly pls dont close highway lane during day time for maintenance and minor construction work as its will jammed the highway.In singapore they do it from 12 midnight to 6 am .Dont simply close the highway lane like nobody business.you should provide us a good service and smooth traffic because we are the angry toll payer
I agree with you but i had some points add on… i agree to add on more smartag lane but the topup option we had… is really really sucks… RnR, watson, guardian and petrol station for topping up touchngo is a joke in Malaysia… because you are not thinking off most of the places in Malaysia… for my case i staying at a places which is lucky enough to surround with the top up facilities, but also sometimes i found it hard just to drive to those places to just top up my TnG… not talking about those kampung area… how far they need to drive? furthermore those topup facilities had extra charges on it…
We may educate or enforce as you have mentioned, but we must take into account that there will be folks that will forget to reload prior to getting onto the expressway. And if this happens coupled with a toll plaza that is fully TnG operationalised (such as Batu Tiga Toll), it will cause inconveniences to many other motorists. I would suggest instead that TnG should accept overdrawn amount. Possibly capped at -MYR 10.00 per TnG card? Or depending on the deposit paid upfront (assuming MYR 15.00) for a TnG card. Similar to banks, charging a higher rate for borrower’s with overdrawn accounts, TnG might want to explore on a similar structure. Example, normal toll rate at MYR 1.00, while overdrawn TnG cards will be charged at MYR 1.20. I believe by doing so, toll plazas may remove these reload booth, since users reloading during peak hours will indirectly slow down traffic since they are taking up a lane by themselves. This will also ease traffic as TnG users with insufficient funds no longer requires to reverse their cars from TnG booths to normal lanes / TnG reload booths. Ultimately if the TnG card reaches the -MYR 10.00 capping (or whichever the amount determined later by TnG to be), said TnG card will no longer be useable and users will have to purchase a new TnG card as a penalty. I believe this might be another good business opportunity to TnG.
PLUS … please make ONE special right most lane for traffic that travel straight to South or North AT SEREMBAN AND SENAWANG EXIT during this raya … PLEASEEEEEE.
Ehh even if toll abolish like Sarawak oso still barking, all never thankful of what you have. Good oso complain what more bad, havoc
I bet this is just a way to discourage top up at the toll during raya rush. Impossible that they can simply close for top ups. Either that or they will have to accept cash for those with insufficient balance… Otherwise what? Just sit at the toll booth n stare kok with the toll booth operator ka?
hi all, just out of curiosity. what if one person that do not have any sufficient funds end up in the booth and top up booth are closed during those times ?
Burn the car, beat his ….
Good question bro.
Option 1 – Use your T & G to let that car pass. He will have to figure out how he is going to pass the next toll if you just want to clear your lane.
Option 2 – SLAP that guy till he faint. ‘Remove’ his car with others help. BTW, slapping a guy is NOT a crime if you get the drift. There are many ways to ‘Remove’ the car
First thought will be a bad idea…second thought of it is even more bad idea… you close the lane due to congestion then after close it then it will be lesser congestion? Please proof it with facts and figures… how fast you can speed up the congestion… the answer is no !!! And it will never be ! Because they did not look at the core issues… the core issues is the system they had been using is so outdated and so damn slow. I really think that sometimes i’m passing a custom gate each time i pass through a toll…. lambat tak apa asalkan selamat attitude does not apply to everything!
This is not the solution. Closing will just cause jams elsewhere. Please keep it open. My suggestion is either provide toll free for all vehicles on those days or RM 1 flat rate for all users, easy to pay, hardly any fumbling with money, you get revenue and users should not complain aboaut the slow congested ride on the road. Win for all.
Even smoother if remove the toll booths, all motorist no need to change from 3 lanes to 12 lanes, then back to 3 lanes in 500m after the toll… could solve at least 30% of the jam problem in Klang Valley.
From 12 June onward, t n go reload at all LRT, Monorail stations are subjects to 50 cents charge per transaction. Walauweh…
reload lanes actually helped smoother traffic flow as slow down some cars, so not all moving back to two three lanes at once..pls tink how to GIVE INSTANT REBATE ON THE SPOT instead, why in tis IT age have to wait certain dates and go PLUS office , dunno how many times forfeited my discounts..and sometimes PLUS office close for reno like the one at NKVE SUBANG
TnG has been operating for almost 20 years and still unable to develop a mobile app for reloads (i.e. Starbucks). Disgraceful
reduce jam by BUILDING 3 LANE highways, not give stupid reason like closing top up lanes,main causes of jam if u investigate r mostly at those 2-lane roads