FIRST DRIVE: Peugeot 208 and 2008 1.2L PureTech

The Peugeot 208 hatchback and 2008 crossover received a major update earlier this year, including a brand new engine and transmission combination. Out went the breathless naturally-aspirated 1.6 litre engine and archaic four-speed auto, replaced by a fresh 1.2 litre three-cylinder turbocharged motor and a six-speed automatic.

The facelifted 208 1.2 PureTech goes for RM90k, putting it level with the latest Honda Jazz 1.5 V. Meanwhile, the updated 2008 is priced at RM110k, virtually the same as the mid-spec HR-V 1.8 E. Is the French pair a legit alternative to the popular Japanese models?

Next question is, is the 112 PS, 205 Nm turbo three-pot good enough to power the B-segment hatchback and crossover? Seems a lot to ask from just 1.2 litres. Do watch our video review here to find out our verdict.

For a more detailed look at the equipment and specifications of the 2017 Peugeot 208 and 2008, refer to CarBase.my.

GALLERY: 2017 Peugeot 208 1.2L PureTech
GALLERY: 2017 Peugeot 2008 1.2L PureTech

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Bernard on Jun 22, 2017 at 12:01 am

I wonder how much I can get it for in 5 years….

• Hafriz and Paul Tan, how much do u get pay from the other brand? Are you still an independence automotive car reviewer? I suspect Paul Tan not even know what is a car or even know how to drive a car? Pls do not memalukan orang Malaysia!

I owned both Japan and Continental car at home. I do watch a lot of car video reviews everyday and today it prove Paul Tan is a total waste of time. Sad for Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 70
    • Wah! Such a direct attack! Where did they go wrong lah?

• If the review is good, Peugeot pay them. If the review is not good, competitor pay them. I suggest just ignore thisfella who is clearly Peugeot salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
    • Moderators shud buckup. Lately comments like these r way too toxic for this blog.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • theanswer on Jun 22, 2017 at 9:26 am

then write your own blog or website. regarding your question whether paul know how to drive a car..wow..defnitely u’r new here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • All these negatives and bashers shud just get together and start their own auto blog condemning everything else except themselves.
        Call it PT Alternative or PT New Hope or something, then lets see how it stacks up.

• kereta_lembu on Jun 22, 2017 at 9:43 am

Jong…first and foremost, before you condemn and say that Hafiz & Paul memalukan orang Malaysia, please brush up on your own English as you are doing exactly that, memalukan orang Malaysia.

While you are entitled to your own opinion, at least state the reasons for your outburst. Why was it a waste of time? What made you say they know nothing about cars? Was it because they said certain things that Peugeot were better than Japanese cars and you feel butthurt? Or are you just a Honda salesman who is worried that your customers will buy Peugeots instead?

Whatever it is, take a chill pill…and to Hafiz & Paui, thanks for keeping most Malaysians happy with your website and updates + car reviews.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
    • Bernard on Jun 22, 2017 at 11:36 am

What the bloody hell is wrong with you Jong?? High on something?

• wow own both conti and japanese made cars. so hebat.
      ‘independence’ car reviewer lmfao

• awg1031 on Jun 22, 2017 at 1:13 pm

merdeka automative car review by -jong-

that should be epic

• eddie on Jun 23, 2017 at 9:46 am

Well are you saying they also get paid from Honda if they happen to sing praises for the cars? the review is fair for me as it includes both good and bad points of the french cars. You can also do your own video review or maybe do your own write up and please share us the link. Will be the judge whether you “memalukan orang malaysia” or not

• Hi Hafriz, may I ask how does the 208 compare to Mazda 2 in terms of the engine and suspension ? Price is about the same. I have noticed that in terms of the dashboard material , Jazz is outmatched definitely since it is all hard plastic. However, i feel that Mazda 2 can compete in this area. Since these 2 are French / Continental cars, does it drive like 1 ?

• lolpanda on Jun 22, 2017 at 9:40 am

Hi Tom, having driven both it depends what you’re going for.

They both drive and ride well and while there aren’t any real-world power differences; the 208 will feel a little more immediate and responsive in urban driving.

In terms of the interior, the Mazda2 feels like a nicer place to be in and MZD-Connect is more refined than the 208’s infotainment system.

