BMW is set to introduce an all-electric variant of its 3 Series later this year, with the car due to make its debut at the IAA in Frankfurt in September, according to German publication Handelsblatt.
Citing sources within the automaker, the report said that the electric version of the 3 Series will offer a 400 km operating range. It added that the move from Munich was essentially designed as a direct response to the success of Tesla Model 3, which has already raked around 400,000 pre-orders. BMW declined to comment on the matter.
Currently, the company only has a plug-in hybrid variant, the 330e, in its F30 model line-up, but plans for an all-electric version is definitely on the cards for the upcoming G20 model. The automaker is expected to carry on with a plug-in hybrid version for the seventh-generation iteration of its classic sedan.
The company had previously announced that it is moving towards a bigger scope in electrification, with the new strategy seeing all of its current models having an electric or plug-in alternative – the new G01 X3 is set to be one of these.
GALLERY: BMW 330e plug-in hybrid
For a big car with probably lotsa space that can maximise for battery, 400km range seems low in comparison.
Regardlessly, this won’t be the last electric car. Still ahead of the Japanese and Chinese.
All car manufacturers are moving towards PHEV, EV and Hybrid now.
In Malaysia, both our car manufacturers, Hybrid also, which is 10 year old technology also still have not done yet. PHEV and EV will be in 2050.
Some giant manufacturer still proudly selling “old-tech” after 15 years.
If the company is a Giant manufacturer as claimed, they must be pretty successful to be selling “old-tech” & still selling well. Maybe the old-tech is more reliable then “new-tech”.
When car manufacturer give new-tech transmission like CVT, people complain it feel like “rubber band”.
When they introduce double clutch, they complaint that it break down easily.
In short, given time, all new-tech need time to iron out the problem’s. I guess that is why some people prefer to buy 2nd/3rd generation perfected/upgraded tech or cars.
That is why, R&D are costly & it involved time & lots of $$$. That is the reason why I don’t buy any new tech/products/cars until the car improved after one generation. Looks like we as customers are also sometime used as guinea pig/testing.
If 15 years still cannot evolve the “old tech” is rubbish manufacturer!
Looks like “old tech” is GOLD when they still sell so well as claimed by Automotive Future when he said Giant manufacturer.
Can a “rubbish manufacturer” become a Giant manufacturer if they sell old tech to millions of customers & still make billions of Dollars??
Use your ORIGINAL Moniker/name when U reply. Why hide your true self? Are U ashamed of your name?!
Basher is always basher, when jepunis overlord making money by selling outdated tech and deathtraps they praise, when P1 loss but still showing progress and upgrading safety, engine, transmission they bash pulak.
Topkek
Clap clap clap… about time BMW realized that i5 ain’t selling because people want electric car to actually look like a normal car. Drop the heavy engine (weight and maintenance) and full electric is the way to go.
If they fill up the engine bay with motor and battery too, 500km range is achievable.
Finally an electric BMW that is not exotic-looking and is actually practical. “Come get me” says Tesla Model 3. Let them fight!