SPIED: Ford Ranger Raptor finally becoming reality?

Our spies have provided the most concrete proof yet that a hardcore Ford Ranger Raptor is not just the stuff of dreams. A prototype being tested at Ford’s proving grounds in Dearborn is seen carrying a number of upgrades to make the pick-up truck a more capable cross-country runner.

For a start, the wheel arches have been bulked up to cover a wider track, and the suspension also looks to have been raised for better ground clearance. What’s more, there’s a beefier sump guard at the front to go with a more aggressive front bumper design – and if you squint, you can even make out what appears to be massive “FORD” lettering on the grille, which seems to be on every Ranger here that’s been to Brother’s.

It’s hard to say what will power the Ranger Raptor, but such a vehicle could make use of an uprated version of the existing 3.2 litre inline-five turbodiesel, which currently makes 200 PS and 470 Nm. This being a truck that appears to be developed for the American market, you could also expect it to feature an EcoBoost petrol V6 from the F-150, either in 325 hp/540 Nm 2.7 litre or 375 hp/640 Nm 3.5 litre form.

Expect the Ranger Raptor to come with plenty of dedicated off-road kit, much like its F-150 Raptor big brother. That one has long-travel FOX Racing dampers, a torque-on-demand transfer case and knobbly all-terrain tyres. If it does become a reality, the Raptor will sit at the top of the Ranger lineup when it comes to the United States in 2019, together with an SUV version called the Bronco in 2020.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 30, 2017 at 5:28 pm

If ever it comes here, this will be RM500k. Even now, the normal ranger already going higher and higher every year.

Where is our 30% price reduction promise?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 50
    • When price high, u says too exp. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?
      Which world u came from that has bog standard cars with super low price & super high RV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 46
      • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 30, 2017 at 8:35 pm

john oh john, you keep on saying your Government has reduced X5 from RM588k to RM388k and we should all be grateful

Pakai hotak sikit. How many people can afford RM388k?

Reduce also, reduce Axia, Myvi, Alza, Saga and Persona. All of which went up in price last year.

Tolong pakai hotak sikit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 18
        • Saga mivi axia r reasonably affordable. Even fresh grads go straight for vios/ city/ fiesta!

But if u only affords 2nd hand EX5, well… try ukur baju di badan sendri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
        • KMC corp on Jul 01, 2017 at 11:40 am

KepAla hotak engkau YB Kunta kinte

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
        • kuntatokkok on Jul 01, 2017 at 1:31 pm

Beemer is not for you even after 30 percent price reduction

• Problem is, even after gip 30% reduce, he will bash the brand for killing his RV. Only his cave got high RV at low prices.

• kunta kurap on Jul 02, 2017 at 4:08 am

Hahaha kunta wants to buy NEW BMW but no money. So he hantam 100x baru dapat RM1

• Milo tin myvi lor

• Yeah, only if u buy new here and sell 2nd hand to Mauritius or Sri Lanka. But will they allow u to?

• Kancil Hybrid on Jun 30, 2017 at 8:03 pm

Walaupun harga kereta tak turun 30%, ada benda lain yg dah turun. Kangkung dulu naik sekarang ni dah turun. Minyak dulu naik sekarang ni dah turun. Ada yg dah turun.

• what man on Jun 30, 2017 at 11:37 pm

what a fool. 500k ranger? omg. can paultan ban this guy forever

• Hoi “Kancil Hybrid”… bila masa minyak turun… minyak turun selepas mengila naik mencanak. Tapi masih tinggi kalau di bandingkan di zaman TunM dulu…. dah terlebih makan dedak kot.

• Ya, masa TM semua ada subsidi semuanya murah, hidup bagai mimpi.
      Hoi, bila nak bangun dr mimpi tu? Dah tiba masa utk berdepan realiti dan keje keras menaingi dunia yg semakin pesat berkembang. Jgn pulak MY jadi mcm Venezuela. Semuanya mau murah smpai negara lingkup musnah.

• Did you guys stole those photos from Jalopnik website?

Seems to me..you guys did.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 03, 2017 at 9:41 am

We subscribe to the same spyshots agency, which gives us full rights to run the images with our own watermark.