If you’re looking at longer term ownership, things may get tricky as parts aren’t always readily available with Pugs (even at SCs) and the costs will be noticeable over the Mazda.

Before you by, trust me on this and test your own driving position in the 208 because the instrument cluster may be obstructed by the steering wheel even if you’re seated in a “normal” position depending on your height and i guess overall body proportions; it depends from individual to individual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • lolpanda on Jun 22, 2017 at 9:26 am

based on my experience (my own and among peers); the ‘i-Cockpit’ issue becomes apparent for taller folks even if they’re sitting in the so-called “proper” position.

i’m 6’1 and some of my peers thereabouts and we had issues seeing the lower portion of the instrument cluster, which is annoying.

• theanswer on Jun 22, 2017 at 9:28 am

hate it or love it..peugeot still make an effort for a good interior especially the seat.

• horrayooi on Jun 22, 2017 at 9:32 am

At least it still have the important temperature gauge. Other B segment and below like Vios, City and Axia which only have blue and red temperature idiot lights which is of low cost specification.

• I have been driving for years without looking at temperature gauge. Apa isu for your driving and maintenance culture sampai you need to see it so much?

• Wait until you face the engine heating problem, you will know why the need of proper temperature gauge especially if your have drives your car for so many, many, many years.

• As long as you know how to drive a car properly, even going up and down genting frequently is not a problem. The issue is not about the car’s temperature gauge but the driver’s competency. If you need a temperature gauge then you are probably not a competent driver. The blue and red temperature lights are more than sufficient for modern cars. The car manufacturers know what they are doing lah. They have been in this business for so long.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Opimus Prime on Jun 22, 2017 at 10:27 am

Base on my experience with my Peugeot 207 sedan year 2011, will not going to back to this french car brand as no resale value & spare parts expensive and SC also have no experience on major repair!

• NoMore on Jun 22, 2017 at 10:38 am

Peoguet itself is not a bad car…. for the first year of ownership.
    Unfortunately (from the people that I know and myself, whom were Peoguet owners), things started to go down hill after a year or so. Mechanical problems started to appear (despite low mileage and on time service). The French really has a very different way of engineering. You start to hear terms like “fly wheel sensor” problem that stalled that car, something I never heard when I own Japanese or German cars.
    I can accept that cars giving problems, but I cannot accept that the service center is unable to rectify it or has no parts for it. You can go in and out of service center only to have that problem recur again in couple of weeks…and Naza after sales is not exactly a pleasant bunch to deal with.
    Now you know why this brand has a poor resale.. because people can’t wait to get rid of it despite the low price. Keeping it is really not an option if you expected the car to solve your problem rather than giving you more. And buyer should be compensated with a low price for taking over your problem.

Still, I would say Peoguet is not a bad car…. it just deserves a better dealer than Naza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Not Toyota Fan on Jun 22, 2017 at 11:26 am

The same servicing problem plagues Naza Kia too. Seems to be a common issue with Naza distributorships.

• jackson on Jun 22, 2017 at 11:09 am

The only reason I won’t go for it is it doesn’t have keyless entry. Price is ok. Car is good. Safety features are awesome. But living with it day to day. That’s the question.

Auto-lights, auto-wipers, keyless entry. They’re a necessity. Something we expect as default these days.

Iriz and Persona pun ada la.

• Socai (ori) on Jun 22, 2017 at 11:29 am

Paultan needs to show independent, fair reviews..or else look wat happened to few local car magazines, people just stop buying becoz of too many sugar coated reviews

• Bashers will still come here to bash. So PT takde kesah.

• eddie on Jun 23, 2017 at 9:40 am

i find it a fair review as it touches both positive and negative aspect of the car.

• The audio volume of the video is a little bit too low. Hope that you can make the volume higher for the next video. Thanks!

• Giggity on Jun 23, 2017 at 12:48 pm

the 3 cylinder 1.2l Puretech here is definitely noticeably rougher and has a lot more vibration than the 3 cylinder 1.0l Ecoboost.

and it doesn’t sound as nice as the Ecoboost either if I may say.

• Eugene on Sep 02, 2017 at 8:19 pm

Was looking to get the 2008 purely for the beautiful interior and fuel efficiency. Is this a better choice than the other options that i m looking at namely the ioniq hybrid and civic 1.8. i have a budget of 110k and value safety features, interior n looks. Thoughts?